We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
W New York - Times Square
Ranked #264 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is the place to stay if you want to be in Times Square! Everything is either at your doorstep or a short walk away. If your New York vacation includes Broadway shows the convenience of being close to all theaters is well worth the higher hotel cost. If you need to go to other NY locations, the subway is very close and taxis were not too difficult to get. Although we were right in Times Square, our room was high enough that we didn't hear the noise from the street. If you're sensitive to noise you may want to request a room on a higher floor. We had a great view from our window. This location has the similiar look and feel of other W hotels with the dim lights in the hallways and the art deco feel. This is not conducive to business meetings in the lobby. There are a variety of restaurants for all budgets and tastes nearby, but the hotel's room service served decent food. The one negative was that there were three of us in our room for seven days and the lack of counter space in the bathroom was annoying.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easton8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your honest and balanced feedback and we truly appreciate your review! We have gladly shared your comments with the team as we are delighted you had a great experience with us during this special time of year. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Big Apple and anything you need, do no hesitate to ask as we are always here for you 24/7!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,830
    1,316
    604
    310
    183
See reviews for
872
1,337
227
887
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (958)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My decision to stay at the W New York Times Square during the busy New Year's week was perfect. The location of the hotel provides nearby access to all the theatres (very convenient when you are battling crowds). The location also proved a bonus for New Year's Eve. Although I did not have access to Times Square from the hotel during the evening, standing outside the hotel was the next best thing because I could hear all the festivities and feel the excitement but I could also return to the comfort of my room at any time throughout the night. In addition to location, the hotel is warm and inviting. The staff are always friendly and helpful. Although a busy and crazy time for the staff, I always received service with a smile. The room was very comfortable and anything you need is delivered to your room quickly. Elevators are smooth and fast. The breakfast at Blue Fin was delicious with many healthy food choices. Congratulations to the Hotel Manager and his staff for creating such a welcoming environment. Happy New Year to everyone at the W! Hope to see you soon in 2014.

Room Tip: If you want to spend New Year's Eve in NYC but do not want to spend 10 hours in the cold waiting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaLIngeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, General Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Maria - a great big thank you to you from our entire team for your wonderful review in regards to your stay with us! We truly appreciate your feedback and are so delighted you enjoyed your New Year's Eve in your new home-away-from-home! We anxiously await all year for this special occasion as our Talent simply love the energy and excitement on this oh so special eve! We are so glad you were able to share in that excitement and the entire team looks forward to welcoming you back for many more spectacular experiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I knew I couldn't go wrong when I booked 5 nights at the W.

From the moment we arrived, we were in love with our hotel choice. The doormen at the street were all extremely friendly & welcoming, ready to assist as needed. We made our way up to the 7th floor Living Room lobby for check-in. The staff member who checked us in was great! The excitement in her voice when she was telling us about our room & our view got me SUPER excited to get upstairs. We stayed in room 4912. It's a "Cool Corner" room with an awesome view! (We stayed here over NYE, so we were able to see & hear the performances on Times Square directly below our room.)

The room was clean. The bed was comfortable. The modern feel is exactly what we prefer when traveling. It was such a neat room to hang out in. And I loved that the windows open!! We were able to let in the cool New York air & hear the sounds of the city below. So even while we were upstairs, we still felt like we were part of the action. The cool thing, though, is that when you close the windows, it actually blocks out a LOT of the city noise! Yes, you can still hear it, but it's so muffled that it's ok. And with all the lights flashing around you in Times Square, the pull-down shades do a GREAT job of blacking out the room! A very well thought out design, for sure!

The bathroom is awesome! The walls are frosted glass - you can see silhouettes, but you can't actually see through it so there is still privacy. The vanity has a cool waterfall faucet, and the shower has a rain-shower head which was very relaxing. The shower was a good size.

We utilized room service for 2 meals - both were breakfast And the food was AMAZING! I sort of expected the food to be mediocre at best, but we were both pleasantly surprised with the presentation & flavor! We had a waffle, side of bacon, NYC sandwich, OJ & Coffee. Room service is obviously more expensive than eating at a restaurant, but we had early morning commitments, and preferred to pay for the convenience rather than having to make time to stop somewhere else to get food. Plus, after the first meal we ordered, we didn't mind paying for it again because we knew it would be fabulous!

We met with the Concierge staff a couple of times during our stay. They were all great, but Kelly stood out to us! He was very personable & great to work with! I had already done research on the sight-seeing portion of our trip, so we didn't really book anything with them. However, we had NO idea where to find good places to eat in the area. They made recommendations & booked reservations for us at a few different restaurants and they were ALL outstanding! I'm so glad we reached out to them in the beginning!

We absolutely loved the location of this hotel! This was our first time to New York, and we wanted to make sure we were right in the center of it all! And we were! If you're planning to visit NYC on New Year's, I would recommend this hotel! We stayed here over NYE, and I don't think we could have made a better choice! First of all, to get anywhere near Times Square on NYE, you have to prove that your hotel is there. Our room key with the "W" on it allowed us to pass through barricades that others only wished they could pass through. It felt like total VIP! Like I mentioned earlier, we had a view of Times Square overlooking the NYE performance stages. We made our way downstairs a little before midnight just to see if we could get in on the action on the street level. And we were! Totally wasn't expecting to be IN Times Square, in the middle of the excitement, at midnight, but thanks to the amazing location of the hotel, we were right there!!

But even if you're not here on NYE, the W New York Times Square is a great place to be! We were able to walk to so many great places - Broadway Theaters, Central Park, Columbus Circle, 5th Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Plaza, NBC Studios, Grand Central Station, Bryant Park, and of course, you're in the heart of Times Square.

We had an amazing time here!! Definitely a 5 star experience all the way around! Can't wait to come back!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4912. It's a cool corner room with a view of Times Square. The room faces th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Julie - we are truly delighted by your wonderful account of your experiences with us and so look forward to sharing your feedback with our entire team. It is comments like yours that motivate us to exceed guest expectations and continue to strive to create those wonderful one-of-kind moments for our guests. Thank you once again for your amazing letter and we so look forward to welcoming you back for many more visits to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great location if you are going to the theaters or if you just want to go up to the lobby to the quiet bar area for a drink!!! They are also physically connected to the Times Square restaurant "Blue Fin" which is an oasis on a sea of ordinary fast food joints on Times Square. Great breakfast and brunch choices. Prices quite reasonable for NYC.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clmjrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Guest Relations Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
How wonderful to hear you had such a great experience with us! We truly appreciate your feedback and will gladly advise not only our team but our wonderful Blue Fin team as well! Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to your home-away-from-home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed at the W for a few days with my family over Christmas. I booked through platinum american express and found the value amazing with the amenities I received with my reservation. The hotel is literally in the middle of Times Square, so when you exit the building, you are amongst the craziness! If you like the location, this is the hotel to choose. The decor is modern and chic. The rooms are small, but adequate. The location lends itself to more noise than somewhere else in midtown, but again, if you love Times Square, this is a great choice. We had an unbelievable view from the 50th floor of the Hudson River. The lights from Times Square were not really an issue as we had black out shades.....they didn't completely cover the window, but it was good enough. Loved being close to Broadway, but get ready for crowds and craziness at this location. Love the W and would go back.

Room Tip: Love the "fabulous rooms" which look out at the Hudson.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spin4lyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for your feedback we are thrilled that you enjoyed your previous experience with us. We hope to see you again soon so that we can help make another memorable experience for you.

All the best

Peter Ortiz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Tragically, I am 61, but claim to be cool. We got a room for two nights over Christmas (full disclosure a family member works in the Starwood system but NOT for W and the rate was insanely low; my review is unbiased). Who is the W for: those who are actually really, really hip; those who pretend and/or are actually wish to be very hip; Euros and Asian upscale visitors; people with 0% body fat. (Feel free to speculate where [and if ] I fit into this matrix.) Having said all that: the bottom line is that this is an exceptional place to stay in Manhattan, subject to the caveats below. First off, the entry is amazing, what can only be described as a waterfall over your head; beautiful. I've seen some negative Trip Advisors reviews. Here is the issue. Did they go overboard in being ultra-mod? Here's how the owners describe the place: "Design guru Yabu Pushelberg has seemlessly paired techno glam elements with W's sleek design aesthetic to re-imagine this luxurious oasis." (this from the in-room magazine and really sums it up.) Yes: the bathroom is behind a semi-see-through wall. If this is a problem this is not your hotel of choice. Ultra-hip bar on 7. Bartender Lauren looks like she was designed to fit the image (who did her hair?) and James at (Blue Fin ~ see separate review) was awesome Bottom line: if you want to be (or are) cutting edge hip [like me] stay here, if not, there are plenty of equal price point places with a more traditional ambience.

Room Tip: Higher the better, view-wise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Australopithecus1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your feedback we are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope that you return to our property again soon and have more memorable experiences with us.

All the best

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I was impressed by the location of this hotel - 47th avenue. Once you exit the hotel, you are right in the heart of Times Square. Check-in was quick and the host was very friendly. The lobby is on the 7th floor ... probably this way to avoid the tourists who are not staying in the hotel. To get to your hotel room, you will need your keycard and a different set of elevators. We stayed on the 40th floor and it was quiet. Each day the hotel provided a bottled water labelled free and clear. That's a treat already. The room in my opinion was a good size. There is a starbucks directly across from the hotel and a McDonalds one block down. Subway access is convenient. Service was excellent, living up to the standard of the W chain. The W Times Square made my Christmas vacation memorable.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for taking time and providing us positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our property and its location. We're also glad we were able to provide you an excellent service during your stay and made your Christmas memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back and as always, do not hesitate to reach out to us prior to your arrival for any future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#176 of 467 in New York City
2,417 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#180 of 467 in New York City
2,365 reviews
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#319 of 467 in New York City
4,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#175 of 467 in New York City
10,808 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#177 of 467 in New York City
7,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Times Square

Property: W New York - Times Square
Address: 1567 Broadway at 47th St, New York City, NY 10036-1517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Green Hotel in New York City
#150 Business Hotel in New York City
#175 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#215 Family Hotel in New York City
#219 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York - Times Square is located in the heart of Times Square & the theater district, with museums a few blocks north and sultry downtown just a quick subway ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W New York - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Times Square Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel Times Square
w Hotel Nyc
w Hotel New York City
w Times Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing