We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice hotel, good location for visiting but ver busy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W New York - Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W New York - Times Square
Ranked #272 of 479 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location for visiting but ver busy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This hotel is really right in the middle of Times Square. Good for walking to many sites and within a couple of blocks of 3 subway lines. Pretty easy to go anywhere. That being said, it's pretty crazy in Times Square! It's always noisy and later in the day and evening there are people traffic jams! Overnight you continue to hear honking and sirens. Most nights it was ok, however the last night the overnight construction was a bit much! The room was small but nice and functional. Very modern. We were in a corner room on the 34 th floor and had a view of Times Square.

The hotel lobby is not particularly grand, on the 7th floor. It's quite dark and not particularly welcoming. But then again we did not spend a lot of time there.

We let the hotel know we were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary. Everyone we met wished us a happy anniversary, we got an upgrade and they sent a bottle of wine to our room. Very nice touch!

We had dinner at the hotel restaurant - blue fin. It's reasonable and was quite good. For breakfast we went to the deli next door at the Edison hotel. It felt like a typical New York deli! Decent breakfast and reasonable price - especially for Times Square!

Next time I would go elsewhere just to visit different things and have more quiet, but definitely recommend the W if you want to be in the thick of things!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and may be more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orange-hats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Front Office Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
We are happy that you decided to celebrate your 10th wedding anniversary with us. It's great you felt the excitement of being in the heart of NYC, surrounded by the hustle and bustle of Times Square which can definitely be crazy! We look forward to welcoming you back to the W New York - Times Square in the future. Hopefully for your 11th wedding anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,670
    1,180
    536
    281
    162
See reviews for
763
1,215
208
795
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (878)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed in a fantastic suite for a couple of nights. Overall would go back, especially if booking this room class.

Pros
-Room was very large (for NY) & nicely done. There was a very convenient powder room off the living area. (Helped when I had some friends over)
-Great views (again, from this room class) of times square. I did not have a problem drawing the shades to block out one of the huge scrolling marquees, which was right across from my window. The view wasn't from that high up, but even still was nice of times square.
-Given the location, I thought the room was very quiet. Overall sleep quality was good.
-Nice bed that was very comfortable. Other items (linens in bathroom) were also of high quality.
-Service was very good. I had the hotel bring up some snacks and drinks for when friends visited, and this was very nicely laid out / put together.
-Easy to get cabs

Neutral, but noteworthy
-The check-in / welcome / living room area is on floor 2 or 3. This means you have to take an elevator up from the street, then you will have a separate set of elevators up to the rooms. Some people may find this annoying; I thought the effect was a more quiet & calm check-in space

Cons
-Hotel can be a little dark; a lot of the hallways/etc don't seem to have any access to natural light, and even in my room not much natural light made its way in

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank M30001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello and thank you for your honest and balanced feedback! We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us as we are always looking to improve your experience for future. We have since gladly shared your review with our team and we are delighted you had a great stay overall. Anything you need in future, please do not hesitate to reach out to us as we are here for you 24/7 to assist. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the heart of the Big Apple!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

I rated four stars due to the first day I was highly upset with this hotels service for what I paid for two nights. From being there until 3:30 for our room to be ready when check-in is at 3:00, and being checked into a dirty room, and the bag holders acting childish in the lobby all over each other hugging and laughing and talking amongst themselves while I'm already frustrated just trying to get our bags and go to our room, I thought I would never return! The manager Eric, and the manager at the front desk accommodated to us as best as they could after the dirty room incident. I appreciated their service, and our hotel room once we finally got into it, and I will return eventually, but I can not guarantee that I will not look into other hotels in the area first.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Heatherfarrell001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hello Heather,
Thank you for reaching out to us and our sincere apologies for any inconvenience experienced upon check in. We have gladly shared your feedback with our entire team as your honest and balanced feedback is truly appreciated as we are always looking to improve your experience with us. We also have since reviewed our procedure for future as your comfort is of course our top priority. We truly value your candor and our team is always looking to enhance your experience with us. Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience with us and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back for a true W experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yelm, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Close to the Broadway Shows, many only a couple of blocks away. The hotel is clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms on the lower floors (11th) are very noisy at night, be sure to take ear plugs. A couple of words of caution, the blackout shade doesn't do a good job of keeping out light at night and there is only one drawer to put your clothes in. That being said, the beds are wonderful with down duvets and lots of nice pillows. It's expensive, but what in NYC isn't.

Room Tip: Higher floors should have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginzo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hello Virginia - thank you for your honest and balanced feedback! We truly appreciate you taking the time to reach out and have since gladly shared your amazing comments with our entire team as they truly inspire us to continue personalizing each and every guest stay. Being in the heart of the city that never sleeps, we do also have "Call it a night" kits with eye masks and ear plugs available for your convenience in every guest room as well as via our Whatever Whenever team and anything you need during future stays, please do not hesitate to dial 0 and we will gladly ensure your every question or request is answered. Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to your home-away-from-home in the Big Apple!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Tawas, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel and all the staff is very friendly. It's our favorite place to stay in NYC. The Blue Fin Restaurant and bar downstairs has the best view of Times Square and they have great fresh Sushi. The Living Room Bar in the lobby was a great place to gather later in the evening...a great DJ and some dancing
We will for sure return.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank svolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hello!
Thank you for the awesome feedback and we have since gladly shared your review with the Living Room Bar and Blue Fin team - we are delighted you had a great visit to the heart of Times Square! Anything you need in future, please do not hesitate to reach out to us as we are here for you 24/7 to assist - after all, we are in the city that never sleeps!
Until the next time,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
Level Contributor
372 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This hotel is convenient to Time Square. In fact some rooms look right down on it and it is fantastic to see at night.
This is close to Broadway shows; close to the subway station at 42nd.
The service is good and the staff is very friendly. The décor is a bit on the modern side. For NYC the room is spacious.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking Times Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hello Dennis,
Thank you for your great feedback and we truly appreciate you taking the time to reach out to us. Being the W brand, we do indeed embody the fun and flirty vibe and your comfort is always our top priority! Thank you once again for taking the time to reach out to us and please do not hesitate to advise our team of anything you may need during future stays as we are here for you 24/7. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denair, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The stay at the W in Times Square was over the top wonderful. From check in through check out the staff was involved fully or would leave us to our vacation. The staff was always helpful and available. The location was perfect; shows were a short walk, bus or subway very close and some great restaurants nearby. We did not try the Blue Fin. The room decor was great. The beds were very comfortable and the pillows were the best. And the shower was so nice! A trip to New York’s Times Square and Broadway shows are made better by staying at the W hotel. We would recommend the W in Times Square.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
Green Features: Soft lighting, and auto off lighting in closets and in shelves. The good tasting tap water was a plus as well, avoiding another plastic bottle that would be thrown away.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hello Aaron!
Thank you for the awesome feedback and we have since gladly shared your review with the entire team. We are delighted you had a great visit to the heart of Times Square and anything you need in future, please do not hesitate to reach out to us as we are here for you 24/7 to assist - after all, we are in the city that never sleeps!
Until the next time,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#208 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,223 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#170 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,150 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#206 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#159 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 7,066 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#53 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,629 reviews
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#312 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 3,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Times Square

Property: W New York - Times Square
Address: 1567 Broadway at 47th St, New York City, NY 10036-1517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Green Hotel in New York City
#154 Business Hotel in New York City
#171 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#220 Family Hotel in New York City
#223 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York - Times Square is located in the heart of Times Square & the theater district, with museums a few blocks north and sultry downtown just a quick subway ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your W New York - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Times Square Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel Times Square
w Hotel Nyc
w Hotel New York City
w Times Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing