We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent surprise for the most flavored and priceless indian food!”
Review of ruchi

ruchi
Reserve with OpenTable
ruchi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,354 of 13,763 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Financial District
Cross street: Trinity Pl and Greenwich St
Transit: 120 Cedar St between Trinity Pl and Greenwich St (One block from the New World Trade Center)
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent surprise for the most flavored and priceless indian food!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were in our way to the 9/11 memorial (also recommended attraction) and then we saw this little restaurant and we thought: it is so small, it must be pricey because of the location, and look, nobody is eating there! Nevertheless, when we left the attraction we were starving so we just decided to try it and it was the best surprise ever: the waitress gave us excellent suggestions for food, the food was delicious, the decoration and environment is just perfect, and we didn't spend a lot of lot of money and got a lot of food! Definitively I would go there whenever I can, try to do it as part of the 9/11 experience, you will have food while you watch the nice new buildings behind.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank svergara0528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    76
    13
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian secret!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I was introduced to Ruchi's 3-4 years ago quite by accident an eat there at least once a week. We call in our orders, arrive 10 minutes later, are seated and served hot, delicious food.

I personally love the Goat Kharai (bit spicy), Goan Shrimp Curry (add a squeeze of lemon to enhance the taste) and the Chicken or Shrimp Byrani. The Rass Malai is a cottage cheese dessert that takes the curry taste off the mouth.

Small location, private and frequented by Indians who know genuine Indian cooking when they taste it. I am afraid they may become too popular, overcrowded and be forced to change their style which is perfect.

Love the kind and patient waiters and waitresses.

Oh, and ignore any 'negative' rating posted on the door. There is a story behind that. I was present when the 'inspector' was there and privy to what occurred. My friends, co workers and I all eat there regularly and treated the best, and always leave a big tip. Wait staff must eat too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wannabe2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Value Indian food”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

As lovers of Indian fare,my wife and I make a habit of sampling whats on offer when ever we travel
Rushi offers a well priced menu without the obligatory NY service charge. Of the three dishes we tried all were delicious and in our opinion off a high standard.Rushi,s is a small cosy restaurant with good friendly service. Recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobrob120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“50% off”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We went to ground zero and passed this cute little place. I love Indian food so went in for the 50% lunch deal. Even if you get half a portion, it is still worth it and it was way more than enough.
We asked for the recommendation and were suggested to take Lamb Vindaloo and Goat Vindaloo. Both of us enjoyed it very much.
NIce and cozy place. well recommended!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda_v_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food at a great price.”
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

I ordered soup, chicken tandoori, salad and all were very good. The chicken was a healthy portion cooked perfectly. Price in NYC was more than reasonable. I ordered for delivery so don't know about the atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ruchi also viewed

 

Been to ruchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing