We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Morningside Inn
Nearby Hotels
The Watson Hotel(New York City)
$143
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$262
$237
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$236
$205
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$400
$341
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$180
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$223
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
$152
$123
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$197
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NYLO New York City(New York City)(Great Value!)
$265
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$136
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Reviews (879)
Filter reviews
879 results
Traveler rating
73
205
268
123
210
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
205
268
123
210
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 879 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My expectations were not high after reading the reviews, but still, I was disappointed when I saw the room. The room was really small - even smaller than rooms in Europe hotels - looked sad and needed some maintenance. Moreover, the bedclothes were stained. However, the hotel is close from 2 subway stations and from Central Park. The floor was quiet and there was always hot water. It was clean and looked bugs free. So overall, it was alright. You just have to realize the hotel is like a "private bedroom and bathroom" hostel. Hotel in NYC are super expensive, so Morningside Inn is still a reasonnably good option.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ClaraW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at the Morningside Inn in November of 2011. My husband & son had been to NY but it was my daughter & my first time. We were somewhat on a budget so we had to be frugal. We found this hotel on a search engine & booked it...we couldn't have been happier! The location is excellent, close to the subway that will take you anywhere in the city. The rooms were very clean & the staff very helpful. We arrived a little early & thought we would have to wait to check in but the front desk person said one of our rooms were ready so if we wanted to we could check into that one, go explore the city & come back later & check in to the other. The corner store, The Garden of Eden, is very convenient & open late to accommodate the late night munchies. Our overall experience was favorable & we have determined we no longer need to "search" for a place to stay when we visit NYC...Morningside Inn is the perfect place for us!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank In2song
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We could not have had a better place to stay for our large family: incredibly good rates for NYC, the charm of the neighborhood (with places like the Garden of Eden foodstore), and the funkiness of the old building. But it's about people, isn't it, and Patrick, the manager, made our stay. He is a host through and through, both gracious and generous. And funny. Thanks for adding greatly to our time in New York!

Room Tip: Patrick helped us get adjacent rooms, in a nice little nook area, for our large family. Felt a little like living in a home.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

With great fears after the TripAdvisor reviews we read, we got to the hotel and all in all- we really loved our stay. The room that we got was great, seemed as if it was recently renovated, and was very clean. The location was great and was between two metro stations, so we could access the NY surroundings in no time...

But!

We got to the hotel at 02:00 after our flight was delayed, and the man at the front desk said that he is not really authorized to give us the room since we have arrived after midnight, but he'll do it anyways. Well, thanks!
We ordered a double room with private bathroom, and the gut said that we are subscribed under a room with no bathroom. We asked him to change the room and he said he is not authorized to do that... We had to spend the first night in a room with no fresh air (only AC which was not so great) and not bathroom inside- which is not so horrible- but it's not what we paid for!

The next morning the lady at the front desk was very nice, offered to move our luggage when the room we ordered will be available, and to give us a refund for the difference of the room rates. A day later, Patrick, the manager saw us, and we told him we should receive a refund for the difference ad he said that the woman who told us that that's what they'll do is not authorized to do that and that we can't get the refund.

The employees of the front desk were pretty much not authorized to do anything other than tell us to wait for Patrick every time we asked for something, and Patrick was very rarely there…

Basically, we liked the place, the room and the location, but the service could have been much better!

Room Tip: Call in advance too see if yor room is booked under your name and that the reservation is correct.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inbar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Morningside Inn is the perfect hotel if you're planning to visit the city. I have stayed at the hotel many times throughout the years and it has always been a great experience. The hotel is located in a fantastic neighborhood and is less than a five minute walk to the nearest subway. The building staff (the Manager of Morningside, Patrick, and front desk staff) have always been extremely polite and helpful with whatever has been needed. The building and the rooms themselves have always been extremely clean and are very well-kept. The hotel also has a full kitchen on each floor (sink, stove and microwave) which is an added bonus! I would absolutely recommend this hotel to any traveler! Great price, great location, great staff!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RKNYC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews