We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent & Inventive Food”
Review of Red Farm

Red Farm
Ranked #870 of 13,820 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: West Village
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent & Inventive Food”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Grabbed dinner here before a NY Rangers game, and was not disappointed!

There were 3 of us, and we shared a selection of items between us. First, we started with the BBQ'd Pork Belly, which was excellent, possibly the highlight of the night. Juicy and delicious. Probably could have ordered another of these.

Next, we shared several of the Dim Sum choices: 'Pac Man' Shrimp Dumplings, which were a visual treat, and very good. Katz's Pastrami Egg Roll is an option you don't find elsewhere, and excellent. Pork and Crab Soup Dumplings were hot and tasty. The liquid on the inside was thick and delicious, just as it should be.

After those, we opted for the Chinese Broccoli and Shiitake Mushroom from the "Mains", and the Dungeness & Rock Crabmeat Long Life Noodles and the Bentons Bacon & Egg Fried Rice, both from the "Rice & Noodles". All three were excellent. The fried rice was salty and filled with bacon. The noodles were tossed in a great sauce, and included a few crab claws on the side. The broccoli and mushroom was the surprise star. Delicious sauce, perfectly cooked veggies. Awesome.

Overall a great meal. Highly recommended and great place to shares dishes with friends!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    102
    28
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“wonderful place and very good food”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I love this restaurant. I found it because it was near the Hotel where I stayed. They serve all the dishes in a characteristic way.
Also the eye wants its share .....

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 70Francesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Asian Fusion”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Great new restaurant on the UWS.
Food is very flavorful and cooked really well. They do a nice job of blending Asian and continental cuisine while maintaining an authentic taste.
Service was fast and efficient. Would definitely recommend.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank RhoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Yummmmy! ”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Loved this restaurant. It exceeded my expectation all the food was delicious and surprising Original dishes with traditional flavors just amazing!

Helpful?
Thank Gterv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awesome Food, Good Service!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The following is my ten year old daughter's review of Red Farm:

Red Farm is awesome!! The food is excellent, and the service is very good. I went to Red Farm for brunch, and I loved it.

When we got inside the resteraunt, the space was smaller than we expected, but it was also very cozy. The woman by the door giving out tables wasn't very nice, and she tried to give us an extremely bad spot, but we asked for another table and a waiter gave it to us (not the same woman who offered us a bad table, a different person who was much nicer). After we sat down we had much better service.

When we sat down at our table we ordered the spicy beef, shrimp dumplings, pork buns, shrimp and pork dumplings, and a shrimp wonton soup. The food looked appetizing, and had a good presentation. It all tasted very good.

Overall, Red Farm was awesome. It wasn't what we expected, but turned out to be a wonderful place to eat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TStrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Farm also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Red Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing