We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't waste a second of your trip”
Review of Show Me Tours

Show Me Tours
Ranked #113 of 620 Tours in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Want to join a walking tour for a few hours? Hire a private step on guide for the day for your coach bus? Need someone to make reservations to amazing restaurants, get theater tickets, and create an itinerary? If so, you have reached the right place. Here at Show Me Tours we provide customized service for you and strive to make your experience a once in a lifetime event!
Tulsa
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“You won't waste a second of your trip”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Daniel is the King of Logistics in NYC!

I have travelled with Daniel on three occasions, the first two with school groups. He packs so many events into just a few days that I decided to use him for our personal family trip, with our two sons and my parents, both in their sixties.

He tailored everything to our wants and needs. He arranged for tickets to shows and events, and because he's a licensed guide, a couple of times we were able to skip the long lines at attractions and memorials. He also suggests restaurants close to your activities, making the reservations for you even if he's not joining you at the end of the day.

Daniel is able to move you from one metro train to another. It's amazing-he can figure out the fastest route to your next destination just by watching what trains pass going the opposite direction. That probably saved us over an hour by itself, as we didn't wait long on each platform, even on a Sunday after Hurricane Sandy had closed down much of the Metro system in Manhattan.

Daniel made considerations in our schedule for my father's aching feet and back, concentrating on walking tours in the morning and taxi trips in the afternoon. He got to know all of us personally over a 2+ day period.

Show Me Tours is worth every penny. Daniel eliminates a lot of time inevitably wasted by less fortunate tourists trying to figure NYC out on their own.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank soonertourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    0
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, OK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't Leave Home Without Him!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Daniel Ellis made our school trip to NYC so much fun. He arranged all of our tours, most of our meals and led us through the crowded streets of NY. His tour was extremely well organized, informational and entertaining. This is definitely not a dull, audio-style tour. Daniel is high-energy and packs as much as possible into his tours. We wouldn't have been able to experience a fraction of what we saw and did in 4 days without his expertise. The hotel he arranged was fantastic, the shows we saw were wonderful and the meals we ate were a good cross-section of New York's very best. Daniel's passion for his city shows and it's infectious. You come away exhausted but very much in love with the Big Apple. I wouldn't go back without contacting him and asking him to plan at least a day tour. He is very accommodating and will make every effort to show you exactly what you want to see. I don't think there was a single question we asked that he couldn't answer. We will never forget our 4 days in NYC thanks to Daniel Ellis and Show Me Tours.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cpamomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“50 visitors + 1 Daniel = Best trip ever!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Daniel escorted 50 of us, moms and 7th graders all over NYC. Rain, shine and in-between. No one got lost or left behind even though we used subways several times a day. He arranged a very comfortable hotel, unique local restaurants and made sure mom's had some down time and could talk to each other at meals but in sight of our kids. Met's game, Statue of Liberty, 2 Broadway shows, evening dinner cruise, 9/11 memorial, Financial district, Natural history museum and several other fun things. We were only there 4 days. The passengers on the Staten Island Ferry came to hear his talk. He is very passionate about NY and it shows. When I first heard the price for our school trip I thought it was expensive. Now I realize what a bargain it was. I did not have to do anything but keep track of 1 child. I have been to NY several times and on other walking tours but this exceeded everything. I am making plans to call him for the Thanksgiving parade tour he does and some advice on 4th of July fireworks. We love Daniel!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Freeman2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Experience”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our NYC trip was amazing!! Our tour consisted of about 28 people and Daniel Ellis was so much fun!!! He is a 'hoot'! He is so organized & motivated and maximized the trip for all of us.
He had everything scheduled for us & somehow kept us on track -- all the while being so nice & keeping us laughing!
He met us at LaGuardia and before we left the airport, he knew all our names and faces!
(we had 3 sets of twins too - which could be confusing for many)! Within minutes, we truly felt as tho we had known him awhile.
He kept us moving & out the door early and we didn't stop till late! (Although this can be catered to your family needs)
There was so much to see & do and he wanted us to be able to take it all in! So- we were BUSY!!
Daniel has so much energy & is a wealth of knowledge when it comes to NYC & a MUST for those that want to learn the city!! He knows this city & is so passionate about his City. It comes thru loud and clear as he shares stories with you.
Some of the sites we took in were Times Square, Central Park & canoed the lake, went to the Museum of Metropolitan Art (the MET), saw the Broadway play - Matilda, visited the 9/11 Memorial - very emotional & a MUST SEE- Daniel spoke of the the Twin Towers in decades which really helped one and all to understand the history of the Twin Towers & what we really were about to see - and then to be able to go to the kiosk, find a name of someone from your home state & have the opportunity to pray for them & their family was very moving!! Also visited the MoMATH - which is new but worth the visit - it was so interactive, we went on a dinner cruise around Statute Liberty - absolutely BREATH TAKING - if you do this dinner cruise, please have Daniel dance to Gangnam style!! (Be sure to video tape him)
We also toured Radio City Hall & were even photographed with a Real Rockette named Elizabeth, went to Top of the Rock - a MUST SEE with the most amazing views, went to St. Paul's Chapel, Trinity Church, Saint Patrick's Cathedral, also went to the Museum of the Moving Image which is dedicated to film and television! We took in a Mets game, which was great - except that they LOST- Daniel is a BIG fan of the Mets!!
Also - went to Coney Island & ate at Nathan's & walked the Boardwalk and rode the Cyclone!!!
We ate lots & lots of GREAT food, including gelato at a local hot spot, Ellen's Stardust Diner where many New Yorkers have gotten their start, ate at Angelo's pizzeria & Tony's Napoli's and Daniel's personal favorite - Schnipper's, which is AWESOME!
Daniel can truly customize your trip for you & your family's needs - he has great suggestions and will keep you moving as fast as you can or want to go!
I can not imagine having done this trip without him! We certainly would not have gotten as much from the trip!
Thank you Daniel -
Tulsa looks forward to seeing you in the fall!!!!
Amonica, Grant & Griffin Rupe

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amonica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great trip!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was my son's first trip to NYC and he already wants to know when we can come back to NYC and see Daniel again. You instantly feel like you've known Daniel for forever. He has a passion for NYC and sharing it with everyone. He is so knowledgeable and works hard to give you a true feel for the city. Daniel was so energetic compared to other tour guides that we saw. I would highly recommend Daniel for anyone coming to NYC! My son will never forget this 7th grade trip!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MilskiBunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Show Me Tours also viewed

 

Been to Show Me Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing