We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Holiday to Remember.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W New York - Times Square
Ranked #259 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Holiday to Remember.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Where do I begin on how great this place is. I took my Fiancé for her 21st Birthday and was not disappointed one bit. On arrival we were greeted by friendly doormen who offered to help with our bags, but as seeing it was only us two we were ok. Once we arrived in the lobby you have to take an elevator up to the main foyer so very secure for any people with paranoia. Greeted by a lavish lounge area with reception just off set. We got our keys and told which elevators to go to( different ones for different levels of hotel). Once we open our door we were happily surprised by the cleanliness of it all and the beauty of the view. It looked over Times Square itself and could happily sit on our chaise long and watch the world below us. It is a perfect hotel as everything is situated around you. As my partner said, "I thought Times Square be a once only thing, yet here we are using it as a shining beacon to find our hotel".
They are plenty of restaurants around, including it's own Blue fin (fish bar). which we didn't visit unfortunately but yet looked delicious. The only downfall we said was we wished the outsides of the windows were a bit cleaner to get a clearer view for our photos but other than that it was magnificent. Truly a holiday that will be forever remembered. Well done W, you truly impressed us.

Room Tip: Ask for higher up as you get better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustsomeJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank You for the response we are glad that you decided to stay at the W Times Square. It makes us very happy to hear that you had such a wonderfull experience at our property we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,782
    1,277
    582
    300
    172
See reviews for
839
1,304
220
859
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (936)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Had a great three days at the W. Staff was fantastic, view was unbelievable, and special thanks to Patrick Armano (the director of guest experiences) for making our stay even more enjoyable. Even in the middle of the bright and busy Times Square, this was our oasis!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineHassler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback we are glad that you had a great experience. We look forward to your return to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

As a frequent visitor to New York, i have now chosen to stay here every time I go. This hotel is perfectly located and teh service is top notch. I do get an upgrade through my spg membership and feel welcome here. Do try to go for the higher floors!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Experience_Dir, Director of Guest Experience at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Hi there David G,

Congrats on your status in the Starwood Preferred Guest program! We appreciate your loyalty to the brand and love that we are your top-choice destination in the Big Apple. During your next escape with us, contact me at patrick.armano@whotels.com so that I may help you continue to abandon the expected!

All the best,

Patrick Armano
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We loved the location at the W Times Square. We walked to most places even when it was 32 degrees! The hotel is very modern, funky which is a great NY feel. However, its a little much in the room. There is low lighting in the room, a waterfall bathroom sink which was difficult to use and not practical with 4 people sharing this tiny, one sink bathroom. The room was too small for two teen girls and us. No great place to put our suitcases and new shopping finds! I would stay here with two adults...one child but not with a fam of four. But service great! Staff great! My husband and i will stay here again...alone!

Helpful?
Thank Amgs16
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Guest_Experience_Dir, Director of Guest Experience at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Hi there Amgs16,

We loved having you! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience- I'm delighted you were able to take advantage of our ideal location to explore the Big Apple and all it has to offer. On your next trip, I encourage you to book a Fantastic Suite, as this room type offers twice the space and amenities as the "double room" you selected on this trip. By all means, once you have booked, drop me a line at patrick.armano@whotels.com so that I may help heighten your experience!

All the best,

Patrick Armano
Director of Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Worth the money, right by times square, view not great but bedroom amazing, could have slept all weekend, staff so helpful and the bar and restaurant excellent (bar is super trendy so go prepared - hopefully Virgin Atlantic will not lose your case like mine but hey it's an excuse to shop!Do a helicopter trip if you are only there for a few days -saves time and you still see everything

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed for three nights between Christmas and New Year, what a full on time to visit!
We stayed with our two sons of 17 and 21 and got a corner room on 47th floor with an adjoining twin for them, views fab we could both see down broadway and down into times square, we had the added bonus of the Hudson river also. The hotel is fab, funky and full of life exactly what our sons wanted, the cocktail bar was the hub of the hotel and the Blue Fin restaurant provided a more peaceful enviroment with fabulous food. the whole of the area was extremely busy with many restaurants having waiting times of 90 minutes for a table, but hey that is New York, an experience not to be missed, it's what you expect at that time of year, after having very busy days pounding pavements the beds were a welcome sight and were so comfy.
The staff were also very helpful especially the concierge, they even printed our boarding passes for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flo3510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I went to New York City for the first time and it was for New Year's Eve in Times Square. The hotel's location was perfect. The hotel is beautiful and the staff is top notch. It was a little pricey, but worth every penny for this wonderful experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hi Sue D,

We're so happy you chose us for your first trip to the Big Apple! We also love to hear your positive feedback about our wonderful talent. Keep us in mind on your second trip to NYC!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#183 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,295 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#186 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#315 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#191 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,899 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#171 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,686 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Times Square

Property: W New York - Times Square
Address: 1567 Broadway at 47th St, New York City, NY 10036-1517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Green Hotel in New York City
#153 Business Hotel in New York City
#170 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#219 Family Hotel in New York City
#222 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York - Times Square is located in the heart of Times Square & the theater district, with museums a few blocks north and sultry downtown just a quick subway ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your W New York - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Times Square Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel Times Square
w Hotel Nyc
w Hotel New York City
w Times Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing