We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DO NOT STAY HERE!!!”
Review of Morningside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Morningside Inn
Ranked #436 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE!!!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE!!! The manager Patrick became verbally aggressive when we simply asked to be moved to a room with a private ensuite, as we had booked online.

When we first arrived at the hotel we were told by the receptionist they did not have our booking and we had to move to a different hotel for the night where we had to pay more for the room. When we arrived back the next day the manager, Patrick, informed us that the staff member we spoke to the previous day was stupid and doesn't know how to do her job, and they did in fact have our booking. We were then given a room but were not able to check in until the afternoon. When we arrived back in the evening we discovered our room did not have an ensuite as booked online. When we asked the receptionist about this she said she didn't have access to the computer system to check if there were any rooms with an ensuite available. When we asked to speak to the manager he was phoned and spent the next 20-30mins verbally abusing us. He said we didn't present him with the paperwork for the booking when we checked in and so he hadn't known we booked a room with an ensuite, and we were now being unreasonable and causing trouble, and he was going to come down and give us our money back and we could leave the hotel. We had in fact offered to show him the email confirmation of the booking upon arrival, however he did not want to see it. How can the hotel not have their own records of bookings??? We were unable to get more than a few words in on the phone and Patrick continued to yell at us and threaten to kick us out of the hotel. We would have preferred not to stay there, however it was peak season and we couldn't get accommodation at another hotel in our price range. So the remaining of our time at the hotel was spent afraid that we would again be yelled at by Patrick.

The room itself was very basic. The a/c was effective but very noisy. The double bed had a terrible mattress which meant the 2 of us sharing it ended up rolling into the middle of it each night and not sleeping well. The wifi barely worked, even in reception. Phone in room didn't work.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick A, Manager at Morningside Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
It is amazing to me when some one calls you aggressive because you cannot grant a customer request.these ladies came to the hotel to check in but unfortunately the name on the reservation was not the same ,so my staff did not allow the person to check in without notification from the person who originally made the reservation.the ladies then told us the person in question is not coming so what we did was call another hotel who we work with and we assist them in getting a room we even paid for the cab ride.the next day they wanted to return to our hotel and I allow them to,the only room that i had was a shared bath they did not have a problem with it.after i left the hotel the ladies in question came down to the front desk and ask to be upgraded i told the ladies that we did not have any rooms left but this was not enough for these ladies they verbally attacked my staff demanding to call me,i called them back and i advise the ladies to remain calm they was very persistent i offer these ladies their money back but they refused i told them their behavior toward my staff was not necessary and i will refund their money if they felt the room was not up to their standard,they stayed so if i was so aggressive why stay then. my my my.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    202
    254
    117
    183
See reviews for
138
291
103
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Myself and my 2 friends arrived late Wednesday eve after booking accommodation for 3 people. The girl on reception was pretty uninterested in our arrival- and simply asked to see my booking info when i said we'd arrived to check in- she looked us up and said- ok thanks- you can pay in the morning- heres your key- and promptly looked back down at her computer. I then asked where we needed to go for our room- she pointed roughly down the hall. we got to our room to find one double bed in there. My friend popped back to reception to ask why we had a room for only 2 people- she simply said- oh im not sure- there's nothing i can do now.
So my friend said- well cant you find us a room for 3 as thats what we booked for- she said -we'll i dont know- id have to call the manager! so we said- well can you do that then please or we'd like our deposit back!! She called the manager who i guess was feeling reeeeeally generous as she hung up and gave us keys to another larger room. the fact that it states you need to pay on arrival- and she said we can pay tomorrow- was i guess because she couldnt be bothered to do any work.

the rooms were very basic- but not too bad i guess.. and the rest of the staff were fine- especially the lady working friday morning when we checked out.

the only other issue was when we went to check out their card machine wasnt working- we tried 3 cards between us- they tried everything so i guess there was some fault..

the wifi wasnt great either- it didnt reach our room - which was only just behind reception- so we had to hover in the reception if we wanted to use it...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The second floor back rooms are infested. Management knows about the problem but chooses to stifles complaints and tries to bully guests into silence. Only the location has some merit if you are visiting that upper West side Columbia University area.

Room Tip: If you must, stay in the first floor front where we saw no bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 19NEK68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick A, Manager at Morningside Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Obviously if we knew about the problem we would have address the situation. we had no prior incident in this room, the customer in question just came from a another establishment before he enter our hotel. he left the other hotel due to a similar problem we try to assist this customer but it affected our hotel in a negative manner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

In December 2012 we booked a double room for March 2013, through Agoda.com and since it was a hot deal offer, we payed total amount in advance.
Two weeks before our arrival, we sent an e-mail regarding our reservation to mr. Patrick and he confirmed that everything is fine. We also informed him that we will be arriving around 10 p.m. due to our flight schedule.
We arrived to the hotel at Friday night and the receptionist told us that they are overbooked and they have no available rooms. She also told us that they had a system failure and she has been dealing with this kind of situations the whole day. We asked her to call the manager on the phone and she did. We were standing 2 meters away from her and we could hear him shouting at her. When she hung up the phone, she started crying and told us that she will find another hotel for us for the night and in the morning the manager will refund the costs. Since it was rather late, it took her 2 hours to find available hotel and it was for 220$ per night. We agreed to go to that hotel and return in the morning, when they should have available room for us. She apologized once more and said that this happens all the time at this hotel. At the same time when this was happening, other guests arrived at the hotel and were in the same situation. They didn't want to go to another hotel because it was simply too expensive for them so they spent the night in the basement, sleeping on chairs.
So, we slept at another hotel for 220$ and we payed a taxi to take us there and our total costs were 270$. We saved the bills and in the morning we were back at Morningside Inn. The manager, mr. Patrick was at the front desk and we told him about our problem last night and presented him the bills. His first line was: oh, it's You that made my employee cry last night! After that he said that it is against hotel policy to refund the money in cash and it is not possible to refund it to our credit card and that he will call Agoda to make the refund and then charge the hotel, but since it is Saturday, we should not expect anything before Monday. On Monday morning we came down to ask him if there were any news and he said that we do not have to worry, that he called Agoda, and he will take care of everything. We also made a complaint about a certain pipe in our room which was blowing off steam loudly and was dripping durring the night. He said he will fix it – he didn't.
On Tuesday morning we asked him again if he received any written confirmation from Agoda and he said that we have to make the call and that we can use the phone in our room. In the evening when we wanted to make the call, we noticed that the phone was unplugged and there wasn't a phone socket in the room! We managed to make the call from the front desk and we got an answer from Agoda customer service that nobody reported this issue to them. We sent an e-mail explaining the problem, with bills in the attachment and got an answer that we should settle the issue with the hotel. The receptionist told us that the manager will be at the hotel on Friday.
On Friday morning (this has been going on for a whole week) we told mr. Patrick that we contacted Agoda, that they told us they didn't receive any calls from him and that all we want is a written confirmation of what he told us before or to call Agoda right now. Mr. Patrick got up from his chair and got verbaly very agressive and rude! It wasn't possible to communicate with him because he was shouting and didn't want to hear anything we were saying! He said that it was not his fault that the hotel didn't have a room for us on the first night because Agoda never informed him about our reservation (mr. Patrick probably forgot that he confirmed our reservation by e-mail) and that it's our fault that we booked through Agoda!?? He called us liars, told us that we are bullying him for something that was not his problem! This argument was going on for 15 minutes and mr. Patrick could not calm down. At this point we started to worry about our safety at the hotel and the safety of our belongings. Since, our flight was on Saturday and this was our last day at the Morningside Inn, we were afraid that if we go back home, we will never get our money back. So we found our country's Consulate office and went there for advice. The Consul called mr. Patrick on the phone and asked for an explanation. Again mr. Patrick was rude in his communication and the Consul told him that he will advise us to report this to higher authorities. Few hours later we started receiving e-mails from Agoda that everything has been taken care of and that the money has been refunded to our credit card. When we came back to the hotel, mr. Patrick was at the front desk and told us that we are very rude people who are trying to dishonor him and his hotel and that he got all the paperwork from Agoda but now he just won't give it to us.
We will never return to this hotel or recomend it to anyone, just because the way how the manager treats his guests (we were not the only ones with the problem there), he has serious issues, acts disrecpectful, speaks sarcastic and really doesn't do his job properly. We travel very often and we never had such bad experience. If You go through other reviews You'll see that this happens frequently.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick A, Manager at Morningside Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
I have to apologize for this mishap, we had a plumbing problem where a row rooms was un habitable new staff was on duty at the time we did try to correct the situation by finding other accommodations for the customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very clean, great location, just few streets to subway station, a lot of shops and restaurants around hotel, nice area:) you have great price, air condition, hot water, and clean bed- everything you need;-) I totally recommend this!:)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I had paid a reservation for two single rooms in the internet some three months before my and my companion's intended stay in the hotel. When we got to the hotel from airport around 6 P.M., we were told that our reservation was "not on the system, though it's paid" and that nothing can be done. We were sent to another cheap motel on the other side of the city, far away from Morningside Inn's good location. We thought that there would be accommodation for us in this another motel, but there wasn't. We had to pay for the rooms ourselves. Happily, things turned out much better, but no thanks goes to Morningside Inn or their receptionist's rude idea of service.

Keep out of this place unless you want some real trouble by noticing that you don't have a place to sleep in a strange big city!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank xzxzxzxzxzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I spent 3 nights in Morningside Inn, and I'd recommend this place for those who would like to explore Manhattan and are looking for a simple but clean&tidy place that provides the basic needs for a traveller.

It was easy to arrive in the hotel from La Guardia Airport. As I'd never been in Manhattan before this trip, I just followed some Google Maps instructions, and could reach the hotel because it is located between 110th St( Cathedral. Pkwy) and 103th St. Metro Stations.

The only thing I didn't like was the shared restroom. As I had my reservation done via Agoda.com, I had no idea about this, however, this was not a big deal.

Wifi is free, but needs to improve, sometimes it was really difficult to connect.

In a few words, a good, affordable, well located place to spend some nights.

Room Tip: Before confirming a reservation, check if your room will have its own restroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhanzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#387 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#300 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#393 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#437 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#358 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morningside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morningside Inn

Property: Morningside Inn
Address: 235 W 107th St, New York City, NY 10025-3096
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #436 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Morningside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great and affordable place to stay in New York City for travelers and students, as well as the perfect solution to all short and long term housing.The Morningside Inn is in the heart of New York City's vibrant Upper Westside - Morningside Heights. So close to Columbia and Barnard, the music and theological colleges, as well as the magnificent Cathedral St. John the Divine. The Hudson River Greenway and Riverside Park are steps from our door. The hotel is housed in a 6-story, elevator pre-war building with the old world charm of that era. All rooms are fresh and have been decorated in comfortable style. Excellent citywide bus and subway transportation are at Broadway, and the city M60 bus takes our guests from and to LaGuardia Airport directly for one Metrocard fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Morningside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morningside Hotel New York City
Morningside New York City
Morningside Inn New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing