We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good value, nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morningside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morningside Inn
Ranked #426 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value, nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The room we got was modest-sized but very adequate -- double bed, private bath with shower, nice flat wall TV. It was clean and quiet. Shared kitchen was very useful. Quiet, pretty neighborhood. Good access to transit everywhere. Negatives: only one window with view of an alley between buildings, elevator sometimes slow. Overall, a great place, especially for the cost.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    190
    225
    103
    162
See reviews for
119
254
94
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
miami florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here but would've loved to have stayed longer. Great location, clean room very cheap rate and our room was ready before check in time which was great because we were pretty tired the staff was great and very helpful they helped us get around new York city and print out tickets through their PC. The metro station is just 3 streets away, and the train takes you to the center off time square I will definitely be coming back to Morningside hotel, had a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marie_scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We didn't stay in our room at all except for sleeping, so we really didn't care much about it. The tiny flatscreen was a pleasant surprise and we had our own bathroom, which was nice. However, there's no elevator, which could be a problem if you have a lot of luggage. We didn't, though, so it was fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Morningside Inn for 6 days and it was fantastic value for the money. The room was small but very clean and had everything I needed. The wifi was pretty good except at high volume times of day ( on the sixth floor). The location is great and the amenities directly around it make it easy to eat cheap while in the city, especially Absolute bagels. The staff were friendly and helped out when my flight was cancelled. I was a bit worried after reading some of the reviews but I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to those who are traveling on a budget.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My decision to stay here was based on the location near the subway line a ride away from midtown. I enjoyed walking Broadway and Riverside park . Last time I stayed in Queens and it was long ride in the subway. You are paying to stay in a safe neighborhood blocks away from Columbia University, I really can't say much for the amenities of the room when you have the city so close. It was a convenient and cheap place to crash, that's it. Patrick, the manager was helpful and friendly finding a car service to the airport. I be coming back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I just read the previous reviews and I have to say I was shocked!! Patrick the manager is such a gentleman, he assisted me with places to go what to see, what is good to eat. the rest of his staff was sweet but not full of information. the room I had was 102 on the first floors, BEAUTIFUL!!!
very clean, towels 32 inch flat screen need more channels only complaint. my experience was so good I am coming back in the fall. come to Morningside you will be pleasantly surprise!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank svieta z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE!!! The manager Patrick became verbally aggressive when we simply asked to be moved to a room with a private ensuite, as we had booked online.

When we first arrived at the hotel we were told by the receptionist they did not have our booking and we had to move to a different hotel for the night where we had to pay more for the room. When we arrived back the next day the manager, Patrick, informed us that the staff member we spoke to the previous day was stupid and doesn't know how to do her job, and they did in fact have our booking. We were then given a room but were not able to check in until the afternoon. When we arrived back in the evening we discovered our room did not have an ensuite as booked online. When we asked the receptionist about this she said she didn't have access to the computer system to check if there were any rooms with an ensuite available. When we asked to speak to the manager he was phoned and spent the next 20-30mins verbally abusing us. He said we didn't present him with the paperwork for the booking when we checked in and so he hadn't known we booked a room with an ensuite, and we were now being unreasonable and causing trouble, and he was going to come down and give us our money back and we could leave the hotel. We had in fact offered to show him the email confirmation of the booking upon arrival, however he did not want to see it. How can the hotel not have their own records of bookings??? We were unable to get more than a few words in on the phone and Patrick continued to yell at us and threaten to kick us out of the hotel. We would have preferred not to stay there, however it was peak season and we couldn't get accommodation at another hotel in our price range. So the remaining of our time at the hotel was spent afraid that we would again be yelled at by Patrick.

The room itself was very basic. The a/c was effective but very noisy. The double bed had a terrible mattress which meant the 2 of us sharing it ended up rolling into the middle of it each night and not sleeping well. The wifi barely worked, even in reception. Phone in room didn't work.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick A, Manager at Morningside Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
It is amazing to me when some one calls you aggressive because you cannot grant a customer request.these ladies came to the hotel to check in but unfortunately the name on the reservation was not the same ,so my staff did not allow the person to check in without notification from the person who originally made the reservation.the ladies then told us the person in question is not coming so what we did was call another hotel who we work with and we assist them in getting a room we even paid for the cab ride.the next day they wanted to return to our hotel and I allow them to,the only room that i had was a shared bath they did not have a problem with it.after i left the hotel the ladies in question came down to the front desk and ask to be upgraded i told the ladies that we did not have any rooms left but this was not enough for these ladies they verbally attacked my staff demanding to call me,i called them back and i advise the ladies to remain calm they was very persistent i offer these ladies their money back but they refused i told them their behavior toward my staff was not necessary and i will refund their money if they felt the room was not up to their standard,they stayed so if i was so aggressive why stay then. my my my.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#375 of 479 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 557 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#377 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#261 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#309 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,207 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#422 of 479 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#230 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morningside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morningside Inn

Property: Morningside Inn
Address: 235 W 107th St, New York City, NY 10025-3096
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #426 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Morningside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great and affordable place to stay in New York City for travelers and students, as well as the perfect solution to all short and long term housing.The Morningside Inn is in the heart of New York City's vibrant Upper Westside - Morningside Heights. So close to Columbia and Barnard, the music and theological colleges, as well as the magnificent Cathedral St. John the Divine. The Hudson River Greenway and Riverside Park are steps from our door. The hotel is housed in a 6-story, elevator pre-war building with the old world charm of that era. All rooms are fresh and have been decorated in comfortable style. Excellent citywide bus and subway transportation are at Broadway, and the city M60 bus takes our guests from and to LaGuardia Airport directly for one Metrocard fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Budget Places and Agoda so you can book your Morningside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morningside Hotel New York City
Morningside New York City
Morningside Inn New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing