We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The out is simply IN”
Review of The Out NYC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Out NYC
Ranked #253 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I have stayed at the Out now at least five times and you simply cannot get all of the amazing amenities for the cost at this awesome boutique hotel. I stay in hotels across the country way too much and I can honestly say it is one of my top two favorite hotels in the US. The staff are wonderful, the rooms are spacious for Manhattan, the location is great and it is so nice having a huge gym to work out in on the road, it really helps with the guilt when you are eating out so much!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sean c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUT_NYC_Manager, General Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear Sean C,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We delighted to read your positive feedback and flattering comments concerning our service. We are proud to be your home away from home and look forward to many more visits.

Sincerely,
The OUT NYC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,380)
There are newer reviews for The Out NYC
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

569 - 575 of 1,380 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2014

All staff i encountered during my too short 1 night stay were very friendly and smiling from the moment i walked in at front desk to the maid the next morning who kindly offered to take a picture of me in the outside garden! The room was great and location couldn't be more perfect!! The only regret i had was that i had to go out of the room and go downstairs at the restaurant to get my "important" first two cups of morning coffee. Hope they add coffee machine in the rooms, that's the only thing missing. The room was clean, very nice bathroom, facing the garden was great and also quiet as i asked! Definately will go back if i can get a great deal like for that first time! Also loved my first time visit in NYC, what a great city, i wanna go back this summer!! ;+)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUT_NYC_Manager, General Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Denis P,

Thank you for your wonderful review from your recent stay with us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Most sincerely,

The OUT NYC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

I just spent 8 nights at The Out and my experience couldn't be any better. Location is great, the staff, very friendly and the hotel itself is super clean and comfortable.

I was a bit wary when I arrived after reading reviews about the noise from the club next door and, honestly, I didn't have any major issues with that. I stayed in a dorm (room 107) and yes, I could hear a little bit of noise on Friday and Saturday nights. Honestly, though, my feeling is that some people just overreact a bit. It was absolutely nothing that could disturb my sleep at all.

I strongly recommend the place and I'll definitely be back when visiting NYC again in a couple of months from now.

Room Tip: If the noise is something that worries you, ask the staff to be far from the club. But I really mean...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renatinha22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUT_NYC_Manager, General Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Renatinha22,

Thank you for your wonderful review from your recent stay with us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Most sincerely,
The OUT NYC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

My regular jaunts were booked for a last minute trip to NY so I ventured to OUT NY for a 4-night stay. Good price, nice enough rooms. No doorman to help with luggage from the curb but when I found help, it was EXCELLENT. The bellman/housekeeping/all-around-dude greeted me, got everything and showed me around. Part of the show and tell was a "pool party" without a pool even going on at on of the 3 luscious outdoor areas on the 2nd floor. 300 boys in their underwear, and we are not talking your granny's underwear or body!! I wash't in Kansas anymore.

So I got to the room and ordered room service. Too long later a great-greasy burger came up with a napkin about the size and quality of one piece of 1-ply toilet paper. No glass, no ice for my beverage and a $9 delivery charge on top of 18% gratuity and another service charge. B-fast its restaurant downstairs and room service the next day was no better, but the food was all delicious.

The real star of the the stay was the in-house masseur. A pro, a great pro -- and nice to talk to. I am still feeling the positive effect of his cupping treatment and more. I don't know that I'd come back because I really depend on room service and being able to eat. I couldn't get a bottle of drinking water at midnight… but it definitely cool if you want to be gay, and comfortable in the big city

Room Tip: Stay away from the well walked corridors unless you want the cruisey areas...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeLudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUT_NYC_Manager, General Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear MikeLudin,

We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us at THE OUT. Additionally, we are thrilled that you found our staff inviting and friendly. We pride ourselves on selecting some of the top representatives in New York. Please contact us directly to book your next reservation, we will be delighted to assist you in person. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,
The OUT NYC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I recently booked The Out simply because of its proximity (walking distance) to the Javits Center where I was attending a large charity function. The rooms are OK, although the building is like a motel with exterior corridors which frame a small "courtyard" with a hot tub. Also, there are only 3 floors to the hotel so if you prefer to stay on a high floor, you should book elsewhere.

The staff was friendly enough, however, this hotel lacks the normal services like valet, bellman, etc. I specifically called ahead to make sure they had a bellman who would assist with luggage and was told yes...but when I arrived, they did not. I probably would not stay here again because I prefer a full service hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bls213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUT_NYC_Manager, General Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Bls213,

Thank you for your review! Feedback such as yours is very important to us and we strive to provide a high standard of service to our guests at all times – We sincerely regret that you did not receive that excellent service we afford to all our guests. We hope you will choose to stay with us again soon!

Best,
The OUT NYC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My sister and I stayed her. Both found the staff to be quite helpful, and the bed and room comfortable. Really enjoyed the hot tub area (there's no pool, which I clicked on below in error). And room service delivers to it. That was a nice surprise!

On the other hand, agree with some of the other reviews--it was noisy. And I had bad jet lag so needed to get a some sleep. For that reason, not sure if I'd return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cp076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUT_NYC_Manager, General Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear cp076,

Thank you for taking the time to review The OUT NYC after your recent stay with us. Your feedback has been addressed with our department heads to improve our guests experience. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future!

Best regards,
The OUT NYC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

The disco rocks the entire hotel until 4 AM on Fridays and Saturdays. Sleepless nights for >$300 per night.... Patchy staff, some helpful with good attitude, some not. Good restaurant and bar with good value food.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUT_NYC_Manager, General Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear David S,

We are so sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied and unhappy with your stay. Of course, it is never our intention for any of our guests to leave feeling they have not experienced the best possible stay. We hope you will give us another chance and upon your return we hope to fill in the blanks where you may have found inconsistencies during your initial stay. We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Best,
The OUT NYC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#121 of 468 in New York City
1,206 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#73 of 468 in New York City
5,270 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 468 in New York City
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#76 of 468 in New York City
409 reviews
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#269 of 468 in New York City
2,538 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#268 of 468 in New York City
2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Out NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Out NYC

Address: 510 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $227 - $1,023 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Out NYC 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the "Top Trendsetter Hotels in the world" by Fodor's and "Best Hot Tubs to visit in New York City" by Thrillist, THE OUT NYC Hotel delivers a full service experience for your business or leisure travel needs. Its central location in Hell's Kitchen is an easy walk to Times Square, Highline Park, West Chelsea art galleries, and the Broadway Theater District. Upon arrival you will discover a rotating art gallery, exquisite architecture, and luscious outdoor spaces. All of our guests enjoy complimentary use of our steam room, sauna, 24-hour gym, and Wi-Fi throughout the property. Unique to New York City, THE OUT offers guests a place of Zen in our Spa Atrium, equipped with a cascading waterfall, hot tubs, cabanas and cocktail service. The minimalist design of the spacious Guest Rooms give you room to spread out, and your sleep is made extra comfortable with Egyptian cotton linens on a custom Serta mattress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Out NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing