We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“W Times Square - Wows Again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W New York - Times Square
Ranked #260 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“W Times Square - Wows Again!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed here in November and loved it. I returned this past Memorial Day weekend and I loved it yet again. I called the week before we checked-in to see if there was an upgrade available with my SPG gold status, and the guy on the phone did it immediately, without charge, from Wonderful to Spectacular for both rooms I had booked. Awesome! We checked in on Friday, May 24th and got there earlier than the check-in time. Two double bedrooms were not available at the moment on the same floor, so we opted to wait. I was a little upset that our rooms were not ready until close to 5:00pm, but we were out at Bloomingdale's so it didn't matter. We had room 4502 and 4505. The rooms are smaller, but well-appointed and modern. The maid service came every day before we got back to the room. Every staff member we encountered was beyond friendly and informative. We were able to get a late check-out of 4:00pm due to my SPG gold status again...that was awesome. Overall, I choose the W Times Square because the location is without a doubt the best for Times Square hotels, and I enjoy the modern, yet luxurious feel of the place.

Room Tip: If you have a Wonderful room booked, call to see if you can get a Spectacular room. They are on a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jMarg27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are delighted that you were able to enjoy your Insider experience. Reviews such as yours are what inspire us. We will be sure to share your feedback with our team.
The Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,793
    1,290
    588
    301
    174
See reviews for
844
1,311
224
867
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (945)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Close to everything, nice amenities, very chic. But, even on the 22nd floor the noise of Times Square (taxi horns, sirens, events) is pretty loud. Rooms very clean, staff at front desk nice, and good parking nearby at Icon garage.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric_l777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi
We are delighted that you loved our upscale ambience. Sorry about the noise, but being at the center of it is pretty loud!
We do hope you visit us again soon.
The W Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I booked the W Times Square because St Regis was fully booked.
They were kind enough to upgrade me to a cool corner room on a high floor due to my platinum status.
I found the room to be very small, with the bare minimum of goodies. The building itself is old … what did I expect? It’s NY!
Rooms need a face lift.
I needed to be on a conference call. My cell phone kept losing the signal at the high floor. In the lobby music is playing too loud. In the business center I had no bars… I wouldn’t say it is very convenient for a business trip.
I wouldn’t say it is suitable for a family because rooms are very small and there are very few suites.
If I were in my 20s and in NY for fun, I would certainly have a blast at this hotel.
With all this said, I got a very good rate for my stay. In a way, compared to St Regis, it was worth dealing with the little bit of hassle at W and have a few hundred bucks left in my pocket.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank js_paris44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi
We are glad that we were able to save you a couple of $$$. Location and price.. We do try to deliver both !

We are working on retouching some of our guest room features as well as our Living room.
Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

W Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

First you need to really like being "in" Times Square" (not just near it to stay here).
The Pluses: Responsive, friendly staff. Nice linens/towels/etc. Clean room. Food for meetings was very good.
The Drawbacks: If you face Times Square, the window shades do not fully block the pulsating lights or sounds of sirens / construction (hotel says they have had many complaints and are considering doing something about the window coverings - seems odd they know the issue, but are just thinking about it). Meeting / catering expenses are off the charts (even for NYC). Had a meeting with 50+ participants over multiple days.
Our group had 10+ people arriving who could not get into rooms even after 3 pm. I arrived at 4:30 pm and my room was not available until almost 5:30 pm. Offering a drink ticket while waiting was not enough.
Rate the staff 5 star. Rate the location and logistics of hotel and area a one star. Not a bad experience, but will never stay here again. A mixed bag.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FortLauderdale17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hi Fort Lauderdale17,
We are delighted that you recognized our warm and friendly associates and will be sure to share the feedback with them. We apologise for the rooms readiness issue you faced. Thank you for hosting your event at our location. We do hope you consider returning.
Thank you
The W Guest service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This W is located steps from the heart of Times Square and that's the key turning point for whether to recommend choosing this as a destination. From the afternoon on, the streets are clogged with pedestrians which makes approaching or departing the hotel time-consuming and at times, frustrating. If you are there for access to the nearby theaters or events in and around the square, the traffic trade-off is worth it. If you are headed elsewhere in the city, though, you'll probably do best to pick another location.

The hotel itself is is a narrow tower the rises above nearby buildings which limits the number of rooms without at least some sort of a view. There's a typical W bar and a somewhat better restaurant on the ground floor that features seafood later in the day, but offers typical breakfast fare in the morning.

My 14th floor room had an odd chaise lounge chair and a single desk chair to go along with two double beds--my reservation was for a single king, but none were available at the time of my late evening weekday check-in. The room was "New York clean": bedding and towels were fresh, but the bathroom had the kind of long-term grime that would embarrass most hoteliers, but is common in even most high-end NYC hotels. The HVAC was quiet and effective and the built-in desk left enough room to work and spread out a bit. The window opened a couple of inches to allow in fresh air, but the outside noise was so loud, you'd have to shout to talk over it. As others have mentioned, the bathroom is sectioned off with translucent panels that don't offer true privacy if you need it within the room.

The staff was casual with some attitude, but got the job done when needed. The team at the door was especially helpful upon check-in and check-out.

I'd return if necessary, but for most business in the city, I'd look for hotels a little farther from the tourist center. If you're heading to NY as a tourist though, this might just be the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cb4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hi
We are glad you liked our central location and cool and casual vibe Thank you for the feedback on the condition of the room. We are working on refurbishing our rooms and hope to unveil a new look soon.
Thank you
The W Times Square Guest service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great but loud location. For the money the worst bathrooms ever...small and disgusting commode. Also, translucent walls so if you are have someone over for a drink in your room you can be seen outside of the bathroom when you are on the commode. Bad view on the 38th floor but ok because the windows were so dirty you couldn't see much. Don't try to tip at the registration desk... for us he acted as if he was giving us an up-grade. In fact we needed three different elevators to get to an ordinary room. "Maid" service did little to make the room look special when we returned in the afternoon. Didn't even replace the wine glasses with clean ones. Nice bar and lounge on the 7th floor with good bartenders. Very good restaurant, but we could have gone there from a good hotel.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LanceFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hi Lance,

First I want to thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am sorry to hear about your less than perfect experience with us at W New York - Times Square. I hear you about the bathroom wall, though it is the W’s style, I certainly understand it doesn’t necessarily appeal to everyone (as a matter of fact, we’ve recently installed non-transparent walls in the rooms with two double beds, as it REALLY didn’t appeal to a lot of families). That said, we try to make every one feels at home with us, and, upon request, we can provide a “shower in secret” bathroom wall cover, an alternative for those seeking a little more privacy.
I am sorry you were disappointed with the upgrade. At this property, with the exception of the suites, all of the rooms are the same size, and upgrades are based on the location of the room within the building and the view. Due to security reason, it is impossible to open the windows and clean them from inside the room on a daily basis. This is why, several times a year, we schedule a thorough cleaning of all the windows from outside. Unfortunately, we have had some bad weather lately which resulted in not perfectly clean windows on some sides of the building, and I am truly sorry it affected your view.
I am glad you enjoyed our Living Room Bar at the 7th floor. Our bar is a favorite for our guests, but also for New York City locals, and for security reasons, the lifts from the ground level only go to the 7th floor. Therefore, only our guests, using their room keys can access another bank of lifts which will take them to their floor.
As most of our guests are particular about rearranging or simply touching their belongings in the guest rooms, we have instructed the Stylists to not handle/move the guests belongings. Although, upon request, we are happy to adapt our service to your liking.
However, I want to apologize for not replacing the dirty wine glasses, I can assure you that it is not up to our standards and I will pass your feedback along to our Director of Style so he can take the opportunity to re-train the team.

Lance, I understand the W New York - Times Square was unfortunately not a good fit, but if I can be of any assistance in the future and redirect you to one of our Starwood properties in NYC, don't hesitate to reach out to me and I will happy to help: leo.rossini@whotels.com

All the best,
Leo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We went for our anniversary. The toiletries were great, and the room was very stylish. The bathroom situation was a little weird, I admit, and I had to look a little askance at the poor parents traveling with kids. At least they can tell if junior is brushing his teeth? And if you have sharp eyes, you can see the rooms are starting to age, but if you don't look too hard everything looks great. The service was all around less than helpful or happy to help.

The bed was good, our view was right into the Marriott though. The room was an okay size. The food at the restaurant was good, but really slow to arrive- the wait staff did not seem to know what was going on with the breakfast situation. All in all, we got it for a good price and the room and location were good. If it's just a couple that knows each other pretty well, and you aren't trying to spend a lot of time in the room, it's great.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juicy318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGuestServicesTeam, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hi
Glad you enjoyed our location and electic design. We understand that our voyer showers are not for every one and provide a privacy shade if requested. Also in rooms with tow double beds the bathrooms are tinted for greater privacy.
Thank you
The W Guest service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#179 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#181 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#314 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#183 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,152 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,752 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Times Square

Property: W New York - Times Square
Address: 1567 Broadway at 47th St, New York City, NY 10036-1517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Green Hotel in New York City
#153 Business Hotel in New York City
#170 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#219 Family Hotel in New York City
#222 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York - Times Square is located in the heart of Times Square & the theater district, with museums a few blocks north and sultry downtown just a quick subway ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your W New York - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Times Square Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel Times Square
w Hotel Nyc
w Hotel New York City
w Times Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing