We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tacombi

Tacombi
Ranked #333 of 13,548 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Nolita
Goes, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quirky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We found this great little place by accident while biking though lower Manhatten. wonderful atmosphere and the food was really good. Service was great and they were really helpful with helping us make a choice. Really worth searching this little gem out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    140
    39
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We had a great family meal at Tacombi. A good range of meals - something for everyone, great service and very reasonable prices. Not to mention an interesting theme whihc the kids thought was great - meals cooked in a combi van!

I'll be going back again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“NYC neighbourhood gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Visiting New York with my wife, my nephew suggested Tacombi in Nolita as a great lunch stop off (needed to rest the feet also!). A comprehensive menu and the 5 of us settled mostly for a variety of Tacos (3 each, a good amount) and started with Guacamole. The food was great- tasty, honest and sensibly priced food. Was told Ceviche is also great. To drink very good juices, sangria and wine but opted for the excellent Bohemia.
The space is really interesting and food very authentic. Really not to be missed- a joy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our young adult kids discovered this place awhile back and insisted we stop in when we were in the Nolita/SOHO neighborhood even though it was in between meals. SO glad we did. The BEST fish tacos ever.
And I have been craving the CORN ESQUITES every day since we were there.
Do not go without getting at least one order of these. Toasted fresh corn off the cob served in a little paper cup with lime and chipotle mayo. I don't know how they do it but really...don't miss it.
There are 4 delicious hot sauces to choose from on every table. All yummy.
Super casual vibe. A big garage space with cement floors and a vintage VW minibus for a kitchen. Servers are super nice. Just a fun casual delicious place. Will be sure to go back next time we are in the city.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tazbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
443 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Best fish tacos on planet!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

It is a fun, casual place in a converted garage with kitschy Mexican beach decor. The atmosphere is high energy and the fish tacos (especially the crispy fish tacos) are the best I've ever had... and I am from California and have very high standards. We enjoyed the guar too. The service is efficient and friendly with plenty of people bringing water, drinks, food. Good prices too. It is one of the places I return to on my NYC visits.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacombi also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Tacombi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing