We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is definitely ok but that's about it.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Signature Mini Suites of Minetta

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Signature Mini Suites of Minetta
Save
You added Signature Mini Suites of Minetta to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   9 Minetta Street, New York City, NY 10012 (Greenwich Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Location is definitely ok but that's about it.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Small room, max. 20m2, bathroom included (!) while advertised as 30m2. No (space for) table and chairs. Very shabby entrance hall and staircase. Shower broken, damaged shower hose. No batteries in remote for airco. Only 3 towels for 5 days (for 2 persons). No wifi. No checkin but forced to go to the office of the agency 3 streets further. For this price you'd better rent yourself a hotel room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cecilia_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    11
    6
    19
See reviews for
2
14
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

We recently stayed at Signature Mini Suites Of Minetta New York. The location is fantastic, subway around the corner West 4th St station. Located in Greenwich Village you are close to some great restaurants and convenience stores. The room itself is basic. The bed was comfy, there is no soap or shampoo etc. We did have a spare set of sheets in the cupboard. The towels were not changed during our stay nor was our room serviced. In fact I saw no staff in the 10days I stayed there. There is no lift in the building so if you are not capable of carrying your cases up stairs this is not for you. The building and our room needed some maintenance work. In saying this I would stay they again purely because of the location and $$. If you want no frills - this place could work for you.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dirtyharryau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

This really is nothing more than 3 star accommodation. Very small, no elevator, BUT comfortable bed, TV, bath, plenty of hot water, rooftop terrace, and most importantly, fabulous location. We stayed 5 nights and I really felt like I was living like a local. Close to NYC so some good value for money restaurants nearby too. As long as you are not looking for luxury you will love it. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheJandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

Hey, it's New York - this place was tiny, with some nice touches (mirrors, deep bathtub, enough hot water), but also had some minor broken stuff (no way to hang up the shower head, so it had to be handheld, a missing lightbulb, a broken fixture, only 1 hanger in the closet) but nothing huge. It is good if you want to reheat leftovers or cook very very simple things (2 pots, a tea kettle and a giant espresso machine in my room). It's got a great location, was clean enough, and once you know that you have to call to check in, it was pretty great. I'd recommend it to those who need to cook a bit, but not anyone who can't manage a 4-floor walk-up. It was a great deal for NYC and its location.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faithyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

We stayed at Minetta Mini Suites for 1 week in March 2009.

Like most places in New York the room was tiny but luckily we found a cheap deal which included a small single room where we could keep our luggage. We still had to crawl over the bed or turn sideways to get from one side of the room to the other. The rooms are no frills and in need of some attention but the bed was comfortable and the bathroom worked. Unfortunately we had a ground floor room with a very bright street light outside the window which did not switch off until 7.00am - it lit up the whole room and there wasn't much we could do about it. It was also very noisy with people coming home from the pubs on Bleeker Street and from the trucks/taxis on 6th Ave.

The location is brilliant and shows you a little of what it would be like to live in New York (albeit in a dog box). The subway is a few minutes away, Broadway 10 minutes and we walked to Times Square a few times in about 30-40 minutes.

The office staff were very friendly and we had no problem with the door codes. We did make sure we called their offices before we left for NY to make sure they had the booking and that we understood the check in procedure which helped. They also let us store our luggage in their offices after check out which we really appreciated.

You have to pay for the internet service in the rooms and the signal was very poor from the ground floor. There is an Aroma Cafe on Houston about a 5/10 min walk away which has free internet (if you have your own laptop) and has reasonable coffee. The bagel cafe across 6th Ave was nice but the Mexican restaurant next door to the suites was appalling quality, overpriced and we had a spectacularly rude waiter.

We wouldn't stay here again as we found it a little depressing for a holiday - we'd rather go to a hotel next time but it was good value for money and a good base from which to explore NY.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenRoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

This hotel was in a great location in Greenwich Village, right in the heart of things, easily accessible by subway and around the corner from tiny streets filled with independent cafes and restaurants. You definitely felt like you lived in NYC for a few nights, as you have your own doorcode to come in and out of the building. You have to call before you check in, and sign in at an office down the street, but then the hotel room / apartment is yours. It was very cute - old style with fireplace (not working) and great wooden floors, but renovated with new amenities like a flat screen tv, cappuccino machine, and nice modern bed and linens. A few problems included a broken hand-held shower head in that it didn't attach to the wall, a broken jet tub that wouldn't "jet," and no toiletries (i.e. no soap in the bathroom or in kitchen for washing dishes. Otherwise, very lovely. The heater made some noise at night, but not enough to keep us awake. Great rooftop terrace to lounge on in the late afternoon. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troy, ny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

Hard to review this place. The room was extremely tiny but lovely and clean. The location was fanatastic with free street parking within blocks. Now that i know what to expect I would go again... BUT... before you book you HAVE TO KNOW - there is no check-in desk, no on-site staff, no SIGN outside or even an address. The only reason we found it was because of the picture we saw of the building on-line. When they say check-in is at 3, that means wait oustide until the guy/person shows up at 3 to let you in.
There are phone numbers listed inside the door but none of them get you anywhere. OK, I'm sure you're turned off, but again, the room was lovely (tiny but clean) with a Euro kitchen and a court yard in the back, the street is sweet and relatively unknown even to seasoned New Yorkers, though it is off of MacDougal Street in the West Village. There is a Mexican restaurant next door that had great food and margueritas. You get what you pay for and for $150 on a holiday weekend, we were thrilled! Bring soap, shampoo, etc.

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
3 Thank annalara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#179 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,205 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#112 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#100 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoH...
#172 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#97 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,240 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#176 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Signature Mini Suites of Minetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Signature Mini Suites of Minetta

Property: Signature Mini Suites of Minetta
Address: 9 Minetta Street, New York City, NY 10012
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 192 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Hotel Class:2 star — Signature Mini Suites of Minetta 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Signature Mini Suites Of Minetta Hotel New York City
Mini Suites Minetta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing