We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

The Leopard at des Artistes
Reserve with OpenTable
The Leopard at des Artistes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #800 of 13,743 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $100
Cuisines: Italian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: Central Park West & Columbus Ave
Description: Located in the New York landmarked Hotel Des Artistes, and surrounded by the astonishing 1920s murals by Howard Chandler Christy, THE LEOPARD at des Artistes finds its roots in the area once known as “The Kingdom of the Two Sicilies” (mid 1800s) and in the culinary traditions of the regions of Campania, Basilicata, Calabria, Apulia, Sardinia, and of course Sicily, reaching a balance between dishes based on rural elements, such as pasta, vegetables, cheese, and seafood ingredients from the Costiera.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I visited Leopard at Hotel des Artistes on a Saturday evening in early December with four family members and friends, two of whom are regulars there. It is located on a street that is beautifully-decorated this time of year (lots of white lights). Upon arrival, we were promptly seated at a nice table in the street level area of the restaurant (there is a bar and more seating on a slightly raised level). The restaurant is quaint and elegant at the same time, with gorgeous murals that were painted during the 1920's which were, thankfully, left intact when the restaurant changed hands a few years ago. Our servers were very knowledgeable, efficient and friendly. The food and wine was really excellent - the beet and gorgonzola salad was a standout favorite for me. The only drawback was that the acoustics were not great. For two people, I don't think it would be a problem, but for five it was a little loud. Also, it is worth mentioning that we were on a schedule due to symphony tickets and the restaurant did a great job of keeping things on schedule without making anything feel rushed. Overall, this is a great spot for a nice night out on the upper west side.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daz709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    71
    19
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Thanksgiving Dinner”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were treated with class at the great restaurant. The food was great and the service was superior. That day's menu featured traditional Thanksgiving items to great classic Italian food. I felt like a local while there as there were many locals enjoying Thanksgiving also. The murals were very interesting as the locals.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reynolds3701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Food was excellent. Three of us had the Bucatini, Paparadelli with rabbit, and Gnocci with walnuts plus two bottles of wine for $300. As an Italian I can attest to the superiority of the meal.
Plus knowing the history behind the beautiful murals adds to the charm and pleasure of the place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Albert J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We went here for a meal on our 10th wedding anniversary having read the reviews on trip advisor. We weren't disappointed. Food, service and ambience were great. Also we felt very reasonably priced.

Helpful?
Thank TTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
522 reviews
355 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Go for the scene, not the food”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is a nice restaurant in a lovely space...the space formerly occupied by Café des Artistes...complete with the wonderful murals (cleaned up) from the Café des Artistes days. The clientele is mostly a very affluent, older, Upper West Side crowd, including a number of fairly large and very happy groups who were here for the scene as much as the food. Reasonably casually dressed, but more canes and hearing aids than tattoos here.
The service is excellent. The wine list is excellent, if very expensive. The food is very expensive but only OK. I had the grilled octopus appetizer, which was excellent, but my thinly sliced veal main course, at $40, was extremely ordinary. The pasta special was also very ordinary. Two appetizers plus a meat and a pasta main course, plus a bottle of wine (at $105/bottle, one of the least expensive on the list), no cocktails or dessert, plus tip, came to $250. If you want better food at half the price, go to il Violino a few blocks away. If you want to rub elbows with the old-line 1% on the Upper West Side, this is the place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PrinceConsort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Leopard at des Artistes also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Leopard at des Artistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing