We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean room and friendly staff”
Review of Morningside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Morningside Inn
Ranked #445 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed in the deluxe room,. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. The location was awesome. It is a simple room but had a fridge. Located close to the subway, yummy restaurants and markets. WIll stay here again. It is a basic budget hotel but it is great. If you have a street facing rooms I would recommend earplugs but that is a-ok.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shoesareme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (874)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 874 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were a group of 14 that visited NYC for an Interdisciplinary Art Department Trip. Everything with the Morningside Inn made us feel comfortable and at ease when we were not busy visiting NY's museums. It is a recently renovated facility but yet boasts the original character and architecure of the building. The location is great and allows you to easily navigate through the city by walking, or catching the subways and taxis. Mr. Patrick (the general manager) and his crew provided us with everything our group requested and even arranged for fleet service back to the airport. Looking for a place with plush towels, marble floors and down-filled comforters? This is the place!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street side are great because you get to see the locals in the neighborhood stroll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FiFi60898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We (me and my wife) stayed at 4th floor for 7 days. The room was good and the bathroom ok. A very quiet local, good for rest. Theres a metro station 3 blocks near e the central park is 3 blocks to. There is a bus station 1 block near where you can get the M60 bus to em from La Guardia airport. The manager, Patrick, was very kind with us. The price is not so cheap, but that's New York city, right?! We would stay there again and recommend the morning side inn hostel to everybody.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fabiomti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

this hotel was horrible! we had come off a 20 hour flight, and were exhausted, and we entered our hotel room and found one double bed that barely fit in the room. we also had a communal bathroom in which we had to share with many others. the doors didnt lock either, which meant we had to take all valubles with us!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chloe Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick A, Manager at Morningside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Sorry to read about your stay here at The Morningside Inn,the room that you reserve is the the room you booked.we try to upgrade you the next day but it seems like you was not happy with your room and you did not want to listen to anything we had to offer.I do apologize for the mishap which we did try to correct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I have been staying at morningside inn when I travel to New York for about eight years. I absolutely love it here. Patrick, the manager, is awesome and always takes great care of us. Wendy is also wonderful. I would and do recommend this place to anyone going to New York. It is affordable and right by a subway stop that takes you to downtown. The neighborhood is great and you are blocks away from Riverside park, a great place for a run.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonyahammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Overall the hotel was ok. Great location to everything nyc has to offer. Only complaint is the wall where thin you can hear everything that is going on in the rooms next to you. I had a budget room, which came with a bed, dresser and a shared bathroom.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeterance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I went to NYC for four nights by myself and was very pleased with my experience there. I am a 23yr old female and felt very comfortable there. I have stayed in several hostels in the city and this was the best deal. I only had a basic room with no bathroom or tv, but with it just being me, I didn't need those things. Anyways you do not need a tv while visiting nyc! You have the whole city to explore and watch. Having a basic room at that price was exactly what I wanted. If I can save money by not having a private bathroom, then I definitely want that, especially if I'm just traveling by myself. The shared bathrooms where kept clean anyways so that was nice. I had lots of storage space within the room for clothing or whatever. The thing that stood out most to me however was how kind the staff was to me. Everyone was so nice! I have been to other hostels where the staff wasn't as welcoming so this was great, it really means a lot to me when people are so kind. I accidently locked my key in my room and the woman at the front desk during the late night shift was very nice about helping me get back in. I was worried that I would be seen as a pain but she was so pleasant and helpful. Overall this is a great place if you are looking for a budget room, like I was. It is so much cheaper than a regular hotel and I like the more personal feel with a smaller place. Thanks so much and I will definitely be back next time I visit nyc, which will be soon!! Love you ladies and gents!

Room Tip: Save money by opting out of a private bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alice_Raymond_Morse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#383 of 471 in New York City
656 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#414 of 471 in New York City
559 reviews
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#371 of 471 in New York City
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#220 of 471 in New York City
1,610 reviews
Midtown
Americana Inn
Americana Inn
#378 of 471 in New York City
749 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#395 of 471 in New York City
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morningside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morningside Inn

Address: 235 W 107th St, New York City, NY 10025-3096
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #445 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $77 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Morningside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great and affordable place to stay in New York City for travelers and students, as well as the perfect solution to all short and long term housing.The Morningside Inn is in the heart of New York City's vibrant Upper Westside - Morningside Heights. So close to Columbia and Barnard, the music and theological colleges, as well as the magnificent Cathedral St. John the Divine. The Hudson River Greenway and Riverside Park are steps from our door. The hotel is housed in a 6-story, elevator pre-war building with the old world charm of that era. All rooms are fresh and have been decorated in comfortable style. Excellent citywide bus and subway transportation are at Broadway, and the city M60 bus takes our guests from and to LaGuardia Airport directly for one Metrocard fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Morningside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morningside Hotel New York City
Morningside New York City
Morningside Inn New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing