We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Heart of Harlem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heart of Harlem
Ranked #4 of 77 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Great location in NY, easy to get to subway and from there major stations and airports. Very, very friendly and helpful family team, who really made our stay very special. We'd definately go again an dhope to do so soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    34
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
80
62
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

It Was my first time in NY and I really enjoy the holidays. Tressi make them easy. We felt like her house was also ours! Really nice, spectacular and beautiful house! Good Breakfast, situation and perkect host!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azores- S.Miguel - Flores
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed 4 nights with my sister in this wonderful old warm stylish house. When returning to New York I feel we have a home to return to. We have visited New York before staying at hotels more to the centre of the city however, this time we found the real Soul of New York in this safe and most welcoming of places. Breakfast was good varied and plentiful with Tressi a host in a million ready to help any time we needed. Our stay in Harlem was a fantastic start to our holiday in America glad to have found this unique place full of charm and character. I have no doubts in recommending a stay in this place if you are interested in trying something different. A real experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FatimaAzores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Deutschland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This B & B is absolutely fantastic. Large, stylishly rooms. The owners are more than friendly and they always have a tip for "what to do" on hand. The breakfast includes everything you need for a start into the day (coffee, tea, toast, jam, cheese, fruits, yogurt, pancakes, eggs, juice etc.). Its a 5 min. foot way to the subway and a 10 min ride to Time Square. The Harlem area is secure and a large supermarket is near by. I absolutely can recommend this B & B and if I ever come back to NCY, I will definitely stay in the Heart of Harlem

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muffingott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed at the Heart of Harlem guest house for two nights with my two brothers and our mother this September and... wow! The traditional 19th century townhouse has been lovingly and painstakingly refurbished and decorated. Our room was a good size, especially our bathroom which, like everything else, was beautifully decorated. Breakfast isn't *too* early either

But as great as the house was the real highlight was the owner, Tressi (we never met husband Dwight). She makes you feel at home from the moment you arrive and is helpful with any queries throughout the stay. We really couldn't have asked for a more comfortable stay!

Oh, and it's very reasonably priced!

Room Tip: Four grown-ups go very comfortably in the biggest room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErlendPalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We loved this place - oozing history, all wood panelling, parquet floors and original features, beautifully restored. Tressi is a great host, nothing is too much trouble, and great stories about the history of the house. An absolute bargain for Manhattan. If you are looking for somewhere brimming with character and a bit different, I would highly recommend Heart of Harlem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Heart of Harlem was a terrific budget B & B that is run by a wonderful, warm and informative couple , Tressi and Dwight.It is a gorgeous, renovated Brownstone that has had all the beautiful charm left in it. Our room, the Grace, was a large room with it's own ensuite including a claw foot tub.The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioned room was large with plenty of space and a sitting area. There was always something available to eat,fresh fruit, bread, yogurt, juices and cereals as we often left very early in the morning before breakfast. The subway was within a 5 minute walk to get to any tourist sites. Coming home, we often took the bus to enjoy the sites coming up Madison Ave.Tressi was very helpful with suggestions on how to get around town also, any questions, you just ring their doorbell. I definitely would recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: The Grace and Serenity Rooms are large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momo294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Harlem
Aloft Harlem
Aloft Harlem
#232 of 466 in New York City
705 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#58 of 466 in New York City
3,511 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 466 in New York City
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#224 of 466 in New York City
4,851 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#126 of 466 in New York City
2,367 reviews
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#3 of 77 in New York City
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heart of Harlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart of Harlem

Property: Heart of Harlem
Address: number 74, West 120th Street, Harlem, New York City, NY
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing