We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Trendy decor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W New York - Times Square
Ranked #259 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
djstew
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved the Trendy decor”
Reviewed August 5, 2007

This is an amazing and stylish hotel, really trendy with great staff and the room was very comfortable. The view over the Hudson river was breathtaking. It is so well situated for everything and we had a great stay. The only down point was that when we got home we found that we had a very large amount charged to our credit card after we had left the hotel and setlled the bill which was outrageous so this slightly dampened the euphoria of our stay. We got it all back but it was a bit tedious having to fight our corner to get it back. A bit of a disgrace on the part of the hotel and we know that this happened to the 2 other couples we were with as well so they need to sort this out. However other than keeping a close eye on charges I would thoroughly recommend this stunning hotel.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank djstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,792
    1,288
    588
    301
    174
See reviews for
844
1,311
224
866
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (943)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2007

This hotel is located ideally in the center of Times Square.

The only problem with being so centrally located is getting to it by car. Once we got to the hotel, traffic diversions caused my wife and I to travel in circles for about 30 minutes until finally landing in the hotel's very tight driveway. I would suggest leaving the car at the airport and having a taxi or subway take you there. Besides... NYC is a great city to enjoy on foot, especially when your hotel is located near everything.

You must proceed to a higher floor to check in. The lobby is adjacent to a super cool dance club/martini bar with music blasting deep bass notes that cause your body to magically start swaying from side to side. The clientelle of the club look to be straight off of a runway fashion show. I must admit my wife and I were a little intimidated by them, but secretly we could not stop staring at the beautiful people surrounding us.

The rooms are like many we have seen at the W hotels, only slightly smaller. The contemporary furnishings are surprisingly comfortable, and the ultra modern bathroom fixtures are a lot of fun to figure out. The bed in particular was "heavenly" as described by the bellman who took us to our room.

The staff of the hotel are very knowledable and less snooty than some we have experienced in NYC. They seem to genuinely care whether the customers are enjoying their stay and they time in NYC.

We have stayed at hotels that provided much more in the way of amenities, but the W is what it is. A hip, modern, hotel. If you are into this style, then give it a try.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of amenities
  • Stayed October 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GoodTexN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quickborn, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2007

The W Hotel at the Times Square is directly located on Broadway and 47th Street at the heart of the Times Square. As described already in other reviews, the hotel is very stylish, with the reception and lobby on the 7th floor. The regular rooms are going to the 33rd floor, above you have the upgraded rooms with very stylish names. The hotels interior is mainly styled in black, with the exception of the entry on the ground floor (water fall above your head) and the lobby on the 7th floor. I got an upgrade and styed for two nights on the 35th floor. The rooms are spacious with a king size bed, a large office desk and toilette/bath room. Thw room had two huge mirrors, a FlatTV and a nice shower behind a glas front. The rooms pretend to be very stylish, but made on relatively cheap materials from my judgement. Internet is not for free, breakfast I have not tried. The hotel owned restaurant 'Blue Fin' serves good fish food and was over-booked. Overall, a good hotel, but with 330 Dollar for a night not necessary cheap.

For a more typical hotel experience, better try the Crowne Plaza, one block away and proper hotel feeling.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank marcstrauch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2007

Extremely disappointed with my stay at the W Hotel Times Square. Bit of an understatement, actually. I was apalled by the hotel and the attitude of the staff.

During my stay at the hotel, employees of the hotel came in, had sexual intercourse, and left a used condom in my room while I was out. I found the used condom. Hotel staff responded by trying to tell me it wasn't a big deal, and person at the front desk thought it was hilarious. I spoke with the Hotel manager, Ana MacDiarmid. Although they know the people that came into the room having done an electronic lock inquiry, they have not taken any disciplinary actions on the employees. They offered me 2 free nights as an "apology".

Needless to say, their apology and their behavior leaves a lot to be desired. I've also filed this with the Better Business Bureau and the New York Department of Consumer Affairs. I am debating whether to file with the New York Department of Human and Health Services.

I would avoid this hotel for any kind of stay.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Attitude and behavior of staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank businesstraveler36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2007

After reading the reviews I was a little uncertain if I had boked the right hotel for us. But upon arrival I could not have been more pleased. The customer service is exceptional. The location in times square, broadway and subway was great. And our room was well maintaned,
with a fantastic view. And yes the halls and elevator are dark, there are young(30ish). people everywhere and the lobby fills with them but not so much that it was ever a problem. we are in our 50s and never felt out of place. I would definitly stay there again.

  • Liked — soft bed
  • Disliked — dark elevator
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gatito22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2007

Very unhappy-Hotel Location, Valet Service, Lobby, Desk great!!! Elevator and Halls dark, so dark you can't even see the elevator buttons.Entering room, you think maybe you are in an IKEA store. Bathroom is dirty/Accumulated dust on every baseboard/rack/Shower Mildewed/No exhaust fan-and enclosure is such that you can see shadow of every movement of those occupying the bathroom!! No hooks in bathroom, shelves are dirty/rusty and you don't want to put your clothes on them. Room is also very dark..very little "good" lighting, if it had been raining I cant imagine how dark it would have been..maybe this is on purpose to not notice the rooms are not clean.
Room service tray left in hall of neighbor from 9PM Friday night until at least 11AM Saturday (when we left)-did not smell good.
My last stay at any "W".

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank NJfoxred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2007

The Spectacular room, which we had booked ( above 32nd floor), wasn't ready at 3:45, so we took a room on the 21st floor. The room was nice, and we got a thirty dollar discount for taking it.

The big problem is that the walls are paper thin. Our neighbors got in while we were taking a nap. We heard, very clearly, that they were planning to attend a show at the Majestic Theater. After that, we heard them making love. None of this was loud. It was all in regular voices - just things I would prefer kept private. I'm sure they would have , too.

I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Liked — Products - shampoo, soap, etc. - Bliss
  • Disliked — No privacy.
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nu1ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#179 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#180 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#315 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#182 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,129 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,748 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Times Square

Property: W New York - Times Square
Address: 1567 Broadway at 47th St, New York City, NY 10036-1517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Green Hotel in New York City
#153 Business Hotel in New York City
#170 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#219 Family Hotel in New York City
#222 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York - Times Square is located in the heart of Times Square & the theater district, with museums a few blocks north and sultry downtown just a quick subway ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your W New York - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Times Square Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel Times Square
w Hotel Nyc
w Hotel New York City
w Times Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing