We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service! Amazing experience! Thank you!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W New York - Times Square
Ranked #268 of 470 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I can't believe that people have bad things to say about the W Times Square staff and hotel. My wife and I had one of the best stays ever at a hotel...just as good as our last stay at the Park Hyatt Vendôme in Paris. The staff went above and beyond to make sure we had an amazing stay and really helped to make our four days in NYC incredible. Room service was wonderful. The room was in great shape. Elevator always worked. Housekeeping was friendly. Staff was professional and friendly. I felt like they genuinely cared about us and didn't have any attitude. Big, big, big thank you to Patrick and Paola!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less city noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texasex95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,342 - 2,348 of 4,366 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

The place is a dump, reminds me of the Pennsylvania hotel at penn station. Dark, dank, no lights in the elevator, bad room service, noisy, sorry, sorry, sorry.

We stayed here four days and had issues with room service, cleaning, room fixtures, elevator, housekeeping personnel, the management and the general lack of professional behavior or the staff. Took an hour to get a cup of tea from room service, and when I told them the place is took dark they told me it was a state of mind, mind you I won't stay here anymore, haha!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Disclaimer: I LOVE the W Brand

If theater is on your NYC travel agenda, this is a perfect, modern, and (actually) quite location.
Decor, like all W's, is trendy and cool.
Live DJs in the ultra cool lobby, located on the 7th floor.

NOTE: you need to take 2 elevators to get to your room. First one to lobby, then second bank to your room. You will need room keys for the latter. The extra Security is appreciated.

Some room furnishings could be freshened up, not so much in design, but wear and tear.

Room Tip: I had room close to elevators and ice machine, neither of which was a problem, noise wise. The brig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chef_Traveler_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Needed 3 nights close to work while apartment was under renovation, and I am so totally impressed with W TimesSquare. Everything here is in the exact place you expect, meaning consistent to a T. I've been to over 10 different W's and this one is where I would absolutely suggest to friends family and strangers where to have the best experience for a perfect location + peace and comfort above the wild action below. No matter which way you cut it, the place is a value for an incredibly clean and fresh stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DigitalJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Great locations with beautifu time square views ... The staff will bend over backwards to help ... Ask for just about anything and they will arrange It... We stayed in a high floor room with a time square view , it was snowing and made everything perfect for the holidays ...

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Overall, the W Times Square is a well-appointed property with reasonably spacious (for Manhattan) rooms, fine amenities and good service. Why then can I give it no more than an "Average" rating? The title of my review tells all. In 2012, there can be no excuse for charging a guest in a $350.- (minimum) room for internet access. Every Doubletree, Holiday Inn and most no-tell Motels provide high-speed internet access at no cost. Not having this access is a serious inconvenience in a wired world.

Get with the times, W!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purposefultravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WNewYorkTimesSquare, General Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thanks so much for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the W Times Square overall, and can sympathize with your frustration regarding complimentary internet service. I do want to point out that this is free in our public areas, and once you reach Gold or Platinum status as a Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) it is complimentary, too, in room. I do think we offer a more heightened experience at a W than our less expensive colleagues in the industry. All that said - your patronage is valued and I'll look forward to welcoming you here again in the not-too-disant future. If you'll reach out to me directly, I'll be sure to personally craft some WOW moments for you.

Have a great week!

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel is in the middle of the city, right in the heart of times square. The rooms are very pretty with a sober design, everything is clean and well preserved (except the corridors, they tend to be dirty). Unfortunately the service is not on par with the facilities, the staff is helpful but you never get the impression that they are there for you (trays of food tend to remain on the corridors for many hours), for the rates they charge you expect the staff to go a little out of their way to make your stay a great experience. Overall the hotel gets good grades only because of it's wonderfull location and good design.

Room Tip: Higher floors for a fantastic view of times square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WNewYorkTimesSquare, General Manager at W New York - Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

David - Thank you so much for your comments! I'm glad you liked the hotel overall, but am concerned you did not experience the service we are known for here. You may be certain I will reading your letter aloud at our staff meeting tomorrow morning. Meantime, please contact me directly before your next trip to New York. I'd truly love the opportunity to WOW you, and given the chance will promise to make sure you leave with a smile. Until then, I wish you safe travels wherever you may be going.

Best -

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#180 of 470 in New York City
2,774 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#174 of 470 in New York City
11,363 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#171 of 470 in New York City
2,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#189 of 470 in New York City
8,282 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#324 of 470 in New York City
4,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New York - Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York - Times Square

Address: 1567 Broadway at 47th St, New York City, NY 10036-1517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#149 Business Hotel in New York City
#178 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#218 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $261 - $755 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W New York - Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New York - Times Square is located in the heart of Times Square & the theater district, with museums a few blocks north and sultry downtown just a quick subway ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your W New York - Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York - Times Square Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel Times Square
w Hotel Nyc
w Hotel New York City
w Times Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing