We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$126
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$174
$149
Staybridge.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$147
$127
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 45% below average rates

The price you found is 45% lower than this hotel's average rate of $232/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$225
$180
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $235/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$221
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $183/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$133
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of $166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$251
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$158
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$289
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$173
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (896)
Filter reviews
896 results
Traveler rating
73
207
270
126
220
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
207
270
126
220
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 896 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The second floor back rooms are infested. Management knows about the problem but chooses to stifles complaints and tries to bully guests into silence. Only the location has some merit if you are visiting that upper West side Columbia University area.

Room Tip: If you must, stay in the first floor front where we saw no bugs
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 19NEK68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick A, Manager at Morningside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Obviously if we knew about the problem we would have address the situation. we had no prior incident in this room, the customer in question just came from a another establishment before he enter our hotel. he left the other hotel due to a similar problem we try to assist this customer but it affected our hotel in a negative manner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

In December 2012 we booked a double room for March 2013, through Agoda.com and since it was a hot deal offer, we payed total amount in advance.
Two weeks before our arrival, we sent an e-mail regarding our reservation to mr. Patrick and he confirmed that everything is fine. We also informed him that we will be arriving around 10 p.m. due to our flight schedule.
We arrived to the hotel at Friday night and the receptionist told us that they are overbooked and they have no available rooms. She also told us that they had a system failure and she has been dealing with this kind of situations the whole day. We asked her to call the manager on the phone and she did. We were standing 2 meters away from her and we could hear him shouting at her. When she hung up the phone, she started crying and told us that she will find another hotel for us for the night and in the morning the manager will refund the costs. Since it was rather late, it took her 2 hours to find available hotel and it was for 220$ per night. We agreed to go to that hotel and return in the morning, when they should have available room for us. She apologized once more and said that this happens all the time at this hotel. At the same time when this was happening, other guests arrived at the hotel and were in the same situation. They didn't want to go to another hotel because it was simply too expensive for them so they spent the night in the basement, sleeping on chairs.
So, we slept at another hotel for 220$ and we payed a taxi to take us there and our total costs were 270$. We saved the bills and in the morning we were back at Morningside Inn. The manager, mr. Patrick was at the front desk and we told him about our problem last night and presented him the bills. His first line was: oh, it's You that made my employee cry last night! After that he said that it is against hotel policy to refund the money in cash and it is not possible to refund it to our credit card and that he will call Agoda to make the refund and then charge the hotel, but since it is Saturday, we should not expect anything before Monday. On Monday morning we came down to ask him if there were any news and he said that we do not have to worry, that he called Agoda, and he will take care of everything. We also made a complaint about a certain pipe in our room which was blowing off steam loudly and was dripping durring the night. He said he will fix it – he didn't.
On Tuesday morning we asked him again if he received any written confirmation from Agoda and he said that we have to make the call and that we can use the phone in our room. In the evening when we wanted to make the call, we noticed that the phone was unplugged and there wasn't a phone socket in the room! We managed to make the call from the front desk and we got an answer from Agoda customer service that nobody reported this issue to them. We sent an e-mail explaining the problem, with bills in the attachment and got an answer that we should settle the issue with the hotel. The receptionist told us that the manager will be at the hotel on Friday.
On Friday morning (this has been going on for a whole week) we told mr. Patrick that we contacted Agoda, that they told us they didn't receive any calls from him and that all we want is a written confirmation of what he told us before or to call Agoda right now. Mr. Patrick got up from his chair and got verbaly very agressive and rude! It wasn't possible to communicate with him because he was shouting and didn't want to hear anything we were saying! He said that it was not his fault that the hotel didn't have a room for us on the first night because Agoda never informed him about our reservation (mr. Patrick probably forgot that he confirmed our reservation by e-mail) and that it's our fault that we booked through Agoda!?? He called us liars, told us that we are bullying him for something that was not his problem! This argument was going on for 15 minutes and mr. Patrick could not calm down. At this point we started to worry about our safety at the hotel and the safety of our belongings. Since, our flight was on Saturday and this was our last day at the Morningside Inn, we were afraid that if we go back home, we will never get our money back. So we found our country's Consulate office and went there for advice. The Consul called mr. Patrick on the phone and asked for an explanation. Again mr. Patrick was rude in his communication and the Consul told him that he will advise us to report this to higher authorities. Few hours later we started receiving e-mails from Agoda that everything has been taken care of and that the money has been refunded to our credit card. When we came back to the hotel, mr. Patrick was at the front desk and told us that we are very rude people who are trying to dishonor him and his hotel and that he got all the paperwork from Agoda but now he just won't give it to us.
We will never return to this hotel or recomend it to anyone, just because the way how the manager treats his guests (we were not the only ones with the problem there), he has serious issues, acts disrecpectful, speaks sarcastic and really doesn't do his job properly. We travel very often and we never had such bad experience. If You go through other reviews You'll see that this happens frequently.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick A, Manager at Morningside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

I have to apologize for this mishap, we had a plumbing problem where a row rooms was un habitable new staff was on duty at the time we did try to correct the situation by finding other accommodations for the customer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very clean, great location, just few streets to subway station, a lot of shops and restaurants around hotel, nice area:) you have great price, air condition, hot water, and clean bed- everything you need;-) I totally recommend this!:)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I had paid a reservation for two single rooms in the internet some three months before my and my companion's intended stay in the hotel. When we got to the hotel from airport around 6 P.M., we were told that our reservation was "not on the system, though it's paid" and that nothing can be done. We were sent to another cheap motel on the other side of the city, far away from Morningside Inn's good location. We thought that there would be accommodation for us in this another motel, but there wasn't. We had to pay for the rooms ourselves. Happily, things turned out much better, but no thanks goes to Morningside Inn or their receptionist's rude idea of service.

Keep out of this place unless you want some real trouble by noticing that you don't have a place to sleep in a strange big city!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank xzxzxzxzxzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I spent 3 nights in Morningside Inn, and I'd recommend this place for those who would like to explore Manhattan and are looking for a simple but clean&tidy place that provides the basic needs for a traveller.

It was easy to arrive in the hotel from La Guardia Airport. As I'd never been in Manhattan before this trip, I just followed some Google Maps instructions, and could reach the hotel because it is located between 110th St( Cathedral. Pkwy) and 103th St. Metro Stations.

The only thing I didn't like was the shared restroom. As I had my reservation done via Agoda.com, I had no idea about this, however, this was not a big deal.

Wifi is free, but needs to improve, sometimes it was really difficult to connect.

In a few words, a good, affordable, well located place to spend some nights.

Room Tip: Before confirming a reservation, check if your room will have its own restroom.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mhanzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews