We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great deal for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Convention Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
Ranked #373 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great deal for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Although the location is perhaps not the best, this hotel more than met my needs for a Thanksgiving weekend stay. My room with two double beds was a decent size (for NYC standards). The room was clean and the beds firm but comfortable. There appeared to be a brand new flat screen TV in the room too.

Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Free wifi in the room was reliable. The room was cleaned in a timely manner. The free breakfast was more than I had planned for - it included hot items such as scrambled eggs and a waffle maker, as well as danishes, various breads, yogurt, fruit, coffee and juices. It was replenished several times.

I realized on my second day that the heat in my room wasn't working. The front desk sent someone up quickly to have a look and then he returned with a portable heater for me to use for the rest of my stay.

Across the street from the hotel is a 24 hour taxi repair shop. I didn't hear any noise from it but it doesn't look the greatest. There's not much else right around the hotel, so I took taxis at night since I was on my own. I also heard the occasional train whistle.

I am not used to paying for the hotel to store my bags after checkout, but it was only $1 per bag.

The price that I paid was half of what other hotels were charging (booked directly through BW website). Overall, I would stay here again if I was with someone, but I'm not sure that I would if I was on my own.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendaM23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    248
    197
    74
    57
See reviews for
153
176
51
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alice, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is an older property close to the convention center. Its situated in an area that's somewhat run down. There is quite a bit of graffity visible as you arrive at the front of the propery. My wife did'nt feel safe staying in this area. To be honest my first immpression of the area was not good. Reluctantly we stayed for two night's without incident. Although I would'nt recommend walking in that area after dark.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Flatfoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel was clean and friendly. It's a little off the beaten path, unless you're going to the Convention Center, but we never had trouble getting a cab. The only issue we had was that there was no hot water on Saturday morning but it was fine the other two days we were there.

Room Tip: There is an occasional train that comes by so try to stay on a higher floor. We were on the 11th (t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The place is clean, the furnishings are new-ish, free breakfast, in-room safe that holds two laptops and the mattress firm and comfortable. But bring earplugs because there's a 24-7 taxi garage across the street that does mechanical and body work all night. Also the Amtrak train blows through with a blasting horn.

But wearing earplugs is a small trade-off for a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaJoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed at this hotel from November 14, 2012 to November 18, 2012. My room was spotless, the bed is very comfortable. Check in was quick and efficient. The hotel staff are extremely friendly. The hotel is walking distance to many attraction and walk to Time Square. This is my first time at this hotel in New York and I will definitively stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

After taking a New England Cruise we stayed in NYC for 6 days. Before the cruise we stayed one night at the Fairfield Inn & Suites in Brooklyn. A very nice hotel not too far from the cruise terminal. It was less expensive than this Best Western and a bit larger. However it is in Brooklyn and we did not want to spend time commuting back and forth especially if we wanted to stay in Manhattan till late in the evening.

Finding an affordable, clean hotel that is near Times Square area isn't easy. This hotel fits the bill. Its located on 38th St. between 10th & 11th Ave. That's just four very short blocks (from 38th to 42nd) and 2 long blocks (from 10th to 8th ave) to get to 42nd St. & 8th Ave.

We had 3 rooms with two double-beds each (two of the rooms we had 3 people per room and the 3rd room just 2 of us). The rooms are small (which is normal for hotels in NYC unless you want to pay an arm & a leg.) Like many hotels in NYC, the buildings are 'small and tall'. I think there were only like 8 rooms per floor but the building was 12 stories. But you're here to sleep and shower. We did end up spending more time than anticipated in the hotel because we arrived (Sat) just before Hurricane Sandy hit the East Coast (Monday). So we spent Monday relaxing in the hotel, watching TV and playing cards downstairs in the breakfast area.

The rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. They provide breakfast everyday downstairs in their breakfast area. The eggs were powered but they had a waffle maker and fresh batter so the waffles were great. They also had pastry and fresh fruit along with yogurt and coffee and orange and apple juice. This gives you a good start for the day and of course saves you money since eating out in NYC which isn't exactly inexpensive.

There is a 24 hour Duane Read Drugstore at the corner of 38th St. & 10th Ave. and a deli near the corner of 37th & 10th. Of course just four blocks up on 42nd St. & 10th Ave. there are numerous places to eat along 10th as well as down 42nd Ave.

We had purchased (in advance) tickets to see Mary Poppins at the Amsterdam Theater which is on 42nd St. (btwn 8th & 7th) and fortunately our tickets were for Sunday afternoon. All the theaters were closed for Sunday evening due to the storm. After the show we grabbed a bite to each nearby as places were closing up early due to Hurricane Sandy's approach. the Subway was scheduled to close at 7pm so stores and shops were closing around 5pm so they could lockup and employees could take the subway or buses to go home. Of course our hotel is close by so no need for a taxi or metro.

On Monday pretty much everything was closed up but we were able to order dinner from a Chinese Restaurant and they delivered it to the hotel. (We later saw the restaurant was located on 42nd between 9th & 10th). They must have been doing a lot of delivery business that evening with virtually everything closed up. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. They were the ones who told us about the Chinese Restaurant and about a Diner which was also open on Monday when everything else was closed. We were planning to order from the Diner but by the time we wanted to order it was too late for them to deliver. On the following evening (Tuesday) we walked over to the diner (Skylight Diner on 34th Street and 9th Ave.) to order some take-out. Great food at reasonable prices.

The staff at the hotel were very helpful. In addition to telling us where we could get food during the storm, they arranged transportation for us to the airport. Normally they could schedule a towncar to drive us but due to the hurricane, the car company wasn't able to get gas. (Also the City was limiting vehicles crossing the bridges into Manhattan requiring the cars to have 3 people.) So the hotel arranged for Airlink, the airport shuttle service, to drive us to LaGuardia. (Note: FYI...you can't call on the phone for a taxi to come to the hotel to drive you. something I didn't know till we got to NYC.)

Note: while 38th st. between 10th & 11th Ave. is somewhat 'industrial' it was quite safe even late at night. when returning to the hotel at night we would walk down 42nd St. making a right turn on 10th Ave and then walk down 10th till we turned right onto 38th St.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Archie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
36 Hudson Hotel
36 Hudson Hotel
#319 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
Midtown
Quality Inn Midtown West
Quality Inn Midtown West
#328 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#362 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#189 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 669 reviews
Midtown
Herald Square Hotel
Herald Square Hotel
#288 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,534 reviews
Midtown
Travel Inn Hotel New York
Travel Inn Hotel New York
#329 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Convention Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Convention Center Hotel

Property: Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
Address: 522 W 38th St, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #373 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Convention Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just half a block from the Jacob Javits Convention Center, the Magnuson Convention Center Hotel is a short 10-15min walk from Times Square,the Theater District, Madison Square Garden, Penn Station, Port Authority, and other major attractions and transportation hubs. Amenities and Services Provided: -Complementary American Style Hot Breakfast Buffet -Complementary Wi-Fi -Business Center -Tempur-pedic Beds in every room -Shared Shuttle and Taxi service TO the Airport (Fees Apply) -NYC Attractions and Tours (Fees Apply) -Safety Boxes in all rooms -Iron and Ironing Board -Hair Dryer -Shampoo, Conditioners, Soap, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Hotwire, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Magnuson Convention Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel New York City
Best Western Convention Center Hotel
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing