We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One visit was not enough”
Review of The Out NYC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Out NYC
Ranked #254 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My american vacation started on a high with a few nights at this hotel , i was so impressed i returned at the end of my vacation for another week. Everything about 'The Out' is appealing , the design , the furnishings , the staff , the amenities and the vibe .Location is great , walking distance to Time square / broadway , shops restaurants , the metro , the hudson .A great mix of gay and straight guests. The staff are highly professional and freindly .For those on a budget i stayed in one of the share rooms and highly recommend , if youre thinking backpackers it is the luxury version and a great way to meet other people , i highly recommend this hotel to anyone , thanks for an amazing stay !!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anthonyr1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Anthonyr1971,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to provide me with your feedback from your recent stay at THE OUT NYC! We appreciate the TA post, and it’s great to hear that you started and finished your vacation at THE OUT NYC. It’s great knowing that you found everything about THE OUT to be appealing, the design, furnishings, Team, amenities and vibe. We truly appreciate the feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort soon!

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,380)
There are newer reviews for The Out NYC
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

696 - 702 of 1,380 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed 1 night on business. Large room and bathroom by NYC standards. Very pleasant staff. Nice bar. Good location a few blocks west of Times Square. It caters to gay travelers but plenty of non-gay guests. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonrockville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear anoonrockville,

Thank you for the kind feedback! It’s great to read that you found our Team to be very pleasant, and enjoyed the bar at KTCHN. We hope to see you back at the resort soon.

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was my second trip to The Out NYC. After leaving in March, I was so taken by it that within a few weeks I had booked to return. The hotel offers effortless sophistication along side is unique and stylish design - seen all around the hotel but specifically in the urban garden which makes a fantastic place to relax after a busy day/night out in the city. The spa is also a little oasis considering you are only 3 blocks from the tourist trap of Time's square.
All this is only surmounted by the staff who are polite, caring, accommodating and a real joy to interact with.
I would recommend this hotel to any solo traveller or couple who wish to have a unique stay in an unforgettably modern boutique hotel whilst being in the centre of the greatest city in the world.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side have views of the NYC skyline
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 799SamB799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear 799SamB799,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to provide me with your feedback from your recent stay at THE OUT NYC! We love to read reviews like yours and I will be sharing your comments with the Team! Feedback like yours is what we strive for and we can’t wait to welcome you back to the resort.

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The entrance was a small in between bar & restaurant. But inside was more comfortable and quiet. I like the whole concept of the hotel. The staffs were very friendly. Its close to everything. Generally, nice place to stay. PS: If I had enough time to stay, I'd love to try the spa & pool.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baigalmaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Baigalmaa,

We appreciate the feedback from your recent stay at THE OUT NYC. It’s great to hear that you found the resort to be comfortable, quiet and found our Team to be friendly. We hope during your next stay you’ll be able to take advantage of the many amenities (Spa, Hot Tubs, Xl and KTCHN) we have to offer.

Sincerley,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Out NYC was a great choice for my three night stay in NYC. The location is slightly removed from the crowded midtown hub bub and it was always nice to return to the hotel at the end of a day in the city.

My room was a very nice size for NYC, pleasant staff. I loved the common areas, bamboo garden, spa atrium etc.

Give it a try!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second or third floor towards the front of the building. This gets you away fro...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Ron H,

Thank you for the TA post! We’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to take advantage of our courtyards and spa area. We hope each stay is better than the last and we can’t wait to welcome you back soon.

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Do not stay here. The customer service is horrible. The room you book and confirm, will not be available. They will make an offer of another room, then move you out. Never did we get the room we booked. housekeeping will knock on your dooor until you get up and tell them your still sleeping. Services offered are not available. Do not ask about coffee in the morning, you will be told off. You will be stuck in elevator. They will lose your luggage. STAY AWAY FROM HERE.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeboraCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear DeboraCanada,

I would like to take a moment to sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences experienced during your recent stay at THE OUT NYC. I apologize for us not having the correct room type for you during your stay; however it was nice to hear that we were able to accommodate you with a complimentary upgrade. I will personally follow up with the team to address how we missed the mark during your stay and to ensure future travelers do not have the same experience. I know that sincere words of regret and apology cannot make up for a disappointing visit; however we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

First impressions of The Out are that it can't be a hotel, the reception area looks like the entrance to an art gallery (which was there as well)
We arrived about 8pm and the evening receptionist was great she advised that our room had patch wi-if but was quiet and that if we wanted we could move to a different room the next day.
The room was great, a food size, well appointed and very clean. The full wall mirrors in the shower and behind the bed were a bit disconcerting!
Two great outside areas with seating and bar service made you forget you were in a city and only minutes from Times Square.
Everyone was really friendly, and it lived up to its marketing as Straight-friendly, indeed it seemed that all sorts of couples/groups were staying there.
We felt very 'under-dressed' at times as there did seem to be a lot of business travellers staying and there was limited info in rooms about NY but these were small issues.
After some initial reservations I have to say that this was one of the best hotels I have stayed in and will definitely recommend to friends and hopefully come back again!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the nightclub as these apparently are noisy we were at the front of the hotel a...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Anne C,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback from your recent stay at THE OUT NYC! We truly appreciate the TA post and it’s great to hear you enjoyed the comfort of our room and many amenities we have to offer. We love reading that THE OUT was one of the best hotels you've stayed in and will be recommending to friends. We hope each stay is better than the last, and to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#121 of 468 in New York City
1,206 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#75 of 468 in New York City
5,278 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 468 in New York City
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#80 of 468 in New York City
411 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#248 of 468 in New York City
2,314 reviews
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#268 of 468 in New York City
2,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Out NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Out NYC

Address: 510 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $223 - $1,018 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Out NYC 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the "Top Trendsetter Hotels in the world" by Fodor's and "Best Hot Tubs to visit in New York City" by Thrillist, THE OUT NYC Hotel delivers a full service experience for your business or leisure travel needs. Its central location in Hell's Kitchen is an easy walk to Times Square, Highline Park, West Chelsea art galleries, and the Broadway Theater District. Upon arrival you will discover a rotating art gallery, exquisite architecture, and luscious outdoor spaces. All of our guests enjoy complimentary use of our steam room, sauna, 24-hour gym, and Wi-Fi throughout the property. Unique to New York City, THE OUT offers guests a place of Zen in our Spa Atrium, equipped with a cascading waterfall, hot tubs, cabanas and cocktail service. The minimalist design of the spacious Guest Rooms give you room to spread out, and your sleep is made extra comfortable with Egyptian cotton linens on a custom Serta mattress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, TravelClick and getaroom.com so you can book your The Out NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing