We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, casual fusion fare”

Hampton Chutney Co.
Ranked #3,920 of 13,763 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Indian
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Great, casual fusion fare”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Love this casual neighborhood place for fusion dosas. If you want a traditional masala dosa, you can certainly get that here, but I love the creative dosas with fresh fillings. The seasonal dosa I ordered had avocado, butternut squash, portobello mushrooms, and arugula; it tasted both healthy and scrumptious. Sweet and efficient service too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbug61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“ah OK”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I like the cilantro tuna dosa only. The rest are ohkay, not really my cup of tea. I literally lived 2 minutes away from this place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maryda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Indian Crepes”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a very casual place, where you order at the counter from chalkboard menus and they bring the food to you. They specialize in dosas, a large, very thin crisp pancake that's based on a fermented lentil batter - or it may be rice, it's not clear (but it is gluten free). You can choose from a wide variety of fillings - my husband had eggs with tomato, jack cheese and spinach; mine was mushroom, onion and goat cheese. There are a variety of other Indian foods for every meal. Beverages featured Chi, a coffee with cardamon, lassis (like a smoothy) and a delicious mix of lemonade and orange ginger iced tea. The price was moderate - $30 for the two dosas and beverages, which made for a hearty meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarinaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“18 inch Dosas and a Lassi to Go!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Nice lunch stop, popular with families, with a wide variety of dosas and summer time drinks like mango and strawberry lassi. Head up to the counter to order and find a table, if you can. This popular Indian food eatery also has a line of chocolate chip cookies on the side for those with a sweet tooth. Prices are very reasonable, the food is fresh and the size of the dosa is very ample but can be a real challenge to handle.
Do it yourself cleanup, but what do you expect at a sandwich shop?

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G3G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A treat if you like dosas”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It was a treat to find this place. I am a big fan of dosas, and this place did not disappoint. The variety of dosas are interesting and delicious. The chutneys are great as well. The place is small and seems to be crowded all the time, but if you wait a few minutes you will find a place to sit or you can share a table with someone.

My favourite place in NYC, I go there every time I visit the city.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hampton Chutney Co. also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Hampton Chutney Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing