We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well designed hotel, but noisy and a bit expensive.”
Review of The Out NYC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Out NYC
Ranked #250 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Well designed hotel, but noisy and a bit expensive.”
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

When checked in I asked for a "quiet room", the front desk clerk changed my quad room (they have theses rooms which house 4 people) to a single quiet room as requested for extra fee ($100). For the first 2 nights all was fine but on my last night was awaken with annoying repetitive knocking noise which would not stop. At 7am called front desk and complained, after about 2 hours that annoying knocking noise finally stopped.
Breakfast is expensive at the hotel, across the street you can get a hearty breakfast for 1/2 the price.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fufu Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUT_NYC_Manager, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Fufu M,

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry you experienced a knocking noise on the morning of your checkout. Our team is reviewing your comments to investigate the noise issue in hopes to improve our guest experience.

Sincerely,
The OUT NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    353
    149
    65
    74
See reviews for
64
429
296
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I'm a frequent business traveler to New York and I like to find a hotel and create a relationship - it just makes things easier. I've done this with the OUTNYC. I came upon it by chance. A friend lives in the neighborhood and while out walking on a trip to see him we found this hotel. The rooms are well appointed, the staff is friendly, professionaly and attentive and the hotel itself has a restaurant on property which always makes like a lot easier when traveling. Whether it's room service or wanting to grab breakfast before your work day KTCHN provides tasty food and dining space with ambiance.
This "straight friendly" hotel to caters to everyone however the groups I noticed most while there were groups of European families vacationing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUT_NYC_Manager, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Don P,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We delighted to read your positive feedback and flattering comments concerning our service. We are proud to be your home away from home and look forward to many more visits.

Most sincerely,

The OUT NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel has a good location and all employees are doing what they can to guests get a good stay. The breakfast is good. The decor is delicious. The spa and sauna works fine. The cleaning of our room was not top notch. And then it sends a bad signal to smoke alarms in our room was taken down.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preben N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUT_NYC_Manager, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Preben N,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and have addressed your concerns to improve guest satisfaction. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best,
The OUT NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013

It's well located to Times Square Entertainment and Hell's Kitchen Food and Fun. It's so clean, luxurious, and affordable considering the high hotel rates in Manhattan. It's a must for the young or young at heart looking for a very cool, hip, Manhattan experience!

Room Tip: If you'd like a quieter stay...request a room away from the Club...I've stayed many times an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bnorth415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUT_NYC_Manager, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Bnorth415,

Thank you for your review! Please let us know if we can can assist with any future bookings for you. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Sincerely,
The OUT NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I stayed in a quad room, had called 2x prior to stay for bottom bunk due to mobility issues. Front desk couldn't find any indication I called, but after a while found bottom bunk.
Room & roommates great, but 1st nite TV would not play audio through headphones, it would have been rude to play tv on regular audio. I mentioned this to front desk, they said they would fix it. 2nd night, it is playing audio through headphones, but no remote to change channels, front desk didn't have one and said that remotes get swiped in quadrooms, it's a constant problem.
Small complaint, but marred an excellent stay.
The hotel, spa facilities, outdoor spaces and restaurant were excellent! Front desk staff very welcoming too.
I'm an older straight woman and found the hotel to be a wonderful, welcoming oasis in the heart of NYC. Quad room set up nicely for privacy, our room was 4 strangers, a younger guy, an older guy , another woman (young) and
myself....everyone polite, but non intrusive.
Neighborhood very safe, lots of restaurants close by.
It was a great stay, I'll definitely go there next time I'm in NY

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUT_NYC_Manager, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Jeanfl,

Thank you for taking the time to review The OUT NYC after your recent stay with us. Your feedback has been addressed with our department heads to improve our guests experience. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Best regards,
The OUT NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here as our plans for our stop in a beautiful apartment in East Village fell through at the last minute. First Impressions were that the hotel is very chic and modern, rooms are very well appointed, the spa is a good place to meet people and relax but the presence of the XL club within the hotel complex can be a total pain if you actually want to sleep.

We arrived in New York after a 7 hour flight from London at about 1pm, managed to check into the hotel room around 3pm....did a little sightseeing and then returned to the hotel slightly jet-lagged and ready for bed about 11pm....."No Way" - the bass literally made the whole room bounce. Our room as we later discovered although on the 3rd floor was directly above the speakers in the XL club....so marched down to the hotel reception to be greeted with the hotel duty manager and an obviously very scripted response understanding our problem we'll move you tomorrow and you can get a 30% discount off the room for the night with free breakfast in the morning and a room change to a quieter part the next day. We accepted but it still didn't resolve our problem of not being able to sleep...the hotel's solution..free entrance into the club and drinks vouchers to keep us going to 4am when the club closed. We accepted...stayed there as long as we could and returned to the room about 3.30am waiting for the silence which cam about 5am....On reflection we should have pushed for a full refund of that night's charge as we only actually had 4 hours in bed of that nights charge....30% on reflection is an insult.

So overall a nice hotel but beware only go and stay on "XL" nights if you want to go to the club for the whole night or you are guaranteed a room away from the club. I would have given this rating 4 or 5 stars but the club volume really spoilt our first night when sleep was needed.

Room Tip: Do not stay here on XL Club NIghts unless you are guaranteed a room away from the club or you are go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEVIN_CCROXFORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUT_NYC_Manager, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Kevin_CCROXFORD,

Please accept my sincere apologies for the noise you experience during your stay. We would love to have you as a returning guest and arrange a room for you away from the nightclub. Please do not hesitate to contact the Front Desk directly for any future bookings and we will gladly help with these arrangements to ensure a comfortable and quiet stay.

Sincerely,

The OUT NYC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Do yourself a favor, always read the reviews! I did not and my husband and I had to check out of this "hotel" at 1 am due to the pounding of the nighclub below our room. They had no other rooms on "the quiet side" of the hotel, which I cant imagine even exists since the walls and furniture were shaking from the sound. How a hotel can do business this way is beyond me. And the fact that our bill for the nights stay was waved so quickly means that they must deal with turnaway all the time. Which I cant imagine is good for business. I certainly wouldnt recommend this to anyone but a club kid. No one would get a good nights sleep unless they are totally drunk. On the up side, the room was well decorated and clean and the staff while disinterested, were pleasant.

Room Tip: Do not book here if you want a romantic or restful night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#252 of 468 in New York City
2,232 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#40 of 468 in New York City
3,354 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#93 of 468 in New York City
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#68 of 468 in New York City
5,032 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#344 of 468 in New York City
17,598 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#230 of 468 in New York City
4,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Out NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Out NYC

Property: The Out NYC
Address: 510 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Out NYC 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the "Top Trendsetter Hotels in the world" by Fodor's and "Best Hot Tubs to visit in New York City" by Thrillist, THE OUT NYC Hotel delivers a full service experience for your business or leisure travel needs. Its central location in Hell's Kitchen is an easy walk to Times Square, Highline Park, West Chelsea art galleries, and the Broadway Theater District. Upon arrival you will discover a rotating art gallery, exquisite architecture, and luscious outdoor spaces. All of our guests enjoy complimentary use of our steam room, sauna, 24-hour gym, and Wi-Fi throughout the property. Unique to New York City, THE OUT offers guests a place of Zen in our Spa Atrium, equipped with a cascading waterfall, hot tubs, cabanas and cocktail service. The minimalist design of the spacious Guest Rooms give you room to spread out, and your sleep is made extra comfortable with Egyptian cotton linens on a custom Serta mattress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Out NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing