We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pizza tucked away in Midtown”

Luigi's Gourmet Pizza
Ranked #613 of 13,630 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great pizza tucked away in Midtown”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Do not miss this gem tucked away on 8th Avenue & 55th Street. It is small with few tables but the quick service will get you moving and we only had to wait 10 minutes for takeout. The large Special pizza $20 is huge and left the 4 of us stuffed. Thin crust, tasty sauce, mushrooms, onion, spinach, fresh cheese, sausage, pepperoni, green peppers were delish! You will never go back to Domino's ever again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WestCoastChick604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    51
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Recommended to us by a local...”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We would have walked past this place if it wasn't for the recommendation. Small, not many tables, but excellent service and wonderful food. As we are a family of 4 with teenagers, this place was perfect. Ordered 4 garlic breads - they were enormous - two would have been more than enough. Ordered 2 large pizzas - wow they were massive. Certainly not UK sizes. Only needed one really. However the pizza was delicious. ..probably the best we've ever had and after a day walking around NYC it was just what we needed. If you are in the vicinity of Central Park south then this place is only a few blocks down 8th Avenue. Well worth it...a real gem of a find.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luckinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Yan, NY
Level Contributor
157 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“great NY style pizza”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Slices are huge and delicious! You almost need to know what you want before you step up to the counter because it's typical New York city atmosphere...fast and furious! But well worth it and I would recommend it to anyone! Not a lot of seating but things move quickly so wait for an available seat or do take out. Prices are pretty fair for the city.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tam753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We loved it”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Luigi's pizza is a tiny restaurant with 5 tables. Most of the people drop by and enjoy a slice on a paper plate. We ordered two small pizzas, one white and one salami. Staff is very friendly and they laughed when my husbend tried to order a large pizza. Ok, we are European. Small pizzas are huge, enough for two persons. But the taste, excellent. Won't be dissappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Elina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
284 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Best pizza in new york”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Slices are huge and delicious, lots of types of slices to choose from and other italian dishes also.
Small restaurant and only a few seats but taste of food is unreal.

3 dollars a slice , fed 2adults nd 1child for 15 bucks so great value too

A must on a visit to nyc as absolutely what you think nyc pizza should taste like

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robkmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luigi's Gourmet Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Luigi's Gourmet Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing