We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bar, average food...”
Review of GMT Tavern

GMT Tavern
Ranked #1,287 of 13,838 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Cross street: LaGuardia Pl.
Transit: A,B,C,D,E,F & M trains to West 4th Street Station 6 train to Bleecker Street station
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice bar, average food...”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend stumbled into this bar whilst exploring Greenwich Village. As we stepped into the restaurant we where pleased with initial impressions and decided to stay for dinner. The service was good and very friendly, our waitress was very pleasant and food arrived promptly. We both ordered the Hanger steak. At first glance seemed like a very good steak, however the more we ate the saltier it got. We couldn't decide if it was the seasoning on the steak or the fries alongside but it definitely took the shine off the meal. This aside the steaks where cooked beautifully and if you like salty food I would recommend to others, not quite to our pallet.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    59
    15
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Beautiful bar”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a beautifully styled bar where you can sit up on a high stool at the bar and soak up the atmosphere.

I didn't have anything to eat, but the locals were friendly and Liam the barman is a genuine old school Irish barman.

Definitely worth a visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rjoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good size patio for people watching”
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

had the potato leek soup off the special menu..was looking forward to a big hot bowl of creamy soup to warm up a chilly day..was served barely warm, bland..I dont think it was seasoned at all..square bowl of blah. If the soup had been worth eating I would have been dissapointed by the portion size. Nice big patio to grab a drink and people watch, but save your appetite for another place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j17nplz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Awesome atmosphere”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

For a bar in the area, it was much nicer than I expected. The atmosphere of the bar was great. It was a little pricey, but overall bar service was good and the drinks were on par.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristinaIPPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food that isn't boring”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Nice twists on traditional food in a wonderful atmosphere. Would have loved to have tried more things on the menu!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank xcatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GMT Tavern also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to GMT Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing