We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC at Thanksgiving”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
Ranked #419 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed December 8, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank JAMES A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
There are newer reviews for Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 807 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is an older property close to the convention center. Its situated in an area that's somewhat run down. There is quite a bit of graffity visible as you arrive at the front of the propery. My wife did'nt feel safe staying in this area. To be honest my first immpression of the area was not good. Reluctantly we stayed for two night's without incident. Although I would'nt recommend walking in that area after dark.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Flatfoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel was clean and friendly. It's a little off the beaten path, unless you're going to the Convention Center, but we never had trouble getting a cab. The only issue we had was that there was no hot water on Saturday morning but it was fine the other two days we were there.

Room Tip: There is an occasional train that comes by so try to stay on a higher floor. We were on the 11th (t...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The place is clean, the furnishings are new-ish, free breakfast, in-room safe that holds two laptops and the mattress firm and comfortable. But bring earplugs because there's a 24-7 taxi garage across the street that does mechanical and body work all night. Also the Amtrak train blows through with a blasting horn.

But wearing earplugs is a small trade-off for a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaJoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed at this hotel from November 14, 2012 to November 18, 2012. My room was spotless, the bed is very comfortable. Check in was quick and efficient. The hotel staff are extremely friendly. The hotel is walking distance to many attraction and walk to Time Square. This is my first time at this hotel in New York and I will definitively stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

After taking a New England Cruise we stayed in NYC for 6 days. Before the cruise we stayed one night at the Fairfield Inn & Suites in Brooklyn. A very nice hotel not too far from the cruise terminal. It was less expensive than this Best Western and a bit larger. However it is in Brooklyn and we did not want to spend time commuting back and forth especially if we wanted to stay in Manhattan till late in the evening.

Finding an affordable, clean hotel that is near Times Square area isn't easy. This hotel fits the bill. Its located on 38th St. between 10th & 11th Ave. That's just four very short blocks (from 38th to 42nd) and 2 long blocks (from 10th to 8th ave) to get to 42nd St. & 8th Ave.

We had 3 rooms with two double-beds each (two of the rooms we had 3 people per room and the 3rd room just 2 of us). The rooms are small (which is normal for hotels in NYC unless you want to pay an arm & a leg.) Like many hotels in NYC, the buildings are 'small and tall'. I think there were only like 8 rooms per floor but the building was 12 stories. But you're here to sleep and shower. We did end up spending more time than anticipated in the hotel because we arrived (Sat) just before Hurricane Sandy hit the East Coast (Monday). So we spent Monday relaxing in the hotel, watching TV and playing cards downstairs in the breakfast area.

The rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. They provide breakfast everyday downstairs in their breakfast area. The eggs were powered but they had a waffle maker and fresh batter so the waffles were great. They also had pastry and fresh fruit along with yogurt and coffee and orange and apple juice. This gives you a good start for the day and of course saves you money since eating out in NYC which isn't exactly inexpensive.

There is a 24 hour Duane Read Drugstore at the corner of 38th St. & 10th Ave. and a deli near the corner of 37th & 10th. Of course just four blocks up on 42nd St. & 10th Ave. there are numerous places to eat along 10th as well as down 42nd Ave.

We had purchased (in advance) tickets to see Mary Poppins at the Amsterdam Theater which is on 42nd St. (btwn 8th & 7th) and fortunately our tickets were for Sunday afternoon. All the theaters were closed for Sunday evening due to the storm. After the show we grabbed a bite to each nearby as places were closing up early due to Hurricane Sandy's approach. the Subway was scheduled to close at 7pm so stores and shops were closing around 5pm so they could lockup and employees could take the subway or buses to go home. Of course our hotel is close by so no need for a taxi or metro.

On Monday pretty much everything was closed up but we were able to order dinner from a Chinese Restaurant and they delivered it to the hotel. (We later saw the restaurant was located on 42nd between 9th & 10th). They must have been doing a lot of delivery business that evening with virtually everything closed up. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. They were the ones who told us about the Chinese Restaurant and about a Diner which was also open on Monday when everything else was closed. We were planning to order from the Diner but by the time we wanted to order it was too late for them to deliver. On the following evening (Tuesday) we walked over to the diner (Skylight Diner on 34th Street and 9th Ave.) to order some take-out. Great food at reasonable prices.

The staff at the hotel were very helpful. In addition to telling us where we could get food during the storm, they arranged transportation for us to the airport. Normally they could schedule a towncar to drive us but due to the hurricane, the car company wasn't able to get gas. (Also the City was limiting vehicles crossing the bridges into Manhattan requiring the cars to have 3 people.) So the hotel arranged for Airlink, the airport shuttle service, to drive us to LaGuardia. (Note: FYI...you can't call on the phone for a taxi to come to the hotel to drive you. something I didn't know till we got to NYC.)

Note: while 38th st. between 10th & 11th Ave. is somewhat 'industrial' it was quite safe even late at night. when returning to the hotel at night we would walk down 42nd St. making a right turn on 10th Ave and then walk down 10th till we turned right onto 38th St.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Archie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in September, the hotel is ok I suppose, I did not find any problems with cleanliness, the room was cleaned every day.. but there was some issues I did not like..
First of all if your a light sleeper, find somewhere else to stay or wear ear plugs.. because if you get a room which faces the road you'll be kept up all night by the 24hour 7 day a week taxi garage!!! and it does not matter what time of night it is, they will use power tools and panel beat panels on yellow cabs all night long.. as well as shouting across the street to one another at 3am!
If you get a room on the back side of the hotel then you have the massive construction site to look at and they get to work very early! also with loud power tools and machinery! and if neither of those will wake you, the AMTRACK train will at 7am blasting his horn constantly as he goes underneath the hotel in the tunnel! which in a way is good as if you leave for breakfast downstairs any later than 7:30am then you will have to stand around and wait for a seat.
"The breakfast room" if you can call it that, was soooo small, there was just a handfull of seats to sit prob a hotel that can have 160 guests, so standing around waiting for someone to finish their breakfast and leave really put me in a bad mood for the day and when you get to a seat and choose your breakfast there is not much to choose from,. Being British we are not used to a chocolate muffin or a cake for breakfast! also grab a yogurt if you can as when there is none left they wont restock, was told by a rude chinese man that there wont be no more till tomorrow!
they have a waffle maker which to be honest was the best bit of breakfast i had, i had to make it myself but at least it was food unlike the dodgy powdered eggs they had there!
Also I recommend that you double check the price you pay at the end of your stay, as we was over charged but did not realise till we got back home to the UK and saw our credit card bill, a extra £100 was taken!
One Good point, the wifi is free and had a good signal in the rooms and downstairs in the lobby

Room Tip: dont get a room which faces the front of the hotel because of the 24/7 taxi repair garage!!!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Momoko1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hudson River Hotel
Hudson River Hotel
#379 of 468 in New York City
684 reviews
Midtown
36 Hudson Hotel
36 Hudson Hotel
#360 of 468 in New York City
588 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#309 of 468 in New York City
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#318 of 468 in New York City
1,551 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Midtown West
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#317 of 468 in New York City
78 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#316 of 468 in New York City
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Convention Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Convention Center Hotel

Address: 522 W 38th St, New York City, NY 10018-1104 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #419 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $127 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Convention Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just half a block from the Jacob Javits Convention Center, the Magnuson Convention Center Hotel is a short 10-15min walk from Times Square,the Theater District, Madison Square Garden, Penn Station, Port Authority, and other major attractions and transportation hubs. Amenities and Services Provided: -Complementary American Style Hot Breakfast Buffet -Complementary Wi-Fi -Business Center -Tempur-pedic Beds in every room -Shared Shuttle and Taxi service TO the Airport (Fees Apply) -NYC Attractions and Tours (Fees Apply) -Safety Boxes in all rooms -Iron and Ironing Board -Hair Dryer -Shampoo, Conditioners, Soap, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Magnuson Convention Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel New York City
Best Western Convention Center Hotel
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing