We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W New York - Times Square
Ranked #262 of 466 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Doha, Al Jahra, Kuwait
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Had a fantastic week here in December. The hotel was lovely and the location was perfect. The real benefit of staying here though has to be the whatever whenever staff we couldn't speak highly enough of them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E, Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hi Jason,

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our Whatever/Whenever service! We're very proud of their dedication to exceptional customer service. Keep us in mind next time your travels bring you to NYC!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,822
    1,310
    598
    306
    181
See reviews for
863
1,329
226
886
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (955)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed on Starwood points for one night between Christmas and New Year's Eve. The Spectacular room had good views, and was good size for NYC. Was upgraded at check-in (I just hit Platinum with Starwood) by the extemely courteous desk agent. At checkout, I passed along some relatively minor complaints about housekeeping, and the desk staff went out of their way to offer some proper adjustment at check out. Was followed by an email from the Ops Manager the next day. This level attention shows that these sort of blips are an aberration for the property.

Bed was extremely comfortable. Fun and funky like all Ws, I would stay here again if I needed proximity to theatres or Times Square.

The massive crowds outside the hotel in Times Square are a reminder that this is an extremely high traffic hotel (especially this time of year), so wear and tear and volume delays are not a real shocker...what makes up for it is the staff attentiveness and follow-up.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWtravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Myself and now my fiance stayed at the W on Saturday night. i set up a surprise proposal with Patrick Armano in guest services. I told my now fiance we are going to Blue Fin for dinner and we will get a gift certificate if we take a tour of the W. this was all fake and in the background I was working with Patrick and his team to set up the room. I ordered Flowers and big balloons that said Marry Me. Patrick walked us up and as she entered the room she saw the balloons. She was shocked. Patrick and his team did all of the work. found the flowers and balloon place and took care of everything. If you need anything done just ask Patrick he was a pleasure to deal with. We were on the 55th floor and the views were great. the room was great. It was a great experience. Thank You Patrick for all of your help.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the W for my big day. I only casually mentioned to the reservation agent that I would be staying for my birthday. To my surprise and delight, when I arrived in my room there was a bday card and sweets. Very nice touch. Also, just after my departure I recieved an email asking my feedback. Love it when hotels are concerned about service.

The room was spacious and modern. We were on t he highrise side which was nice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mybiggestfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed right after Christmas and did not have a top notch experience. We have stayed at multiple W hotels in the US and Canada and always enjoyed the overall vibe and rooms. We upgraded to a spectacular room but it was anything but. I was surprised by the small size even by Manhattan standards. But most of all I was disappointed by the little things. First, the pay per view was down the entire time we were there with no idea on when it would be fixed. Our DVD player was also broken and despite calling the front desk twice and talking personally to a manager it was never fixed or replaced. Our room service breakfast was also a mess with the food prepared incorrectly and tasting like a bad cafeteria. In their defense, they paid for our breakfast and drinks at the bar as compensation. I would rather they just take care of the little things. Unfortunately, we will not be back and cannot recommend.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I have been to NYC three times and I always stay at the W. The location is PERFECT right in the dead middle of times square. The hotel is gorgeous and staff is great. I can not say enough wonderful things about the concierge staff! They went above and beyond planning our days for us. My husband and I love the restaurant down stairs and the rooms are gorgeous. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I don't know if I could say enough about the incredible Whatever/Whenever concierge team of W New York - Times Square. My wife and I got engaged in December 2011 while staying here and i wanted to find a way to commemorate that tremendously magical experience at our stay this year. I told the Whatever/Whenever team about my wife's favorite color, her favorite candy, and the song she walked down the aisle to at our wedding. The W team took that and created a moment almost as memorable as the moment I got down on one knee at Rockefeller Center and asked her to marry me.

The staff was incredibly attentive and accomodating to us and did everything they could to make our anniversary weekend as special as it could possibly be. A small example beyond our romantic setting was the fact that our original room was on the 12th floor and my wife and I prefer to be a little higher up. We mentioned it to the concierge team and we were moved to the 44th floor by the next evening.

Again, I can't say enough about The W New York - Times Square. It's wonderfully appointed, staffed with top-tier professionals, and will add to anyone's New York City trip.

The only comment I could offer as a "con" is the fact that I require a firm pillow to sleep on and the default pillows are pretty soft. I didn't ask but I'm sure I would have been provided one or two if I had. The bed and bedding are top notch however.

Room Tip: Cool Corner rooms are wonderful, particularly on the higher floors if you prefer a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#180 of 466 in New York City
2,327 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#182 of 466 in New York City
2,348 reviews
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#318 of 466 in New York City
4,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#175 of 466 in New York City
10,660 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#178 of 466 in New York City
7,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Times Square

Property: W New York - Times Square
Address: 1567 Broadway at 47th St, New York City, NY 10036-1517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Green Hotel in New York City
#151 Business Hotel in New York City
#174 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#216 Family Hotel in New York City
#220 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York - Times Square is located in the heart of Times Square & the theater district, with museums a few blocks north and sultry downtown just a quick subway ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W New York - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Times Square Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel Times Square
w Hotel Nyc
w Hotel New York City
w Times Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing