We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metro-Home Sutton Place

Metro-Home Sutton Place
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Metro-Home Sutton Place
Paris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2007

I arrived here after a flight from Toronto. I stayed here from Feb 12 - Feb 16 in a studio suite. I found an excellent deal online only to find out on arrival that they were doing contruction during the day. (Probably why there was such a good discount).

Like past reviews I agree that the doormen were unfriendly and staff are practically non-existant but it didn't really bother me. I think that this hotel is partly an apartment and has permanent residents.

The location was excellent. The hotel is old and slightly run down, but quaint. I really liked the mini kitchen. Try walking a few blocks south for larger grocery stores and wine & liquor stores. The subway is about 3-4 blocks away.

I would definitely stay here again if the rates don't inflate after the construction is finished.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank cherishee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
5
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2007

Excellent East Side location with good restaurants and shops nearby. The building is in repair, the 'doorman' are just watchmen, most with no uniform and hardly a greeting as they are watching TV 24/7. The studio apartment (4B) needs new venetian blinds, better insulation from noise and extremely drafty windows. Kitchen had odd numbers of knives, forks, glasses and mismatched china etc. On the positive side, the bed was very comfortable, very clean linens, ample towels and has a good sized bathroom and big closets. Pleasant furniture but lacks a second lamp - we had to use the ceiling light to read the paper on the couch! Good cable TV and (at a fee) ethernet high speed internet available.

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — the minimal amenities
  • Stayed January 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cckone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2006

I was looking for an apartmnet hotel in new york since the rooms in hotel are supposed to be small. so booked this place on the net. The price is good, $225++ for a studio apartment. When we arrived, the lobby looked shabby, the doorman didn't even come to the door, was watching TV and gave us our apartment keys like he was doing us a favour. The lobby's need upgrading, The room is a good size, however the TV was stuffed into a cupboard and had wires sticking out all over the place, The kitchen was good, as was the bathroom. we had a little balcony, but the handle to the door was broken. This could be a much better place if they just gave some attention to upgrading the facility. Great location so plusses and minusses. NOt a luxury property though in case that's what you're expecting.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sthaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2006

A great bargain @ $250/night during high season, including taxes & fees. Stayed in a 5th floor studio apartment for five nights on 55th St - between 1st & 2nd Aves. Very comfortable and quiet, with a queen bed and foldout couch, dining table & chairs, hardwood floors, small kitchen, fridge, microwave. Doormen very courteous and helpful. Safe neighborhood even at late hours. Lots of families, great restaurants, deli's, and Irish pubs in every direction. Try Jameson's on 2nd Ave. for great beef dishes, chicken pot pie, and shepherd's pie. Wonderful location, subway within 5 blocks.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — great opportunity to live like a real new yorker
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank francis54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2006

My friend and I arrived from Las Vegas Saturday early morning hoping to be able to get into our apt to get some sleep before our day out in the big city. Making reservation via phone was of no prblem as the customer service girls made the whole process smooth sailing. We also informed them of our early arrival and they assured us that there would be no problem as there would be a 24hr doorman who would have our keys. We received our confirmation via e-mail within 20 minutes and we were all set for out trip to the great NYC. Unfortunately the great service we were getting by Metro Home was short lived as when we arrived at the building we were "greeted" by a so-called doorman! With feet up on desk watching TV, paid no attention to us and later refused to give us keys to our apt! Over all service from doorman, rude, plain rude! Hence, after a 30minute wait, one of the ladies from Metro Home arrived and of-course gave us entry that we had been requesting! The apts are not bad them selves, could use some up grading, but for an older building its understandable (steam heaters! and old pipe system). Thanks for our reservation and stay but we will think twice if we want to come back and experience lack of courtesy and ignorance from door personnel, this really makes a difference for a returning client, if you want return business!

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2006

Stayed at Metro-Home for three nights on a business trip to Midtown Manhattan. The location is just fantastic - 5 minute walk to Bloomingdales, 10 to Central Park, with the neighbourhood restaurants of 2nd and 3rd on the Upper East Side close to hand.

The studio apartments have solid wood floors and would be about 10 sq ft larger if the owners would only strip the 437 extra coats of paint off the woodwork - the apartment was a little tired and in need of a "remodel" - but I accept I may be a little picky here. The owners had a genuine difficulty in fitting all of their large furniture into a studio - it was furnished with a leather 3 seater sofa and a dining table and four chairs as well as a writing desk, a TV chest and a huge sleigh bed, so it looked as if everything had been stuffed in with little thought. The furniture was excellent quality, solid wood, none of your flat pack MDF with veneer here. The sleigh bed had a superb, firm mattress. The bathroom had a great shower, the kitchen was well appointed and the entire place was spotlessly clean on arrival. And frankly, tired wiring and jaded gloss paint notwithstanding, it represented excellent value for money for E55th and 2nd in New York. If you stayed in a hotel with the same sized room, the price would multiply by two or three in a trice. I would have no hesitation in booking with Metro-Home again.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank CymraegBeirniaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2005

I stayed at the Sutton Place for 9 nights in August... in between apartments. It was better than either one of my apartments. Had ordered the basic studio, though was given a full-blown one bedroom apartment. It was definately way beyond my expectations. Like I said- would rather live here than my own apartment. The sat TV was great, the kitchen had all appliances needed, hot water with working stove, two A/Cs and large bed. I would definately reccomend Sutton Place to any one visiting the city for a week or any one in b/w apartments or the like.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sutton Court Hotel Residences
Sutton Court Hotel Residences
#373 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Midtown
Carvi Hotel New York
Carvi Hotel New York
#179 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#244 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,950 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#170 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 968 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#124 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro-Home Sutton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro-Home Sutton Place

Property: Metro-Home Sutton Place
Address: 310 E 55th St, New York City, NY 10022-8303
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 195 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Metro-Home Sutton Place 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Metro-Home Sutton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro-Home Sutton Place Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing