We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upper West Side Hot Spot”
Review of Red Farm

Red Farm
Ranked #835 of 13,633 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: West Village
southern california
Level Contributor
243 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Upper West Side Hot Spot”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Red Farm has opened a location on the Upper West Side (2170 Broadway at 76th Street) to compliment the original restaurant on Hudson Street. The menus are the same - Asian fusion fare that blends Chinese, Thai, Korean and Western ideas (Katzs' Deli Pastrami eggroll anyone?). Expect a lively crowd of diners and a setting that borders on "family style". Quiet and romantic it is not, but the food is interesting and well prepared. Prices mirror the location. Choosing a variety of dishes will ratchet up your bill quickly. No reservations accepted, but if you call the restaurant just prior to your visit they will place your name on the waiting list prior to your arrival.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cedric09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    101
    28
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“How Bad Does It Get?”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Went for an early dinner. I have never had worse food, Chinese or otherwise. Unfortunately we tried a number of dishes. In order, each was worse. Basically the food was inedible. Don't get sucked in by the hype; if you want Chinese food, find a good Chinese restaurant. If you want good fusion food, find a good fusion restaurant. Just don't go to Red Farm.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suds R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
“Great Food”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Good food and atmosphere, able to call ahead to put our name on the list even though they don't take reservations.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great discovery”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

It was suggested to us by a friend. Excellent recomendation!!! We went two days in a row. We tried almost everything in the menu and loved it. The Dim Sum was outstanding.........but do not miss the steak!!! We will make sure not to miss it next time in the city.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carlos E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting Take On Oriental Food”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We went Red Farming just before Thanksgiving. We went late at night and managed to squeeze in without a reservation the night before Turkey Day. We had a good time. I am not wild about sharing tables with strangers, but what the heck we share the sidewalks with them, right? The food was interesting and good, and while not really what I would call authentic, definitely was orientally -influenced. Good place to go for playful takes on familiar dishes....and super tasty!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Farm also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Red Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing