We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy and modern”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Out NYC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Out NYC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Classy and modern”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel located in one of the newest (by newest I mean, remodeled) areas of Manhattan. It is beautifully decorated and the rooms are very modern.
The restaurant is also brand new and the menu includes plenty of choices.
The nightclub is great, I was able to enjoy the cabaret show and I literally LMAO with the performers.
Only one thing that bothered me, the drinks are way way way too expensive. Maybe I am not use to pay that much for ice on vodka being that I am from Florida. $14 per drink.
Other than that I enjoyed it. Oh and by the way, super hot men working there.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilitaryNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear MilitaryNurse,

Thank you so much for your review of THE OUT NYC! It’s great to hear that you were able catch one of our amazing cabaret shows! The performances are some of the best the city has to offer.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    331
    147
    64
    73
See reviews for
61
415
287
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We are 'return offenders' (Haha) to this great Resort - we were here exactly a year ago upon finding this place by sheer accident, and couldn't wait to return! Everything is still the same (if not better, actually. The staff are just WONDERFUL and go well beyond 'the call of duty' to help any and everyone, especially us, as I am in a wheelchair, and they truly go out of their way to support and help us in every possible way. We got an even better room than last time (if that is possible) which was very spacious so that we could easily spread out.
Our thanks to everyone here, but SPECIAL loving THANKS has to go to Crystal and Steve for their continued helpfulness and care, hence making our stay THE BEST..... you guys are just AWESOME and even 'thanks' does not fully merit what you all do. x0x0x

Room Tip: To be honest all rooms are great, but I guess the North side (which we were on, this time) has to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariettaMcM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear MariettaMcM,

It was a pleasure meeting you, during you recent stay at THE OUT NYC! I will be sure to pass on your TA post, especially to Steve and Chrystal. It’s great to hear that their helpfulness and care made your last stay the best! We can’t wait to welcome you back soon!

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

The staff was fun and made us feel at home. The facility is clean and modern. Some of the times of events at the hotel changed and one was canceled. The food was good and I liked that the hotel worked with Select Art Fair. Since my job deals with art it is nice to see a hotel collaborate with artists in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Anthony D,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us and hope you will join us again in the future!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Very nice hotel, great location. Staff was warm, attentive and the rooms were well appointed and very clean. Brian at the front desk was exceptional. The restaurant KTCHN was very nice and really hit the spot after the night in the city. I will most definitely recommend the Out and return for a future stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbradleyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear dbradleyny,

Thank you for the review! We appreciate the feedback and it’s great to hear you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms, KTCHN Restaurant, THE OUT Team and the resorts location. I will pass your comments along to Bryan, and we all hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My girlfriends and I have just returned from a 10 day stay at The Out. Firstly, lets talk staff. They were all fabulous (and it must be said, gorgeous) boys, but a special mention to our delightful Calvin, who could not have been more helpful. We were so impressed, we tried to smuggle him home in our suitcase. The hotel itself is funky, modern, and well located. We were within a safe 5 minute walk to Times Square, Subways and Restaurant Row. My Deluxe King Room was large, had a divinely comfortable bed, and well sized bathroom with a double shower. And just for something different, it also had a window in the ceiling, which was awesome. I was located on the 3rd floor, and it was whisper quiet - didn't hear a sound from traffic or other guests. The Out has several communal areas, whereby you can enjoy a spa, a quiet read or just hang with your friends. We were made to feel like we had become part of The Out family, and we loved every second of our stay. Go,stay, and enjoy.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 3rd floor, away from the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Kerri H,

It’s great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay! I will defiantly share your review with Calvin and give him the kudos he deserves. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

When we arrived, we immediately welcomed by staff who helped us check in and then took our bags to the room. The restaurant was really good and had some innovative dishes. We ate dinner one night and then had brunch on Sunday morning. They had a build your own Bloody Mary. The housekeeping was great--we like to sleep late and it was no problem, our room was always clean when we returned after an afternoon out. We very impressed with how the staff seemed genuinely interested in how our stay was going, even the security people. We would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFTravel45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear SFTravel45,

Thank you for the kind words! It’s great to hear that you had such and enjoyable stay and that you would not hesitate to stay with us again. We can’t wait to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for 9 nights and couldn't be happier with everything. The hotel is situated 8-10minutes walk from Times Square and Port Authority Bus Terminal and Subway which was excellent. Service was excellent especially Karen from Front Desk who was very helpful. You could feel the vibration in my room and Karen offered to room move the next day but since it was a hassle to pack everything, I declined as it didn't really bothered me as I got used to it. Spa area was cool with a steam room and sauna as well. Can be cruisy at times! ;-) The area was also relatively safe and you can walk around even late at night. I totally fell in love with Manhattan and the next time I'm visiting, there's no doubt The Out will be my first choice! Make sure you book early to get good rates!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duffster2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Manager at The Out NYC, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Duffster2013,

Thank you so much for the review of your recent stay of THE OUT NYC. We appreciate the feedback and I will be sharing your comments with THE OUT Team and giving Karen the kudos she deserves. It’s great to hear that you were able to take full advantage of the resort, and I do apologize for the vibrations from XL. We are currently working on the noise issues, and it’s great to hear that it did not impact your stay too much. We can’t wait to welcome you back to the resort soon.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#343 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,549 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,849 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,312 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#246 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#389 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Out NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Out NYC

Property: The Out NYC
Address: 510 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 163 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Out NYC 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the "Top Trendsetter Hotels in the world" by Fodor's and "Best Hot Tubs to visit in New York City" by Thrillist, THE OUT NYC Hotel delivers a full service experience for your business or leisure travel needs. Its central location in Hell's Kitchen is an easy walk to Times Square, Highline Park, West Chelsea art galleries, and the Broadway Theater District. Upon arrival you will discover a rotating art gallery, exquisite architecture, and luscious outdoor spaces. All of our guests enjoy complimentary use of our steam room, sauna, 24-hour gym, and Wi-Fi throughout the property. Unique to New York City, THE OUT offers guests a place of Zen in our Spa Atrium, equipped with a cascading waterfall, hot tubs, cabanas and cocktail service. The minimalist design of the spacious Guest Rooms give you room to spread out, and your sleep is made extra comfortable with Egyptian cotton linens on a custom Serta mattress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Out NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing