We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel for Mid-town - clean/good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
Ranked #400 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Decent hotel for Mid-town - clean/good price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Located on 38th St, between 10th and 11th Av. - The staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel offers a continental breakfast which was ok. The hotel is a few blocks away from the subway, but we didn't mind the walk. Taxi's were easy to catch at the corner, and the bus terminal is 6 blocks away also. We flew into Newark airport and took the bus to the Port Authority Bus terminal on 42nd St and walked to the hotel - easy and very inexpensive.

There is a great liquor store on the corner of 10th Ave/38th St with a fantastic selection of wines. There is also a 24 hr Duane Read drugstore right on the same corner.

Our room was decent - typical size for new york (small!), but at least we had a king sized bed. The room was clean, and the air conditioning worked well.

Overall, the hotel isn't anything special, but for the price and location being only a few blocks away from the subway/times square ... it worked for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Spendywendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    273
    217
    87
    74
See reviews for
175
201
56
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Nice clean hotel, room is larger than most rooms you get in hotels for this price in or near time square, staff are very friendly and helpful, slightly dodgy neighbourhood but that cant be helped and only a couple of blocks from portauthority and subway systems

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zebcarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here St. Patrick's Day weekend 2012. It was our first trip to NYC. We took the Megabus from Pittsburgh. Having no idea where to stay in NYC, I selected Best Western because I knew the name brand hotel. Also, it was near the pick-up where we would take the Megabus back home.

We arrived at the hotel at about 7:30 am and asked to check our bags in, so we could tour the city. The manager at the desk said, 'Your room is ready, you can go to it now.' This was amazing! No charge for the early check-in. Plus he told us we could help ourselves to the continental breakfast! No extra charge for that either! We were able to go to our room and lie down on the amazingly comfortable tempurpedic mattress king-size bed and rest after riding that Megabus for 8 hours thru the night. We then ate the free breakfast and were ready for the day.

There was a man at the desk who helped us with the GrayLine tour bus information, and we got a ticket discount by purchasing them at the hotel. He also supplied us with an incredibly useful map of NYC which we referred to countless times during our stay, even tho we had another (different) NYC map with us.

We didn't leave until Saturday night, so we were able to store our luggage at the hotel for a dollar a piece. We were extremely pleased with this wonderful, friendly hotel; you would never get this kindness in Las Vegas where everyone is out for a buck.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TheDivineMrsM514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orovada, NV
Level Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is on 38thSt, between 9th and 10th Av. You have to walk a nice few blocks to catch a subway, but cabs were readily available on the corner. A 24 hr Duane Read drugstore was on the corner, also. We had a king bed, which was ridiculous for such a tiny room, but we had a good laugh about it. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lhorow1160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed twice in a 4 week period totalling 7 days. Not elegant but clean and well run. Small rooms but at this price in easy walk to Time Square what do you expect? If you want echoes of the old Hells Kitchen as you walk out the door you've got it here. Stables for the horses 100 yards, taxi repairs over the road, historic fire station 200 yards, Amtrak run under your feet. It's not a dessert - within a short walk onto 10th you've got some very nice little restaurants and an excellent pub. En route to the sights you pass through the garment district and a bit of interest on every corner. Go the other way towards Chelsea and you're soon on the highline. This isn't the best hotel in New York but it's affordable and very acceptable.

Room Tip: Go high to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeESussexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights. Room was on the small side but find that's very common in New York. Room and bathroom clean and functional, very comfortable memory foam bed, essential after a long days shopping! Breakfast was good, small seating area but was never too crowded. Location is a 10/15min walk from Penn station, shorter walk to Port Authority. No fridge in the room but ice bucket and ice machine at reception was fine.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ny_mcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

The Hotel was a good deal since we had a BW voucher as a result of a three time stay at BW during the spring - they had a good offer going - so we took advantage of it - a free night at the NY BW was worth about $250 - The hotel was clean, quiet, good breakfast, and staff were friendly. The location is a little off the track of main events, thus you will need to do some walking ( about 1 mile to main areas) or take a taxi to and from. The BW name is a good one to keep in mind and check on their specials. The area was fine for us since we didn't stay out late - but if you are out after midnight or so - I would recommend a cab to the door. We enjoyed our brief stay (1 night ) in new york and had a great time seeing two shows - "Once" and "Avenue Q" - both well done - and a visit to the Stage deli for lunch before our adventurous cab ride to Penn Station. The city was very busy - so be prepared for a lot of people! - But there is no place like NYC!

Room Tip: Rooms on either side will be a bit noisy - goes with being in NY
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jsull826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
36 Hudson Hotel
36 Hudson Hotel
#350 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Midtown
Hudson River Hotel
Hudson River Hotel
#362 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#201 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Midtown West
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#382 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#303 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#356 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Convention Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Convention Center Hotel

Property: Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
Address: 522 W 38th St, New York City, NY 10018-1104 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Convention Center Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #400 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Convention Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just half a block from the Jacob Javits Convention Center, the Magnuson Convention Center Hotel is a short 10-15min walk from Times Square,the Theater District, Madison Square Garden, Penn Station, Port Authority, and other major attractions and transportation hubs. Amenities and Services Provided: -Complementary American Style Hot Breakfast Buffet -Complementary Wi-Fi -Business Center -Tempur-pedic Beds in every room -Shared Shuttle and Taxi service TO the Airport (Fees Apply) -NYC Attractions and Tours (Fees Apply) -Safety Boxes in all rooms -Iron and Ironing Board -Hair Dryer -Shampoo, Conditioners, Soap, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnuson Convention Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel New York City
Best Western Convention Center Hotel
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing