We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very long way from being "the finest in furnished apartments"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Metro-Home Sutton Place

Metro-Home Sutton Place
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Metro-Home Sutton Place
Glasgow
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“A very long way from being "the finest in furnished apartments"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

We were taking our 3 kids to NYC for their first trip to the Big Bagel as the first leg of our US summer vacation. We had 8 nights in town and hoped an apartment rental would allow them a sense of being part-time New Yorkers while avoiding the claustrophobia of hotel rooms - and not being required to eat every single meal out. Our first choice (Axa) was not available but some googling brought us to the inbox of Metro-Home aka Elite City stays. I thought I noticed construction work on the Google photos of the property but was assured by the accomodation agency that this simply was the building's entry canopy (first lie). On reaching the apartment we were given a whirlwind introductory tour by a young lady who led us to believe she was the business owner ( a pattern emerging?). We were bushed after a delayed flight and just wanted to shower and snooze. The apartment looked "compact" but smelled fresh and, hey, it's NYC -space is at a premium. But we should have looked more closely and insisted she stayed til we did. Someone had been to IKEA or its equivalent lately as the furnishings were new if a bit on the bargain basement side. They will not stand the test of time. First surprise was that, despite the website clearly showing a sitting room with windows to the street this one had a stud wall partition with a PERSPEX window getting light from the street window of the second bedroom. The sitting room is minute - the second bedroom clearly having been carved out by partitioning off the siutting room. You cannot use the dining table without the furniture being moved. The wifi is poor quality and expensive.The main bedroom was fine. The single bathroom was tiny - and very oldfashioned. Linen and crockery were cheap as were the kitchen fittings. The 24 hr doormen varied from the wholly unhelpful and surly (including one who got offended when I asked that a dangerous mess left at the garbage chute next to the exit should get cleared) to the pleasantly incompetent. There are MAJOR building works going on here. The windows are single sash so the street noise is high and they are covered by cheap nearly translucent coverings so immediately sun is up: you are too. The area is fine and central but don't let the name fool you - this is NOT Sutton and the building had quite a few dodgy looking residents. The lobby must have been photographed the day it was painted. We finally got refunded one night's payments in compensation after too much correspondence. We would rather have had the accomodation we paid for. An apartment break in NYC is a great idea for holdaying families - just not this one.

  • Liked — It was in NYC
  • Disliked — THE ACCOMODATION
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ARDNAHOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
5
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2008

The was the worst apartment/hotel I have ever stayed in. The first day we had a late check in, the apartment was dusty, the internet never did work and we froze to death because the heat was turned off while a window was left open unbeknownst to us. I contacted the property manager and I was treated in a very unprofessional way. If you are looking for a nice, clean, friendly place to stay while you are visiting new york this is not the place to stay. Do not stay here I repeat do not stay here!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank candy359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2007

The pros:

- Very good location
- Reasonably clean
- Very spacious one bedroom (room 3F)

The cons:

- Check-in took an hour. We arrived at 9pm. I showed my confirmation sheet and confirmation email. Didn't matter. The doorman wasn't informed by Metro-Home that we were coming, so he wouldn't give us our room. Metro-Home's phone number is just an office number that goes to voicemail after hours. We tried repeatedly to reach "Reggie" at Metro-Home. Finally someone got a hold of him, and he called back without any apologies. Even tried to say it was my fault. Nice!
- Old, rundown place
- Phone did not work
- Cable modem had no power connection. I had to take it from the phone (phone didn't work anyway), and luckily it worked.
- Heat - the radiator blasted heat, and there was no way to shut it off. It was oppressively hot, and the radiator made the air really dry to boot. Just terrible.
- The smell was awful. It's a combination of paint and mothballs/roach killer. Luckily no roaches though. The smell was still in my clothes after I arrived home. Gross.
- $295/night

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank miscsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
It's a state of mind.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

First of all, it is important to understand that this is not a traditional hotel. It is not even a "homestay" hotel. Metro-Home owns a few apartments randomly scattered throughout this Midtown-East apartment building. You are getting a furnished apartment -- no maid service, no room service. It's an apartment, not a hotel room, so don't expect hotel-level service. As for the complaints about the doormen, I would say that they were indifferent, not surly. They work for the building, not Metro-Home, and they don't owe the Metro-Home guests anything. The location is pretty good. It is near the E-V subway station at 53rd/3rd and not far from the 6 subway station at 51st/Lexington. There are lots of good restaurants and amenities on Second Avenue. HOWEVER, I would not stay there again. 1) My apartment, 4G, was quite run down. There were patches on the walls and ceiling. There were cracks in the plaster. 2) The place had a permanent smell of week-old Chinese take-out. 3) The apartment had a cockroach problem. I am not kidding. Finding a roach in your shoe in the morning is not pleasant. And I saw many roaches while there. 4) Something screwy was going on. As the "resident" of apartment 4G, I was served with an eviction notice because the actual owner of the apartment was in the midst of a legal fight with Metro-Home over six months of unpaid rent. According to the notice, which I had to sign for, Metro-Home owed the owner $15,000 in back rent and legal fees. For what I was paying, I should not have had to deal with that.

  • Liked — Location, price
  • Disliked — It was dirty and in poor condition.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank poldyblooom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2007

I arrived here after a flight from Toronto. I stayed here from Feb 12 - Feb 16 in a studio suite. I found an excellent deal online only to find out on arrival that they were doing contruction during the day. (Probably why there was such a good discount).

Like past reviews I agree that the doormen were unfriendly and staff are practically non-existant but it didn't really bother me. I think that this hotel is partly an apartment and has permanent residents.

The location was excellent. The hotel is old and slightly run down, but quaint. I really liked the mini kitchen. Try walking a few blocks south for larger grocery stores and wine & liquor stores. The subway is about 3-4 blocks away.

I would definitely stay here again if the rates don't inflate after the construction is finished.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank cherishee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2007

Excellent East Side location with good restaurants and shops nearby. The building is in repair, the 'doorman' are just watchmen, most with no uniform and hardly a greeting as they are watching TV 24/7. The studio apartment (4B) needs new venetian blinds, better insulation from noise and extremely drafty windows. Kitchen had odd numbers of knives, forks, glasses and mismatched china etc. On the positive side, the bed was very comfortable, very clean linens, ample towels and has a good sized bathroom and big closets. Pleasant furniture but lacks a second lamp - we had to use the ceiling light to read the paper on the couch! Good cable TV and (at a fee) ethernet high speed internet available.

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — the minimal amenities
  • Stayed January 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cckone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2006

I was looking for an apartmnet hotel in new york since the rooms in hotel are supposed to be small. so booked this place on the net. The price is good, $225++ for a studio apartment. When we arrived, the lobby looked shabby, the doorman didn't even come to the door, was watching TV and gave us our apartment keys like he was doing us a favour. The lobby's need upgrading, The room is a good size, however the TV was stuffed into a cupboard and had wires sticking out all over the place, The kitchen was good, as was the bathroom. we had a little balcony, but the handle to the door was broken. This could be a much better place if they just gave some attention to upgrading the facility. Great location so plusses and minusses. NOt a luxury property though in case that's what you're expecting.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sthaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Lombardy
The Lombardy
#193 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Upper East Side
Oakwood at the Blake
Midtown
Sutton Court Hotel Residences
Sutton Court Hotel Residences
#370 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#163 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#228 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,278 reviews
Midtown
Carvi Hotel New York
Carvi Hotel New York
#150 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro-Home Sutton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro-Home Sutton Place

Property: Metro-Home Sutton Place
Address: 310 East 55th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 192 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Metro-Home Sutton Place 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Metro-Home Sutton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro-Home Sutton Place Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing