We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a wow” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catch

Catch
Reserve with OpenTable
Catch is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #490 of 13,478 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: 13th Street
Transit: A,C,E at 8th Ave & 14th Street. Walk West to 13th Street & 9th Avenue.
Description: CATCH features Executive Chef Hung Huynh’s contemporary renditions of classic seafood dishes that are both sophisticated and approachable. Surprising the palette in the bright and clean complexity of each plate, this 2 floor, 275 seat restaurant offers a variety of unique dining experiences to its loyal clientele, boasting an open kitchen and communal dining tables that further compliment the restaurant’s inviting atmosphere.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not a wow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Based on what we read and expectations, our meal was good but not the level we were expecting. Our waiter seemed young and inexperienced and just not up to what we were expecting.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David4NO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    323
    105
    56
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Pretzel Bread!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great restaurant! The after-work was in effect, but it didn't take away from the ambiance of the establishment. We were seated quickly, and the food service and staff were fast, efficient, and friendly. The food is awesome; fresh fish and amazing drinks. I will definitely patronize this business in the future.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unusual restaurant, amazing food, fabulous decor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Just loved this restaurant. Cool, chic, very different to anywhere I have been before. Made our last night in New York memorable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Rush, rush”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Two of us in the party, we shared 5 small plates and 2 drinks each. After we ordered the food came in record time, one dish removed with the last bite as the next was placed in front of us. Bill was over $200.00 and we could have been in and out in 45 minutes if we hadn't slowed it down ourselves. Felt like a cafeteria. An overpriced cafeteria! Dinner should be a relaxed experience not a timed event, the waiter's focus was on turning over tables.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cgcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious best food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Wow, Catch is just fantastic. The food is simple, delicious and very good tasting. It is a mix of japanees, chinies international western kitchen, where the tast just is a very possitive surprice.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2nicetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catch also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Catch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing