We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnuson Convention Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
Ranked #394 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Maryland Heights, Missouri
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I had a great experience staying over there at BW Convention Center Hotel. All the front desk were friendly and professional and was very helpful with all the questions I had.
The room were not spacious but kept very clean and enough for all my needs. The bed was really comfortable there as well.

I would certainly go back there when I have chance visiting New York City in the future.

Room Tip: Maybe higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    260
    215
    86
    72
See reviews for
171
195
55
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We booked for a 5 night stay in this hotel during June, and only stayed for the first night - after being attacked by heaps of bed bugs! A lot of them! The staff not very helpful. They did refund our money - so that was a plus. I am surprised that this hotel is allowed to run under the Best Western banner. I understand that they are owner run, but Best Western should keep up it's standards? Hotel is budget, but using N.Y. prices. Front desk dirty. My advise would be to pay a little more and find a hotel closer to Times Square - and very much nicer! A bad experience for us!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millershaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed for two nights in May in a room with two double beds. Room compact, but clean with wonderfully comfortable beds! Basic amenities, but just fine, if you need accommodation and don't expect any extras. I was surprised that the continental breakfast included hot items including eggs and waffles, so this was an added bonus in addition to the reasonable rate. We had a room that did not face the street, so we did not experience any of the reported noise mentioned in other reviews. I liked the location as it is away from Times Square and near great restaurants on 9 and 10th avenue - the hidden gems outside of the tourist zone. It is a bit of a walk to the main attractions, but quite doable. We also did not consider the location a problem, nor did we feel unsafe. Having stayed in NYC previously in a hotel closer to Times Square, I definitely prefer this area and would return. We found all of the staff friendly, helpful, and accommodating. I would recommend this hotel as an affordable place to stay in NYC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bo93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel was ok, nothing wrong, but nothing spectacular. It was a 15-20 min walk to the nearest metro and there happened to be amtrak tracks right under the hotel. It was nice that there was a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sopot, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Postive:
Fairly close to the city center (38th st), though it's a bit too far west. Cheap for Manhattan. Clean. Had safe. Free wifi

Negative:
VERY Loud. As other pointed, there's a auto repair shop just opposite to it, but what we didn't know is that it's open 24h/day. Be prepared for some heavy noises at 3am, or get some earplugs. Staff was OK, but lacked engagement, or smth. Breakfast was poor, but what would you expect.

Room Tip: NOT inf front of the street, otherwise you won't sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Location rather good although a 10 min walk to underground is needed. Room very clean but small. Air conditioner operated properly. Staff very welcoming. An issue with chirping smoke detector (empty battery) was handled immediately. A good free breakfast. Surrounding area not nice.
Having nothern room orientation we occasionally heard trains horn, especially when the window was open.

Room Tip: With nothern orientation we occasionally heard trains horn, especially when the window was open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces
Level Contributor
138 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We drove in for a 1 night stay and it was very affordable for New York standards and was in a convenient location. Got free breakfast in the morning and rooms were clean. No frills just a nice simple room. Walking distance to Times Square and theater district as well as the subway all are within 3-4 blocks

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeMed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Quality Inn Midtown West
Quality Inn Midtown West
#357 of 463 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Midtown
36 Hudson Hotel
36 Hudson Hotel
#350 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#306 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ramada New York/Eastside
Ramada New York/Eastside
#295 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#427 of 463 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#192 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Convention Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Convention Center Hotel

Property: Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
Address: 522 W 38th St, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Convention Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just half a block from the Jacob Javits Convention Center, the Magnuson Convention Center Hotel is a short 10-15min walk from Times Square,the Theater District, Madison Square Garden, Penn Station, Port Authority, and other major attractions and transportation hubs. Amenities and Services Provided: -Complementary American Style Hot Breakfast Buffet -Complementary Wi-Fi -Business Center -Tempur-pedic Beds in every room -Shared Shuttle and Taxi service TO the Airport (Fees Apply) -NYC Attractions and Tours (Fees Apply) -Safety Boxes in all rooms -Iron and Ironing Board -Hair Dryer -Shampoo, Conditioners, Soap, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Magnuson Convention Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel New York City
Best Western Convention Center Hotel
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing