We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Dumplings & Soup”

Royal Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #4,175 of 13,820 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Chinese
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Dumplings & Soup”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

The shrimp dumplings , hot n sour soup and wonton soup were the very best I've ever had!!! The Kung pao chicken and fish with veggies were outstanding. But the shrimp & garlic sauce left something to be desired taste wise although the shrimp were huge in size. Yes, there were some language difficulties. (In fact, they had us use the employee bathroom rather than the customer one.) But....Definitely going back for the soup and dumplings!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank webjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    23
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Orange, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great & Authentic DimSum at reasonable prices”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We decided at the last minute to get DimSum on Christmas Day. Apparently, this is something a whole lot of people do on Christmas. This destination was very crowded, because the food is fresh, tasty, and authentic. We had a big pot of soup also, which was VERY good. The prices were very reasonable, given the quality of the food and the attentive service.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“excellent dim sum”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

have had tried many dim sum restaurants globally and this place was highly recommended by friends in the culinary business. Place was absolutely packed and obviously the dim sum offerings were very fresh. It was on par with the ones i had in Hong Kong three weeks before my trip to New York. go early if you mind the wait.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank makan0960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious but Challenging”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

The person who gave this a complaining one star rating is a fool. This place is hysterical and delicious, but some of the dishes are...weird...by American standards.

This place is loud, chaotic, and very Chinese. Tables are all large rounds with eight or ten people sharing communally. If you are not Chinese, you will be one of the few. The wait staff speak virtually no English, and they are all business.

We had something like a nine course feast: octopus, catfish, lobster, abalone, seaweed, shark fin soup, fish maw and more. It was an eating adventure! I didn't care for some items because they just aren't my preference. The squid was the best I've had, and the catfish was great. Fish maw is fish bladder, and I had difficulty with that.

All in all, a great dining and cultural experience for me. But...my wife came away hungry because of the many culinary adventures placed before us. So if you're not daring with your dining, this is not your place.

Helpful?
Thank Harold M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Horrible Restaurant”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a horrible restaurant. Smelly, dirty, noisy, you name it. Well, if you don't believe, see it for yourself. I never set foot on this restaurant again. I found this restaurant by google and whoever put it up on the web is a big liar. We've been there just a week ago. It is very hard to beleive that there are people giving 5 stars to this restaurant. The only thing I can think of is perhaps this restaurant has a new owner and he or she turns it into a horrible place to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Royal Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing