We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Cheap Breakfast Diner - Typically New York!”

Johny's Luncheonette
Ranked #1,432 of 13,754 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Cheap Breakfast Diner - Typically New York!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were in New York for 5 days and being 'foodies' we tried to find the best places to eat breakfast, we tried a few of the top contenders, Clintons St Bakery, Katz Delicatessen etc but they all had ridiculous waiting times of two hours and massive walks from our hotel. We soon got tired of this and thought we would try somewhere local, so we looked on Tripadvisor what was close by and Johnys popped up so we thought, 5min walk we would give it a try. When we approached it, we were a but dubious, it looks a bit grubby and like a builders café - however looks are extremely deceiving - go in!!
We sat on the breakfast bar, probably only room for 10 people at a time and took a look at the menu - so much variety and to be honest much like the other contenders on the tops breakfast places. The tea actually resembled English tea unlike Clintons St Bakery! I had Banana pancakes and my husband had bacon, eggs, toast etc - It was amazing, cooked to perfection! I started looking around and noticed a few pictures on the wall, its run by a father (old guy now) and son (Johny) and they really make you feel very welcome. We went back every day after this, it was so refreshing to have breakfast that wasn't ridiculously expensive and over the top. 10/10

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mimseymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    86
    9
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect All American Diner”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Fantastic experience here, great food, great service and great prices. Even had free coffee re-fills.

We went to many breakfast places on this trip, but didn't find anywhere to match Johny's.

If I'm ever back in NY, this will be on my list of return visits!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great food, amazing prices and a great experience”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Went here after reading the reviews on our first morning and again on our last as nowhere else lived up to this place.

When you walk in you sit at the counter or the table at the back, if you prefer you can order takeout from the window rather than going in.

More or less every imaginable breakfast item is available and its all cooked in front of you. The portions are more than generous, service fast and very friendly and the food pretty dam good.

What made this place for us was how all the people in there are talking to each other. We got some great tips for our holiday from locals in there, which we wouldn't have got anywhere else.

If you are here on holiday and looking for places to have breakfast then this place really needs to be on the top of your list.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 21mapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best for a small diner”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Was here in early June had egg sandwiches. it was very busy, but the waitress got the orders to us quickly so we didn't miss our flight. Husband and wife working together. very nice. next time we are in NY we will definately go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Greek Wrap Is Awesome”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Greek Wrap was very good.The prices are a bargain at this establishment.The menu is somewhat overwhelming to me.Many restaurants try to have every item on a menu and make it more complicated. If they narrow down,it would help them.

Thanks Brigitte Grisanti New York Foodie

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johny's Luncheonette also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Johny's Luncheonette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing