We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Neighborhood Restaurant”
Review of Porteno

Porteno
Reserve with OpenTable
Porteno is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,016 of 13,838 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Argentinean, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Restaurant”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoyed this restaurant as it was far away from the tourists and had wonderful Argentinean food. Our server was from Argentina as was a large table of diners. So, yes, it is authentic. The atmosphere is very casual and comfortable. The food was excellent. The wine list was average at best. A great change of pace when visiting NYC.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerJohn48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    43
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
westchester, ny
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We joined some friends for a nice dinner. We didn't really expect it to be exceptional. It was. It was a modern Argentine restaurant, with a very sophisticated palate. The restaurant was small, so I would definitely recommend reservations. To begin with, the service was superb. The young server, who took our order was friendly, knowledgeable about the food and ready when she was needed. There were six in our party. Everybody was happy with their food, That was six different entrees and six happy customers. The deserts were also delicious and the price was fair.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andytherav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great!!!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Simply great! I had the filet and it melted in my mouth. My husband had the rib eye and the sauce was so good!! it was all good!! The wine was paired perfectly and the dessert was AMAZING! It was a passion fruit dessert and the waitress highly recommended it. I was so thankful that she did. Relax and enjoy, this was my favorite eatery this trip to New York.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delightful Experience”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I highly recommend Porteno for authentic gourmet Argentinian cuisine. The restaurant is small, which makes for an intimate experience - may not be good for a large group. The service was excellent, and the waitress provided recommendations which were outstanding. In addition to helping us with our order, her cheerful demeanor fit in well with the hospitable atmosphere of the whole experience. From the before dinner cocktails thru dessert each course was excellent, with a variety of choices that seemed truly authentic. I would definitely try to return upon my next visit to NYC.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Passable at best... don't get what everyone else is raving about”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Meal was... passable, but certainly nothing special and the service was lacking. Both missing "the little things" that make a meal special. Salad was over dressed, when I asked for a different side dish to my pork chop (trying to do low carb) they refused anything but a side salad, they jammed a big group table right up against our own even though the restaurant was half-empty, food all lacked a bit of extra "oomph" with spice or sour notes and/or texture, dishes for my wife and I didn't come out together so we ended up eating kinda like a relay race (she had her ap, then I had mine), so on, and so on. I've had far worse dining experiences too so I take this in perspective, but there are many many better options in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Grandpuba007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porteno also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Porteno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing