We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”

The Leopard at des Artistes
Reserve with OpenTable
The Leopard at des Artistes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #783 of 13,559 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: Central Park West & Columbus Ave
Description: Located in the New York landmarked Hotel Des Artistes, and surrounded by the astonishing 1920s murals by Howard Chandler Christy, THE LEOPARD at des Artistes finds its roots in the area once known as “The Kingdom of the Two Sicilies” (mid 1800s) and in the culinary traditions of the regions of Campania, Basilicata, Calabria, Apulia, Sardinia, and of course Sicily, reaching a balance between dishes based on rural elements, such as pasta, vegetables, cheese, and seafood ingredients from the Costiera.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We went here with our 3kids on our last night in NYC, although our kids were the only ones in the restaurant the menu was really well suited to them and us, food was stunning, service was exceptional, atmosphere was the best we experienced in NYC.

Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    69
    17
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
199 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Classy upscale Italian, convenient to Lincoln Center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We ate here before going to the opera at Lincoln Center and loved everything about it. Less than 10 min walk from the Ctr, terrific service, excellent food and wine, in an elegant upscate setting. About $200 for 3 apps, 2 pastas, 1 entree, bottle of wine, and tip.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank tankr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
231 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I visited Leopard at Hotel des Artistes on a Saturday evening in early December with four family members and friends, two of whom are regulars there. It is located on a street that is beautifully-decorated this time of year (lots of white lights). Upon arrival, we were promptly seated at a nice table in the street level area of the restaurant (there is a bar and more seating on a slightly raised level). The restaurant is quaint and elegant at the same time, with gorgeous murals that were painted during the 1920's which were, thankfully, left intact when the restaurant changed hands a few years ago. Our servers were very knowledgeable, efficient and friendly. The food and wine was really excellent - the beet and gorgonzola salad was a standout favorite for me. The only drawback was that the acoustics were not great. For two people, I don't think it would be a problem, but for five it was a little loud. Also, it is worth mentioning that we were on a schedule due to symphony tickets and the restaurant did a great job of keeping things on schedule without making anything feel rushed. Overall, this is a great spot for a nice night out on the upper west side.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daz709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Thanksgiving Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were treated with class at the great restaurant. The food was great and the service was superior. That day's menu featured traditional Thanksgiving items to great classic Italian food. I felt like a local while there as there were many locals enjoying Thanksgiving also. The murals were very interesting as the locals.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reynolds3701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Food was excellent. Three of us had the Bucatini, Paparadelli with rabbit, and Gnocci with walnuts plus two bottles of wine for $300. As an Italian I can attest to the superiority of the meal.
Plus knowing the history behind the beautiful murals adds to the charm and pleasure of the place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Albert J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Leopard at des Artistes also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Leopard at des Artistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing