We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anytime again!!!!”
Review of Heart of Harlem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heart of Harlem
Ranked #5 of 78 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This B & B is absolutely fantastic. Large, stylishly rooms. The owners are more than friendly and they always have a tip for "what to do" on hand. The breakfast includes everything you need for a start into the day (coffee, tea, toast, jam, cheese, fruits, yogurt, pancakes, eggs, juice etc.). Its a 5 min. foot way to the subway and a 10 min ride to Time Square. The Harlem area is secure and a large supermarket is near by. I absolutely can recommend this B & B and if I ever come back to NCY, I will definitely stay in the Heart of Harlem

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank muffingott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 187 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed at the Heart of Harlem guest house for two nights with my two brothers and our mother this September and... wow! The traditional 19th century townhouse has been lovingly and painstakingly refurbished and decorated. Our room was a good size, especially our bathroom which, like everything else, was beautifully decorated. Breakfast isn't *too* early either

But as great as the house was the real highlight was the owner, Tressi (we never met husband Dwight). She makes you feel at home from the moment you arrive and is helpful with any queries throughout the stay. We really couldn't have asked for a more comfortable stay!

Oh, and it's very reasonably priced!

Room Tip: Four grown-ups go very comfortably in the biggest room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErlendPalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We loved this place - oozing history, all wood panelling, parquet floors and original features, beautifully restored. Tressi is a great host, nothing is too much trouble, and great stories about the history of the house. An absolute bargain for Manhattan. If you are looking for somewhere brimming with character and a bit different, I would highly recommend Heart of Harlem.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginger072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Heart of Harlem was a terrific budget B & B that is run by a wonderful, warm and informative couple , Tressi and Dwight.It is a gorgeous, renovated Brownstone that has had all the beautiful charm left in it. Our room, the Grace, was a large room with it's own ensuite including a claw foot tub.The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioned room was large with plenty of space and a sitting area. There was always something available to eat,fresh fruit, bread, yogurt, juices and cereals as we often left very early in the morning before breakfast. The subway was within a 5 minute walk to get to any tourist sites. Coming home, we often took the bus to enjoy the sites coming up Madison Ave.Tressi was very helpful with suggestions on how to get around town also, any questions, you just ring their doorbell. I definitely would recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: The Grace and Serenity Rooms are large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank momo294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here on our first ever trip to NYC 6-10 June 2013. We had a huge downstairs room in this beautiful old house. Tressi looked after us very well. Her breakfasts are amazing. Conveniently located for subway and shops/deli/restaurants.
Bed was very comfortable. Shower over bath was adequate. Nice touch of radio/cd player in the bathroom. Room had aircon but we only needed to use it once for a short while. It worked well.
Only disappointment was wifi - we had a weak signal on one of the days we were there and it wasn't working at all the other three days. It was really important to us as we were hoping to plan out our sightseeing and subways and the rest of our USA trip etc. also to keep in touch with family at home. We were really relying on it and would not have booked a place that didn't have wifi - it's THAT important!
Apart from that I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here April 10-14. We went to NY for the Eric Clapton crossroads festival. The Heart of Harlem is very close to the subway. We landed in Laguardia and bought a metro card (29.00) and then hopped on the m-60 bus which dropped us off only a few minutes walk to the Heart of Harlem. Tressi greeted us at 1:00 IN THE MORNING WITH A HUGE SMILE. I felt so bad. We felt at home, breakast each day ready for you, fresh oj,yogurt, bagels, pancakes,sausage and more. I cannot tell you how much this meant to us. We just got home and we are ready to go back. Next time we will take our children. I felt safe the entire time we were in NY. There are police EVERYWHERE. Haha, We would know we asked them for directions ALL the time. This bed and breakfast is beautiful, the hosts are gracious. We could not have wished for more. Amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mommyofseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

When we arrived at the Heart of Harlem we were met by Tressi who was extremely friendly and very helpful. She talked to us for about 15 minutes about local places to eat and how to get in and out of the building. There was also an information booklet in our room. The room was toasty warm and was on the top floor at the front of the building. Our room was quiet and was very tidy and nicely decorated. It felt like a home away from home. The only two drawbacks that I can think of was that the shower had curtains all around it which could get stuck to your skin and we weren’t used to a handheld showerhead and secondly we found it hard to get in contact with them to say we were coming in a couple of hours time. But these things were very minor!

Breakfast was delicious each morning served on the main floor where you could mingle with other guests. It was a hot bun with ham or turkey, cheese and egg, bagels with cream cheese and then either pastries or muffins. Great way to start the day. The location was good and the room was great for what you paid. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#414 of 470 in New York City
555 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#4 of 78 in New York City
616 reviews
Nolita
The Bowery House
The Bowery House
#30 of 78 in New York City
590 reviews
Chelsea
Colonial House Inn
Colonial House Inn
#6 of 78 in New York City
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heart of Harlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart of Harlem

Address: number 74, West 120th Street, Harlem, New York City, NY
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: $263 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing