We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch time :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ze Cafe - CLOSED

Ze Cafe
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Zé Café is a quaint restaurant located at 398 East 52nd St. far from the distracting hustle and bustle of the busy New York City streets. Our calm and inviting atmosphere is the perfect place for a momentary escape.Our European inspired menu is prepared from scratch in house and made with locally sourced ingredients. Our pastas are handmade and hand cut, our granola is homemade, our salmon is cured in house and much of our produce comes from Zeze's organic upstate farm. Our field-to-fork cuisine truly embodies the modern aesthetic and eco-conscious spirit.
Mazatlan, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brunch time :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful little restaurant with a great variety in the brunch menu divides by breakfast side and lunch side. Gorgeous waitresses!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jorge O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“LOVE this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Ze cafe is such a charming spot, tucked away from the crowds. We had brunch there and the food was wonderful. Service was good but not great - they kind of forgot about us after we got our food, but I would still go back. Wonderful cappuccinos and mimosas, excellent food, beautiful flower arrangements throughout the cafe - reminded me of being in Europe.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chs_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Midtown East Favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Ze has a small menu that is updated regularly and the food is absolutely fabulous. I highly recommend the duck. It was always excellent, but now with the new French chef, it's even better. The portions are just the right size (European style) so if you are more hungry, then have an appetizer or a dessert.

There's always something for everyone no matter what your preference. Without a doubt, this restaurant should be on your list of places to enjoy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful French cafe is a hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

After a long night of drinking and mini-corndogs, we wanted a great 'foodie' brunch before hitting the road. Ze Cafe - a funky, upscale but unpretentious French bistro - was exactly the hidden gem we were looking for.

The food was outstanding. The eggs benedict were perfectly cooked, with great Hollandaise. The 'vol au vant oueffs aux saumon' was terrific - a puff pastry shell filled with scrambled eggs in a creamy vol-au-vont, topped with high-quality smoked salmon. The mixed greens on the plates were nicely dressed and very fresh. The parfait of Greek yogurt, granola and fresh berries was a hit. The side orders of roasted potatoes were a hit as well: creamy on the inside and slightly crispy on the outside, with minced chives and lemon zest boosting the flavor. The Bloody Marys were spicy and quite good, though some horseradish would have improved it. The coffees were hand-crafted, strong and delicious.

Service was quite good, and they gladly accommodated our unannounced late arrival.

My only complaint is that the portions were a little small. Not tiny or precocious, just a bit smaller than some brunch spots. The prices are in line with a nice restaurant (i.e. don't expect diner prices) - not cheap but not outrageous.

Understated Parisian bistro sums up the decor: pale, exposed brick and subway tiles. The center display has a huge bouquet of fresh flowers and fresh pastries, right under a small skylight which bathes it - and much of the cafe - in natural light. There aren't many tables, so it feels a bit crowded, but not overly so. The outdoor benches made the brief wait quite pleasant.

The location is excellent, right off First Ave on a quiet side street. From the outside, it looks like a tiny chalet in a multi-story block, though it was mostly hidden by scaffolding when we were there.

Alas, we live in Boston and don't get to NYC often or we'd be regulars!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wonderllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food - wish I had more time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I had a really quick lunch here before my hair appointment. The staff were so accomodating when I told them I was in a rush. I had a salad - but the other hot meals looked amazzzzing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 495BettyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ze Cafe also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing