We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Beer Selection”

Amsterdam Ale House
Ranked #1,514 of 13,630 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Beer Selection”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I love this bar, primarily for their very large and well selected draught menu. Many of the choices are seasonal beers so the menu is always changing. If you are lucky you will get a server who really knows the beer and can offer recommendations or provide you with small samples to help you decide. Of course they have a full bar as well so non-beer drinkers are equally as welcome. The food is also quite tasty, I am a particular fan of the lamb burger and sweet potato fries. Big plus is that the kitchen is open late so no rushing the clock here. The inside can get pretty loud during Happy Hour or on the weekends so if you want to have a conversation you can hear, aim for a table outside.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    114
    42
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“PUB, incredible choice of beer with Us food”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Okay, you are in a pub, so you will find: beer & american fancy food (salads, burgers, sandwhich). Staff if nice. Wan become loud during the week end (but ok, YOU ARE IN A PUB). :) I enjoyed it

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank guapaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Our food choices were very good”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Though the menu is somewhat limited, we enjoyed the food that we ordered---lamb burger and tuna---great sauces. The beer selections were plentiful.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank artving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxnard, ca
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“I second that!”
Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

In agree with the previous review. We were a party of 12, 3 of them kids. The parents enjoyed the selection of beer and we all were satisfied with the food. It was a Monday night but the place was busy! Only complaint was the onion rings were a little soggy...

Helpful?
Thank tuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent Brews and Great Pub Food!”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This has long been on my must go to pub list and I was not the least disappointed. Let's get to the point, you're mostly here for the beer right? Ok, so how about 15 regular drafts, 20 seasonal specialty drafts and 25 single malts to get started? Plus the bottle list which I didn't count.

The specialties are pretty much regional micros with a few exotic Euros thrown in. All the beer was really fresh; the Crossroads Outrage IPA was especially noteworthy for that lovely citrusy American bouquet and flavour.

I was there twice, the first time I had a pulled pork bun and the second time a turkey burger. Each was served with a large load of thin cut potatoe fries. Although pretty standard pub fare they were both very well done and did not lack for character or quantity. Sweet potatoe fries were another option, as was a salad.

The service was prompt and friendly. A door girl greets you and gets you to a table - if available. The best time to be assured of seating is mid-afternoon. Supper time it gets full quickly and on a Friday or Saturday evening it's a forget about it. I tried once and there was a huge crowd waiting. Once you've got a place service is attentive and quick. Beer was on the table in mere minutes and you don't wait long for your entrees. Outside service was just as good as inside.

Highly recommend for great beers and good value pub food. Families are welcome so don't let having kids with you inhibit the experience. You may arrive feeling a stanger but you'll leave feeling a local

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roxanneih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amsterdam Ale House also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Amsterdam Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing