We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The W never fails!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of W New York - Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
W New York - Times Square
Ranked #272 of 477 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The W never fails!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

I will start by raving about the entry area by the elevators of the hotel. As soon as you walk in, you are surrounded by the sound of water all around you and it is a great escape from the hustle and bustle of times square. I can stand there and just feel so relaxed watching water all around me from the ceiling to the walls...it is truly incredible! The hotel lobby is cute, and trendy. The hotel room was great for my husband and I. Great size for NYC. The bathroom was great, didn't have any problems with the sink vessel as others have posted. The shower head was awesomeee with so many diff pressure settings to choose from. The location was great, we are not first timers to the city, but we didn't mind being in the middle of times square, everything is pretty accessible from there.

The only problem I had was the door slamming in the hotel room next to us, I'm not sure if it's due to the lack of distance from room to room, but wow it felt like the door slamming shut every time someone stepped out or in from the room next to us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ushna k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for sharing this great feedback with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed our location right in the heart of the Big Apple. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write such a complimentary review. We have since gladly shared your comments with our entire team. It was absolutely our pleasure to have you with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back with us once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,705
    1,213
    554
    290
    165
See reviews for
786
1,251
214
815
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (896)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Conveniently located in the heart of time square literally on the same block. Perfect if you want to see the city and time square mainly. Staff was good wifi was decent but had to pay for it like 13$ dollars a day or so. Room service is 24hrs which is great and it's actually good. A little over priced but the location makes up for it. Not like all other W's I've stayed at like in Miami a bit simple in the rooms but still has the W look and feel. NYC has small rooms but what can we do. Enjoyed my stay for the most part and oh did I mention the location? Was great walking right out to Time Square. Lobby was nice only thing that was annoying was taking two separate elevators to go down stairs each time.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bebomiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hi there and thank you so much for writing us such a wonderful review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially in regards to our location right in the heart of Times Square. We hope that you will return to us in the near future for another great escape. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly prior to your next visit, so that we can ensure it is just as enjoyable as the last!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

I lived in NYC for many years, so I am not a tourist. However I find myself in back in Manhattan frequently staying in luxury hotels all over the city. Times Square is a noisy, chaotic, over crowded and annoying area. I NEVER would have stayed here, if wasn't for a week long seminar 3 blocks away. The W hotel is the only high end hotel right in Times Square. I stayed in a "fantastic suite" that was surprisingly spacious. Please keep in mind that NYC hotels are notoriously small! The room was well equipped with 2 flats screen tvs, DVD players and a host of movie channels. The room was comfortable with a trendy decor. I know this hotel has a reputation of poor service but I have to say they service was excellent during my 4 night stay. I had a few small requests and they were very accommodating and efficient. Jonathan was always helpful. Unfortunately there were a few negatives. The first being the noise. The hotel was not built with sound proof windows. It was loud day and night! If you are a light sleeper you will be miserable. Constant construction, sirens and traffic noise will keep you awake. The other issue was the bathrooms. Yes they were small but hey, it's Manhattan. However, they are in dire need of a renovation. Cracked, missing and dirty grout, filthy floors, especially under the sink and in the corners. The bathrooms need scrubbing and fixing. All in all, if you have NO choice and must stay in Times Square then I would stay at the W. Otherwise I would recommend a quieter location!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JacquelineWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for reaching out regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the layout of our Fantastic Suite as well as your interactions with our talent members. We regret however, that other aspects of the stay were not up to our standards. Unfortunately, the noise in Times Square is somewhat unpredictable. While we do our best to accommodate our guests who are disturbed as a result of our location, sometimes it is not enough. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly prior to your next arrival so we can better anticipate proper accommodations. We hope to welcome you back to The W Times Square in the near future, and thank you again for taking the time to share this feedback with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Recently renovated? What a joke!
Stayed in the 'spectacular' room on the 54th floor. Nothing spectacular about it.

We asked for a room with 2 separate beds, looked like they crammed an extra bed in the room, no space at all, one bed pushed against the left wall, the other almost right next to the window on the right with a mini fridge between the two beds.

No closet space, nowhere to sit except on the bed, one chair, no sofa like it shows on the pictures, nowhere to put our suitcases...

The bathroom did not look renovated at all, no 'glass-enclosed voyeur shower and floating sinks' like they say on their website! An open shower with old discoloured floor tiles.

Went to the staff to complain and all we got was a sorry card with a bad bottle of wine and some chocolates next to it.... No service at all!

When we arrived there was no one outside to help us with our luggage, same as when we left, asked to send someone up to get our luggage but no one showed up...

I do not recommend this hotel and I won't be staying there again next time!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mavan_0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
I'm sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect stay and that you did not enjoy the wine and chocolates. I will pass along your feedback to the proper teams so that these issues can be addressed. I hope that you will consider one of our sister properties in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed here with family in June. The staff was great, from the person taking your car on ground level (the lobby is on the 7th floor) to the team at the desk, room service, etc. These guys know how to make things happen quickly, but never make you feel rushed. The hotel caters to more singles than families (just an observation), but they went out of their way at every chance to interact with kids and give them something to do. The rooms were clean and quiet. Elevator service, which can be a problem at peak hours in some tall hotels, was not an issue. Nice stay all around!

Room Tip: Please note that the wall of the bathroom that faces out into the main room is a translucent glass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjmPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hello!
Thank you for your great feedback and we have since gladly shared your review with the team as we are always happy to assist our guests families and singles alike! We are delighted you had a great visit to the heart of Times Square and anything you need in future, please do not hesitate to reach out to us as we are here for you 24/7 to assist. Hope to see you back soon in your new home-away-from-home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

W Hotel Times square. Very convenient to "tourist central" and the front entry is guarded by impressive men - keeps the riff-raff out I guess. The bathroom toilet has no privacy. The vessel sink water faucet was a joke. It was a bit dirty and needs some updating. The carpet near the window area was so sticky, we learned to avoid this area. Nice - can't look out the window in bare feet without taking a shower. Yucky.
Won't do this one again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jerry814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hello Jerry,
Thank you for your honest and balanced feedback and we truly appreciate you taking the time to reach out to us. Being the W brand, we do indeed embody the fun and flirty vibe – this being said, we of course gladly reviewed your feedback as we appreciate your candor and are always looking to improve your experience for future! In addition, we have since immediately addressed your comments with our entire team to ensure your points are reviewed being your comfort is our number one priority. We thank you once again for taking the time to reach out and should you return to us in future, please do not hesitate to advise our team of anything you may need as we are always happy to assist. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in future for a true W Experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

I've lost count of the number of times I've stayed here, and I keep coming back because I know I'll have a great experience. This last time was no exception. Great rooms, outstanding service, and a fantastic location. The staff seem genuinely committed to being helpful, probably because (unlike many other nearby hotels that cater to big tour bus groups) they have so many return guest. While I typically make a point to venture away from a hotel to eat, the weather on this trip was miserable so ate at the Blue Fin on the ground floor. Excellent experience there as well, on par with the hotel itself.

I travel to NY every few weeks and of all the hotels I've stayed in, this is my first choice. The rooms are a bit larger than many nearby hotels, regularly updated, and stocked with a amenities. Most rooms have DVD players. The lobby bar is always an interesting scene. Views of Times Square are great, though thankfully they have room-darkening shades to block out lights and billboards when you're ready to sleep. Noise level from the street is pretty good. It's a great place for a getaway and business travel, though you many need to hunt around your room to find enough outlets to charge your devices. The location is convenient to theaters, restaurants, and the subway.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have amazing views but can be brighter at night because of all the lights from Times Sq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hello Harry! Thank you for your wonderful feedback and we truly appreciate you taking the time to write your amazing review. We have since gladly shared your comments with our entire team as well as Blue Fin as they truly inspire us to continue personalizing each and every guest stay. It was absolutely our pleasure to have you with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back with us once again! Anything you need during future stays, please do not hesitate to dial 0 for our Whatever/Whenever team and we will gladly ensure your every question or request is answered. Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to your home-away-from-home in the Big Apple!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#193 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#166 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#206 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#163 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,302 reviews
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#311 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,918 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square
Hyatt Centric Times Square
#50 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Times Square

Property: W New York - Times Square
Address: 1567 Broadway at 47th St, New York City, NY 10036-1517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Green Hotel in New York City
#154 Business Hotel in New York City
#172 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#220 Family Hotel in New York City
#223 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York - Times Square is located in the heart of Times Square & the theater district, with museums a few blocks north and sultry downtown just a quick subway ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your W New York - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Times Square Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel Times Square
w Hotel Nyc
w Hotel New York City
w Times Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing