We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise”
Review of Red Farm

Red Farm
Ranked #865 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: West Village
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
921 reviews
628 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
“Great surprise”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We've read a lot about Red Farm, and decided to try it for brunch yesterday. I love Chinese food, and seriously thought this place would have kitchy food and not be as good as it was.

Their soup dumplings, while pricier than normal soup dumplings at Shanghaiese restaurants, were full of hot soup, and the wrappers were light and delicious. The lamb dumplings were supposed to be crispy, but they weren't. Signature pastrami egg rolls were ok. Loved the stuffed crabs! The stars of our brunch though were their marinated corn, which was awesome, and their bacon and egg fried rice, which was absolutely phenomenal. It's a dish that would make the top 10 dishes anywhere. Looking forward to having dinner here..This place rocks!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sockster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    102
    28
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
Level 6 Contributor
505 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Seriously....one of the best”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I often write about these niche restaurants that my son finds and we indulge in. This one was one of the best ever. Located in the West Village of Manhattan, we arrived just after opening last Sunday at 5pm and got the last spot. The three of us ordered 4 small plates and 1 main meal. The highlights were led by the pork+crab soup dumpling. This oversized dumpling is filled with soup so you pierce the skin and let the soup drip into your mouth.The Katz's pastrami egg roll was a taste combination so unique and I have never enjoyed an egg roll like this. Our main was the crispy skin smoked chicken which was moist and flavorfull. Just yummy. One tip; get there early or with patience. The spot seats 45 and this is a very popular spot.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing Dinner !!”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I went here last Tuesday night for dinner with a couple of clients. We were seated at the communal table in the middle of the restaurant. At first I found it a bit awkward but easy to ignore the strangers beside you quickly. The food was amazing. We had so much fantastic food, way too many to list. The lobster noodles were probably the best. I would go back there in a second and have already recommended to many for their next visits to New York. I highly recommend it and I'm very picky.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One of a kind with fabulous food”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We had heard wonderful things about this restaurant in NYC and wanted to try it. We were told that people sometimes wait for over 2 hours to get in because they don't take reservations. We went on a Saturday night in March and were seated right away. The food is fabulous. Try the Katz pastrami egg roll for a real treat. The BBQ beef with fried rice is spectacular. Large pieces of grilled steak with the best fried rice ever. We also had the 3 chili chicken and loved it. This is not your usual Chinese food and the prices are high but it was worth it. This was a meal to remember!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Palmettotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“superb food and experience”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I should start by alerting the reader that we ate at their other location (broadway and 76/77) which does not have its own listing here. So while the menus are the same, my comments may not necessarily translate wholesale to the Hudson Street location.

That said, the restaurant was an absolutely delightful find. It's eclectic Asian fare, dim-sum oriented but with enough variety to please all. The food was delicious from beginning to end and as fresh as could be. We had a few of the dumpling offerings (shrimp, bok choy, the five flavored chicken) an out of the world mango salad; and an egg and bacon rice dish. Complemented by some really fun beverages including a blueberry ginger/lime soda and a virgin bloody Mary.
The total bill came to $95 for three of us. Arguably a bit high for brunch but not exorbitantly so.

Which is the segue to my next point: why we chose brunch. The lines are so long at dinner time that we decided we had better chance getting in during the morning. The restaurant opens at 11; we arrived at that time and were promptly seated. Beware, though, as an hour later the restaurant was chockablock full. So come early or be prepared to wait. (The menu and prices are pretty much identical across brunch and dinner)

Finally, the service was friendly and efficient. Would go back again, and hopefully for dinner soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Farm also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Red Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing