We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Crashing" in luxury.”
Review of The Out NYC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Out NYC
Ranked #270 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Finding a place to "crash" in NYC is typically either very expensive or at a not so very nice hotel. The OUT NYC offfers shared accomodation (4 to a room) with individual storage rooms and bunked beds that provides a good priced alternative at a great location. But if coming with a friend, get a room - either way is good value for money.

Room Tip: The rooms on 2nd floor all seemed good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUT_NYC_Manager, General Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Sven L,

Thank you for your 5 star review! We appreciate your feedback for others to read when traveling on a budget. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
The OUT NYC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

647 - 653 of 1,391 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

had a fun time at the out, the food at the restaurant was very good. Staff at front desk was top notch. The rooms are nice size, modern furnished and ample room. Heater AC is a bit on the loud side but being in NY you better get used to the noise. Also the Thermostat was located right at the door frame so the reading was way off since you could feel the cold air are coming in.
Our room was a little bit dirty, the carpets where not vacuumed and with black you could see every piece of dirt on it. Also the maid did not shut the door all the way but luckily nothing was taken.
The spa and gym are fantastic after a busy day in the city, and the steam room was also a welcoming sight since it was only 27 F outside.

Room Tip: our room had a view to one of the couryards, but not sure how much that matters since you are not go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Internationalgotoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUT_NYC_Manager, General Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Internationalgotoguy,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind words concerning our spa facilities and our front office team. We want you to know your comments in regards to your room are being reviewed with our management leaders to improve guest satisfaction.

All the best,
The OUT NYC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I had 30 hours in New York between flights from JFK, and wanted to soak in as much of NY as I could...But then a decent hotel in central NY was beyond my reach - or, so I thought. After mulling and researching hotels near JFK, I eventually stumbled across this property bang on 42nd street, a walking distance from Times Square and the Penn station.

There was a catch of course- at 105 $ , I had a shared room. But then, I reasoned- I only had to sleep for the night and the rest of the time I would be sightseeing, I'm glad I took the risk of sharing a room with unknown people... But let me tell you it was an extremely pleasant experience. Very clean beds with curtains for privacy, TV with ear plugs, very clean shower room and toilets, clean towels with a locker to keep your luggage, free WI FI... My room mates was a English girl ( !), and another guy - who came in the middle of the night and just slept off ensuring that he didn't make too much noise.

They had a luggage room to keep your luggage after check out time, so you can really catch the sights...

It really was a different but memorable experience...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anecdotal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUT_NYC_Manager, General Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Anecdotal,

Thank you for your sharing your comments and for your kind feedback. Please reach out to us directly with any future bookings. Our team will gladly assist with any requests you may have for your next stay.

Sincerely,

The OUT NYC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The location is reasonably good if you want to be close to Time's Square. However, it is at least a 10 minute walk to Time's Square. My partner and I stayed here for five nights in November 2013. First the good. The finishings in the rooms are very nice. All surfaces are tastefully done with contemporary touches. The rooms come off as clean and fresh with none of the NYC grunge that so frequently comes with even expensive NYC hotels.

Now, the bad. The hotel sits above a dance club and in certain areas of the hotel, you can both feel and hear the thump of the disco beat all night. I was awoken from a dead sleep one night by the thumping and it went on until all hours of the morning. The hotel moved us to a different location within the hotel the next night and it was significantly better.

The lobby is inexpensively decorated but it's tasteful. The hallways are outdoors, as this appears to be a renovated inexpensive hotel 6 type of building. In the summer this will not be bad but in the middle of winter it's uncomfortable. The internet connection is horrible and intermittent.

The staff was all very accommodating and friendly, with the one exception of the surly waiter who works the breakfast shift in the restaurant. He was none too happy that we had breakfast coupons given to us by the hotel as gracious compensation for a problem we had. Even though we tipped him on the full check, he was consistently sour-faced and unfriendly. Again, the rest of the staff was very good. There are a few restaurants within walking distance so I'd avoid eating at the hotel if possible.

Finally, I sense that the hotel is really a party place. If that's what you're looking for, it's great. If not, you'll be unhappy. For instance, until fairly late one night the hallways / outdoor space had loud music playing that kept us up, not from the dance club downstairs but as part of what the hotel must have thought was an effort to further the party atmosphere.

If we got a great deal in the future we'd probably stay again if we couldn't find another reasonably priced hotel. Otherwise, not.

Room Tip: there is an all night diner a few blocks from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjstern2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUT_NYC_Manager, General Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Mjstern2,

Please accept our apologies for the noise disturbance you experienced during your stay. We welcome you to return, at which time we will arrange for you to be in a room located away from the nightclub. Please do not hesitate to contact our Front Desk directly for any future bookings and we will gladly help with these arrangements to ensure a comfortable and quiet stay. Thank you for your feedback. It is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,
The OUT NYC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed on a Tuesday night and had no noise problems. The service and amenities were good, only trouble can be getting a cab to go to LaGuardia during the morning rush- getting across town can be tough in traffic and not all cabbies want to do it. Price was much better than many other spots since NY gets very expensive around the holidays.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJefferyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUT_NYC_Manager, General Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear RJefferyD,

Thank you for your feedback. Our team is happy to know you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best regards,

The OUT NYC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

After a really bad experience at the Hudson Hotel where we had to cancel our nights, we booked 3 nights in this hotel urgently.
We've been well received. Explaining our situation, we've been able to do our chek-in at 10am (even if we were supposed to it at 4pm). They actually wrote us a letter saying they were sorry about our bad experience and offered us a bottle of Prosceco !
What a relief ! Nice and great size room. Well isolated !!A real and nice hotel.
The service is amazing. the bar-restaurant of the hotel (KTCHN) is good, the location is great !!
What to say, it's been a pleasure to stay here. We highly recommend it and we will probably come back next year !!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt75013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUT_NYC_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Matt75013,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to know you had an enjoyable stay with us. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly with any future reservation requests. We look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

The OUT NYC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Overall good stylish hotel just three blocks to Times Square however one can hear the club music from night club below even if hotel room is on second level. Could not sleep for two nights in a row. And for the price I paid for a king deluxe room for three nights I expected a good night's sleep each night! I did raise this to reception who did nothing to appease my situation. Reception even looked annoyed and bewildered that I raised this as an issue!!! Do not stay there if you don't want to noisy music keeping you awake all night!

Room Tip: If you really need to stay in this hotel choose a room on the top level which is third floor, and fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Luther J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUT_NYC_Manager, General Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Luther J,

We do apologize for your sleep deprivation. Please accept our apologies for the noise disturbance you experienced during your stay. We welcome you to return, at which time we will arrange for you to be in a room located away from the nightclub. Please do not hesitate to contact our Front Desk directly for any future bookings and we will gladly help with these arrangements to ensure a comfortable and quiet stay. Thank you for your feedback. It is greatly appreciated.

Best regards,
The OUT NYC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#122 of 469 in New York City
1,222 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#72 of 469 in New York City
5,350 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 469 in New York City
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Midtown West
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#290 of 469 in New York City
85 reviews
Midtown
TRYP New York City Times Square South
TRYP New York City Times Square ...
#175 of 469 in New York City
3,842 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#88 of 469 in New York City
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Out NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Out NYC

Address: 510 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $188 - $939 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Out NYC 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the "Top Trendsetter Hotels in the world" by Fodor's and "Best Hot Tubs to visit in New York City" by Thrillist, THE OUT NYC Hotel delivers a full service experience for your business or leisure travel needs. Its central location in Hell's Kitchen is an easy walk to Times Square, Highline Park, West Chelsea art galleries, and the Broadway Theater District. Upon arrival you will discover a rotating art gallery, exquisite architecture, and luscious outdoor spaces. All of our guests enjoy complimentary use of our steam room, sauna, 24-hour gym, and Wi-Fi throughout the property. Unique to New York City, THE OUT offers guests a place of Zen in our Spa Atrium, equipped with a cascading waterfall, hot tubs, cabanas and cocktail service. The minimalist design of the spacious Guest Rooms give you room to spread out, and your sleep is made extra comfortable with Egyptian cotton linens on a custom Serta mattress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Out NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing