We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Take On Oriental Food”
Review of Red Farm

Red Farm
Ranked #829 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: West Village
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting Take On Oriental Food”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We went Red Farming just before Thanksgiving. We went late at night and managed to squeeze in without a reservation the night before Turkey Day. We had a good time. I am not wild about sharing tables with strangers, but what the heck we share the sidewalks with them, right? The food was interesting and good, and while not really what I would call authentic, definitely was orientally -influenced. Good place to go for playful takes on familiar dishes....and super tasty!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    101
    28
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food, local atmosphere”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Interesting menu, Asian fusion with lots of seafood, reasonably priced for New York, with lots of locals

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
291 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Much ado about...not much”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Newly opened UWS location, right in our hotel.
The food was somewhat original and inventive, and some of it was actually quite good.
The taste experience was however totally drowned out by the truly intolerable noise level-it was impossible to carry out a conversation- and the service was very rushed.
This is one of the new UWS buzz spots, but I do wonder if it will still be around a year from now.
Not a pleasant dining experience.
And a quite pricey one at that!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Didn't quite live up to the hype, but still very good”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Unusual and fresh Chinese food. Some dishes are more successful than others. The portions sizes are pretty small.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZachC215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food , not so great 'server'”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

we ate at the newer edition of this restaurant on Broadway in the 70's. The atmosphere is casual and busy.Maybe a little noisy and bright for some people. Not somewhere for a romantic date. super fast service , relaxed it ain't ! We got there at 9pm during the week and while the sevice was efficient I felt the 'server' was a bit pushy with his choices of what 'worked' . He also neglected to offer us any drinks ( we don't drink, but that's not the point). As a european , it can be hard to tip someone who does appear to see you as anything other than a 'cover'.
Having said all that , the food was fantastic . The dumpligs are really good, rich , juicy and moreish. The arugula and mango salad was light and tasty. There was a steak marinaded in papaya as a special , and it was , really special . This place only gets four star because of the server. The food is a five!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank timmydes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Farm also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Red Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing