We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of W New York - Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
W New York - Times Square
Ranked #269 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
milton, ma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2006

Our stay at the W Time Square was wonderful! We are four women ages range from 27-45. We all loved it!. The staff knows how to treat each and everyone of their customers like VIP's. I couldn't get over how attentive they were to our needs. We were on the 19th floor and were very happy with our room. Hotel is very close to Brooks Atkinson Theatre. Club Whiskey was great...talk to James and get into the vip section where dancing is lots of fun! I am a hotel snob and have stay frequently at Bellagio and Venetian in Las Vegas as well as Paris and Cannes Chic hotels. This is a FUN hotel! I am already planning my next trip...starbucks is directly across the street.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karendew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,757
    1,263
    574
    298
    170
See reviews for
819
1,291
219
846
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (928)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2006

Im not going to create a long winded review but i'll touch on some important issues with my stay on 2/19/06. First - the guest rooms are very small - as is typical in NYC - they are decorated in dark gray colors and the furnishings have a very cheap - IKEA feel. My sheets and duvet cover had rips/holes in them. Blue Fin was a great place to eat with very good food - athmosphere was great - modern with excellent lighting. Late in the evening we went to the club downstairs - THE WHISKEY. We had been there earlier at around 5pm just to go in and check it out. As soon as we walked down the stairs there was an overwhelming smell of TOILET BOWL in the place. It smelled like the bathroom at the port authority - it was bad - we were going to have a drink but we told the bartender about it and just let - it was BAD. Later that night we returned, curious to check it out and see if they did something about the doo-doo smell - and they did - it was fine. BUT ....Let me just tell you that the crowd was HORRIBLE - i couldnt believe the quality of people in this place - it was like all the misfits who couldnt get beyond the ropes at the better clubs. Maybe it was a slow night and the bouncers at the door by the street were ushering in whomever they could find walking by with a "no cover charge" deal just to fill the place up- i dont know - but when we got there were had just come from eating dinner at SPICE MARKET - (great place by the way - very chic and trendy) and were at the club across the street "ONE" (another great place) - no one at the whiskey was dressed well by NYC club standards - there were a lot of un-cool - very un-hip chubbies on the floor - one woman was wearing nike sneakers with MOM JEANS - ....there were some thuggish looking guys dancing with their coats and hats still on. Its was so bizarre....it was like watching a bunch of townies from oklahoma out for a big night in "the big city" - all excited to finally be at a GEN-U-WINE CLUHHBBB! - HORRIBLE AND NOT COOL! i swear i wish i took pics to post in this review - wouldve been funny to show these people....if you ever go there, watch out for the ass smell - lol! dont say i didnt warn you!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BdavisB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2006

Giselle Bavaro. That is the only name you need to know if you're thinking of having a function and staying at the W Times square. Giselle is the area manager for the W and my wife and I recently had our wedding there. We planned it for a year from the other side of the world and Giselle made it run like clock work. All the hotel staff from the doormen, the conceirge, check in, wedding staff...the nicest hotel staff I have ever come across.
Forget these reviews about 'dark hallways' and 'disappointing rooms'. The hotel is in the centre of the universe and what a vibe. Get a suite and I promise you won't be disappointed.
I cannot thank the W and Giselle enough for making the weekend stay as memorable as it was. It's 2 months later and they're still sending us gifts overseas! Their service extends beyond what you'd expect and that's what makes the W experience one of the best.

Stay at this hotel.

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank BreadandButter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2006

I always stay at St-Regis or W's whenever possible, and after reading some of the reviews in here I was a little concerned before I left for a 5 day business trip on which I brought my family with me (kids are 7 and 5). Our experience was great in every way. This hotel is trendy, very hip - if that's not for you don't come here. But I absolutely loved it and the kids were treated extremely well by the staff. We did have a little issue with our first suite, and they didn't even bother trying to fix it - they just upgraded us in a matter of a few hours. The hotel manager actually came to talk to us directly to apologize... he didn't need to because we understood the situation but it was a nice touch.

We have already booked our next 11 days trip to NYC at this hotel in March... I would actually live here if I could :-)

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2006

Just got back and this hotel is an A+- classy excellent service and central location.

Helpful?
1 Thank BigdaddyJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2006

Have been a fan of other W Hotels. The one in Time Square is a bit cheap and disappointing. When booking would have been nice if they notified us of the planned construction that was going to start on our first day. Massage in spa was excellent... only couldn't really relax do to the hammer and chiseling 3 floors below.... not their fault. BUT the rooms very small, not impressive. The heat you turn it up a bit you boil... down a bit.... you freeze. The shower tiles were broken so after every shower you have a flood in the bathroom. Decor in rooms very dated... seemed they tried too hard, but then again so does half of NY, so once again can't fault them. One last thing, the music they play in the hallways day and night to creat atmosphere I guess... you can hear it in your rooms when you are trying to sleep. If I had to recommend a W in NY it would definitely be the one on Lex.

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
providence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2006

We stayed at the w times square dec 3. I used starwood points so the room was free. This was a very busy weekend in ny. Our room wasnt ready when we arrived about 4 pm, but we checked our bags, given free drink vouchers, and they called us on our cellphone when the room was ready. They had a nice warm beverage and cookies in the lobby. Everything about this hotel was very hip. I suppose you would either like or hate the decor, but we liked it. The room was nice, quiet , good shower and the usual great starwood beds. Service was good,informal. We dined at the Blue fin attached to the hotel and the food was very good(wine is pricey however) A .very good stay

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank noseaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#193 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#178 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,270 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#195 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#313 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,097 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#169 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,603 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Times Square

Property: W New York - Times Square
Address: 1567 Broadway at 47th St, New York City, NY 10036-1517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Green Hotel in New York City
#154 Business Hotel in New York City
#173 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#220 Family Hotel in New York City
#223 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York - Times Square is located in the heart of Times Square & the theater district, with museums a few blocks north and sultry downtown just a quick subway ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your W New York - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Times Square Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel Times Square
w Hotel Nyc
w Hotel New York City
w Times Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing