We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Good Value for NYC!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
Ranked #405 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean and Good Value for NYC!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed for two nights in May in a room with two double beds. Room compact, but clean with wonderfully comfortable beds! Basic amenities, but just fine, if you need accommodation and don't expect any extras. I was surprised that the continental breakfast included hot items including eggs and waffles, so this was an added bonus in addition to the reasonable rate. We had a room that did not face the street, so we did not experience any of the reported noise mentioned in other reviews. I liked the location as it is away from Times Square and near great restaurants on 9 and 10th avenue - the hidden gems outside of the tourist zone. It is a bit of a walk to the main attractions, but quite doable. We also did not consider the location a problem, nor did we feel unsafe. Having stayed in NYC previously in a hotel closer to Times Square, I definitely prefer this area and would return. We found all of the staff friendly, helpful, and accommodating. I would recommend this hotel as an affordable place to stay in NYC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bo93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    278
    228
    88
    81
See reviews for
184
210
57
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgecrest, California, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel was ok, nothing wrong, but nothing spectacular. It was a 15-20 min walk to the nearest metro and there happened to be amtrak tracks right under the hotel. It was nice that there was a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sopot, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Postive:
Fairly close to the city center (38th st), though it's a bit too far west. Cheap for Manhattan. Clean. Had safe. Free wifi

Negative:
VERY Loud. As other pointed, there's a auto repair shop just opposite to it, but what we didn't know is that it's open 24h/day. Be prepared for some heavy noises at 3am, or get some earplugs. Staff was OK, but lacked engagement, or smth. Breakfast was poor, but what would you expect.

Room Tip: NOT inf front of the street, otherwise you won't sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Location rather good although a 10 min walk to underground is needed. Room very clean but small. Air conditioner operated properly. Staff very welcoming. An issue with chirping smoke detector (empty battery) was handled immediately. A good free breakfast. Surrounding area not nice.
Having nothern room orientation we occasionally heard trains horn, especially when the window was open.

Room Tip: With nothern orientation we occasionally heard trains horn, especially when the window was open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces
Level Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We drove in for a 1 night stay and it was very affordable for New York standards and was in a convenient location. Got free breakfast in the morning and rooms were clean. No frills just a nice simple room. Walking distance to Times Square and theater district as well as the subway all are within 3-4 blocks

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeMed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have just come back from this hotel. The area was not great but the hotel was fine.There was a warm welcome from the lady on reception, who was a real sweetie, and Mike the head porter and all the staff were helpful and friendly. The free breakfast was good, the highlight being delicious scrambled eggs in plentiful supply! But the bendable plastic knives and forks were totally inadequate, and the toaster needed replacing - only 3 of the 4 slots worked. There was a shortage of seats and tables, and one day we had to eat in the lobby.But we understand these things will be improved when the hotel is renovated in the near future. Taxis can be hailed easily from the end of theroad, and it's a walkable distance to the Empire State Building and Times Square areas. We can recommend this hotel.
Christine and John Huggett

Room Tip: (Note: We regret a number of flags have appeared on this report screen and print-out. We hope you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

our stay at the best western was very enjoyable. while it does not have much of a view, it is very close to times square and tons of stores and restaurants on the way there. the hotel was very clean, rooms were fine and the front desk clerk , Richard , was very friendly and extremely helpful with all our questions. free wi-fi in the lobby, coffee in room and breakfast in the morning. we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesliedawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
36 Hudson Hotel
36 Hudson Hotel
#363 of 468 in New York City
582 reviews
Midtown
Hudson River Hotel
Hudson River Hotel
#370 of 468 in New York City
673 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Midtown West
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#346 of 468 in New York City
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#195 of 468 in New York City
782 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#314 of 468 in New York City
1,507 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#305 of 468 in New York City
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Convention Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Convention Center Hotel

Property: Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
Address: 522 W 38th St, New York City, NY 10018-1104 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #405 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Convention Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just half a block from the Jacob Javits Convention Center, the Magnuson Convention Center Hotel is a short 10-15min walk from Times Square,the Theater District, Madison Square Garden, Penn Station, Port Authority, and other major attractions and transportation hubs. Amenities and Services Provided: -Complementary American Style Hot Breakfast Buffet -Complementary Wi-Fi -Business Center -Tempur-pedic Beds in every room -Shared Shuttle and Taxi service TO the Airport (Fees Apply) -NYC Attractions and Tours (Fees Apply) -Safety Boxes in all rooms -Iron and Ironing Board -Hair Dryer -Shampoo, Conditioners, Soap, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Magnuson Convention Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel New York City
Best Western Convention Center Hotel
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing