We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual Osteria, Worth a Visit”
Review of Osteria Cotta

Osteria Cotta
Reserve with OpenTable
Osteria Cotta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,884 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Description: Popular Italian Wine Bar in the Upper West Side. Our menu offers a variety of popular staples including antipasti, homemade pastas and artisanal pizza from our imported wood burning oven. Our Living Room is an intimate space ideal for hosting cocktail parties and sit-down dinners.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Casual Osteria, Worth a Visit”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Visited here with three others and al agreed that this is a great place to eat. All of the dishes ordered were delicious and reasonably priced. The varied wine menu with good specials pleased everybody and provided good matches for all the food ordered.

If you're from out of town and wondeirng whether to visit, don't be afraid. The inside is very cool with an old-world charm, yet slighlty hip. There is a wood fired overn for great pizzas and the menu has great food.

Specifically, I had the farfalle with fennel italian sausage. It was fantastic.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TacomaAg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    47
    15
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Bombdiggity Bruschetta”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were just looking for a place to pop in to have a drink and appetizer and ended up walking several blocks to find a place that had: a fun vibe, a cool bar top, and specialty drinks. Cotta fit the bill. (And having gone to several places after down Columbus, this was the most fun). But the bar itself was kind of small, so I don't think I'd go there for a full evening of drinks with a bunch of people.

It was a busy night when we went in, and the music was pretty loud - but that's our style too. The autumn sangria was tasty, but the bruschetta sampler was a winner! There wasn't a single one that we weren't making audible "mmmm"s over.

Service was friendly, fast, and knowledgeable. And eating at the bar wasn't an issue. I'd go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CostalCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food, reasonable prices”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

A group of four of us enjoyed dinner at Osteria Cotta. We were seated in the upstairs section which was quieter than the buzzing ground floor bar area, and was romantically lit by candles, though just a little dim for me as it was hard to read the menus. We had plenty of room despite all tables being occupied. Service was prompt and attentive. All four of us had different dishes and all were very good. Three of the 'to share' dishes served the four of us as an appetizer. The menu was limited but included something that would suit most people. I must mention the tiramisu dessert which was superb. Wine list was good and reasonably priced. In all a really good night out at a good price. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EWM25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Terrific Osteria on the UWS”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

In the space that used to be Senor Swanky's is Osteria Cotta, an authentic, warm and charming Italian on Columbus Avenue. Unlike Senor Swanky's, the food and service are absolutely top-notch, and the atmosphere is fun.

The front of the restaurant is a rustic, barn-like facade, opening to a relatively open downstairs with an open kitchen in the back. Upstairs are tables with plenty of space between them. Wherever you sit, the food is delicious - the pizzas are excellent, but our favorites are the small-plate appetizers; we've made meals from just a variety of these, from the salumi to the formaggia to the house specials.

Friendly and pleasant staff, laid-back authentic Italian atmosphere, and excellent food - what could be bad? A great addition to the neighborhood and a terrific choice if you're looking for a good value Italian.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Outstanding Atmosphere”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

First trip to NY, first night in town. Guest services at the hotel recommended Cotta for dinner after our walk through Central Park. It was Saturday night but we were seated rather quickly in the outside patio. Small table and tight quarters but didn't feel crowded; had the feel of a local hang-out rather than a tourist destination which was very nice.

The food was excellent and very reasonably priced. The waiter's recommendation for appetizers and meals were spot-on. Waiter was very nice and engaging to the perfect point, and the other service personnel were friendly and personable. The only drawback was speed, or really the lack of speed. After ordering everything was painfully slow; drinks took ages for delivery and our appetizers were a long wait. Can't speak to the time it took to prepare our meals; after a very long wait the waiter advised he forgot to put in our meal order. Honest mistake though, and his confessing the error made the wait much more easy to take than had we not known.

All in all this was a a great meal in a wonderful location; the staff were excellent and the affordable food was extremely good. Highly recommended, we hope to return!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swim54low
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Cotta also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Osteria Cotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing