We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I go here every week!”
Review of GMT Tavern

GMT Tavern
Ranked #1,347 of 13,754 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Cross street: LaGuardia Pl.
Transit: A,B,C,D,E,F & M trains to West 4th Street Station 6 train to Bleecker Street station
nyc
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“I go here every week!”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Never had a menu item that was not excellent! Fish specials are creative and delicious. They have an excellent New Zealand Savignon Blanc by the glass and bottle. Yum!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank professorcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    58
    15
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“An impromptu stop off in Greenwich Village was well worth it”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We had walked from Union square up to Greenwich village and hubby was getting in need of a sit down , so we stopped off here. He had the Cobb salad which was a great choice ,it was lovely.
I had the shrimp salad ,which was also good , but oh that Cobb salad !!.
Hubby also had the Harlem blue ale which was nice.
The rest of the menu was very good as well , would go here again - would like to try at night.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank shalovesny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Soho experience”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great food, service and atmosphere. Seated inside or outside great place to be. Great location and easy to get to.


Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank scross1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Watch your bill”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

When I checked my credit card statement a $45 tip had been added, not the $12 tip I had indicated on the credit card slip. Honest mistake?

Helpful?
Thank Mmaryk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnoKeogh, Owner at GMT Tavern, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Hi Mmaryk1, I am the owner of GMT Tavern, 1st of all, I would like to apologize for your experience and understand how frustrating and angry this must make you feel, I am truly sorry. 2nd of all, not only did I want to come on here and apologize to you but I want to make this mistake right, would it possible for you to contact me at GMT Tavern, I can go back in time and refund you your money and make sure that this error does not happen again to you or to any other customer of GMT Tavern
Sincerely
John Keogh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Bar on Bleecker”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

For a civilised drink in the normally madness of Bleecker Street, without TVs blaring sport or DJ's wrecking your head, this cannot be beaten. The staff are terrific and after a few visits it feels like your own 'Cheers', Great selection of beers and topshelf liquor. For the summer it is one of the few bars in the locality that has a nice sidewalk seating area wher you can people watch the world go by.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GMT Tavern also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to GMT Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing