We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“W stands for OW”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W New York - Times Square
Ranked #263 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“W stands for OW”
Reviewed October 29, 2008

From the moment of checkin everthing was great! The 41st floor room had a great view over Times Square. The room was like new, very clean and spacious considering it was Times Square. The staff made us feel special and we even received free birthday cake. Would go back tomorrow if we had the funds!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Glass bathroom walls
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffandjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,821
    1,309
    597
    306
    180
See reviews for
861
1,328
226
885
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (955)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

This is realy a nice and viby hotel. Staf is fab and the rooms are amazing. Specialy the sky line of New York.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank boluuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2008

Stayed here in August with co-workers for a few days and it was fantastic. I will admit, rates are a little pricey, but the location was amazing. Right in Time Sq! With the said, you would think to expect a lot of noise, but you could hear a pin drop it was so quiet! I'm not sure what rooms other individuals who have posted reviews stayed in, but we were in one of the newly renovated rooms. Decor was hip and clean, and rooms were small but it is also to be expected of NY. We even saw a few celebs at the Blue Fin downstairs! I would definitely stay here again, but would only recommend this hotel to individuals willing to drop their dollars. Not a place for budget travels.

  • Liked — Location!
  • Disliked — Price but it's NY!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vanessm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2008

This is a cool hotel - the decor is cool, one of my favorite restaurants is on the first floor - BLUE FIN (GREAT)...but IT IS OVERPRICED!

The rooms are quite small, but still nice. The bathrooms are BADLY DESIGNED! You have no choice but to flood your bathroom. The shower is designed with 1/2 a pane of glass - leaving half of the shower open with a very very small splash to contain the water. Everyone I know who has stayed here FLOODED their bathroom, So Lay Down Towels. FUN FOR 650 A NIGHT, HUH?

The front desk staff is RUDE and not helpful when it comes to problems.

It has a great location and cool decor...GO ELSWHERE UNLESS YOU SCORE A GOOD DEAL!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JesseDaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
expicalado
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2008

My fiance and I stayed at the W in Times Square. We had a decent view of all the lights, but had nice heavy drapes on the windows to shut out all the lights at night.
The beds were so comfortable and sheets were great quality.

The bathroom was weird because the walls are....well...like opaqe white glass or plastic? You cant really see through but you can see a persons figure if they stand near the wall and the light in the bathroom is on....it's odd...I was uneasy when using the toilet. I know its suposed to be trendy but it's not comfortable.

The price...well....I'd say it's way too $$$.....but then again its times square.

  • Liked — Bed and Sheets
  • Disliked — Pricey!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expicalado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New york
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2008

This hotel was so overpriced. The room was small, smelt and felt dirty. We had a hole in the closet door, dust and rust on everything metal, the carpet was damp, and the room smelt like cigars and smoke. My fiance and I laughed when we walked in the room. We paid 800 dollars for nothing. The room was so small. Also, breakfast was 24 dollars for an egg omlet. I would rather eat at a local McDonalds. Please, dont waste your money!!!!

  • Liked — the view from our room
  • Disliked — cleanliness/space room was extremely small
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank amandalapp5982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2008

This W certainly doesn't live up to the usual W reputation! The only attractive thing was the lobby. From there on it was dark (so dark we struggled to find our floor button in the elevators and find stuff in the suitcase in the room!). The service was very average - we waited in the room for over 20 minutes for our bags, then called the concierge to ask where they were to be told the bell boy was on his way. 10 minutes later nothing's arrived so we decided to go into town without waiting for the luggage....only to discover the trolley with our bags still waiting in the lobby!! In the end we took our bags off and took them to our room ourselves - hotel staff saw us do but no one asked any questions or offered any help!

We stayed on the 25th floor but it was still so noisy it felt like Times square was inside our room. The hotel should seriously consider changing the windows to proper double glazing.

The only nice thing was the Blue Fin restaurant - if you are a fish lover, it's highly recommended.
The Whiskey club was fun too, but full of teenagers who were extremely annoying at times.

  • Liked — Blue Fin restaurant; beds; location
  • Disliked — Dark decor, aweful service; small rooms; NOISE
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank globetrotterboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#177 of 467 in New York City
2,312 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#179 of 467 in New York City
2,344 reviews
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#319 of 467 in New York City
4,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#181 of 467 in New York City
10,620 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#173 of 467 in New York City
7,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Times Square

Property: W New York - Times Square
Address: 1567 Broadway at 47th St, New York City, NY 10036-1517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Green Hotel in New York City
#152 Business Hotel in New York City
#175 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
#221 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York - Times Square is located in the heart of Times Square & the theater district, with museums a few blocks north and sultry downtown just a quick subway ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W New York - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Times Square Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel Times Square
w Hotel Nyc
w Hotel New York City
w Times Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing